The Enchantress

21 Jun

20130621-211224.jpg

Happy Midsummer Night! This year, I’m posting some pictures of the silver label Fairytopia Enchantress from 2004. I’m not massively into Fairies, but the Fairytopia range included some pretty amazing dolls. The Enchantress was a bit of a grail for me – I’m delighted (and rather surprised) to have her.

20130621-211839.jpg

20130621-212022.jpg

20130621-213521.jpg

20130621-213533.jpg

ADDITIONAL: Case of wrong sculpt identification! I originally thought this girl was a Lea, but turns out she’s really a Goddess … and I never noticed. Just goes to show, reading up is worth it in every case, no matter how sure you are of your ID! Thanks Chico x

7 Responses to “The Enchantress”

  1. Andrea June 22, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    Congrats, she is absolutely gorgeous! I’m with you on the grail thing. She is still on my wishlist, but I would settle on a nude one, since I already have her dress. I’m not a real fan of fairies either, but some of the Fairytopia ladies are too beautiful to pass.

    • barbielea June 22, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks Andrea. She’s a honey, isn’t she? I was lucky to get a relatively good deal on this doll, because she was loose in her box. I have a few more Fairytopia dolls to feature too – when I get round to it 🙂

  2. Chicovintage June 22, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    Hi Lea! Another gorgeous doll… but not a kayla after all. She is a goddess, I tend to get confused with these two headmolds, as they are really similars, but if you give them a closer eye, goddess has fuller lips and a wider nose, she has a rather pleasant expression, while kayla features are more sharped and rather mean. Anyhow, she´s on my wishlist and I will meet no rest till I get her at a decent price. I´m green with envy!

    • barbielea June 22, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Arghh! Well, it was going to happen some time, I suppose. Funny, I am usually pretty good with spotting the differences between Lea and Goddess (or so I thought) – but she STILL doesn’t look like a Goddess to me now I know!! Well, I’ve stripped her of her Lea number, but I don’t like her any less for it. Thanks so much for letting me know.

  3. Blackkitty June 22, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    It’s so beautiful! My friend has the first one on this page http://www.wowdolls.com/collector/fairy.htm

    • barbielea June 22, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      Good deal – not for us Europeans though (import taxes, sigh). I’ve never really looked at the other collector-level Fairytopias before, very nice!

      • Blackkitty June 22, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

        I’m from Europe as well, worse – Eastern Europe. So I know exactly what you’re talking about. My friend had another friend haul this doll all the way from USA; collector Barbies are sold in Moscow for about 3 times this price. I’m used to double and triple price tags on Mattel dolls, unfortunately 😦 Where did you find yours?

Leave a Reply

