Pet Doctor – One Down, One to Go

29 Jun

I’ve only got a few unidentified dolls now. I find that these days I tend to have “target dolls” who I am looking out for specifically rather than just buying dolls who catch my interest at the time (I kind of miss that approach, though). Anyway, when I do buy dolls without knowing who they are, I have a poke round on the internet and usually I can identify them within a couple of sessions. But sometimes, I come up with a doll that completely stumps me.

I’ve had Pet Doctor Barbie for somewhere over a year, and I’d given up hope of ever identifying her. She’s one of the few dolls I have got at a car boot sale, and I got her as part of a job lot. She’s pretty generic-looking with her standard 1990s sculpt, blonde and blue, and she came with no clothes, so I knew it wouldn’t be easy. But I really like her. She has a lovely skin tone, and those magnificent dark eyebrows.

20130629-215941.jpg

At first, I wondered if she might be a Holiday Barbie, because her eyes are painted in a similar way to those of my Winter Holiday Skipper, but she wasn’t the doll from the four-pack this Skipper was sold as part of. From then on, I checked literally hundreds of dolls from this time period. But it seemed hopeless. I decided that I would post a pic of her and another unidentified doll who has been driving me mad, and ask if anybody could help me out. Here’s the other doll:

20130629-221521.jpg

As you can see, this beautifully evil-looking Christie has been rather scratched-up, but she’s still a great-looking doll. Strange thing about her – her hair was sticking up, so I boil straightened it to get it to lie flat and she’s ended up with a salt-and-pepper kind of effect where the hair has lost some of its colour in bands down each hair strand. This doesn’t show up well on photos as it just looks like a light reflection, you can just about see it on the top of her head. I’ve never had this happen before, and actually, I quite like it. Anyway, I’ve also spent a lot of time trying to identify this doll, and I’ve never been able to. Any ideas, anyone?

Just before I was due to write my post about these unidentified dolls, I spotted Pet Doctor on eBay. She was produced in 1996 (around the same time as Bubble Fairy, who I am also very fond of) and she came as part of a playset with a dog to Doctor. I never would have thought of this, and it was just blind luck that I saw the identifying picture at a time when I had recently been examining her face.

20130629-224539.jpg

In the above picture, the animals are Prince (who is looking rather dishevelled thanks to my son’s attentions) and Mika, the weeing cat – bless.

20130629-224851.jpg

8 Responses to “Pet Doctor – One Down, One to Go”

  1. thosj June 30, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Pet Doctor Barbie is SO pretty! Her big blue eyes are totally captivating and I love her pink lip shade too (I love pink!) πŸ™‚ Great photography as usual, and lovely dolls! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea July 1, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Aww, thanks Tom! I really like her too πŸ™‚

  2. Andrea July 1, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Pet Doctor Barbie looks lovely. I always thought she would make a lovely bride with her delicate coloring.

    If Christie’s lips are really that purplish I’d say she looks like Palm Beach Christie, but then someone must have given her a new body or removed her painted on bikini and choker.

    • barbielea July 1, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Hi Andrea. She’s deceiving, isn’t she? Because of her pearl jewellery, I went in totally the wrong direction when I was trying to identify her, looking at Gala dolls etc. I don’t think she looks like I’d expect a Pet Doctor Barbie to look, but then again, I don’t know exactly how I’d expect a Pet Doctor Barbie to look :/

      I thought Palm Beach Christie too! But I can’t see ANY sign of a bikini on her, and I’m sure they wouldn’t be easy to get off (in fact, I think I might have tried to no avail with my Palm Beach Midge at some point). And the body is such a good colour match for her head too, I think it must be her original. Stumped! Thanks though πŸ™‚

  3. Teresa B. July 1, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    I agree with the above, Pet Doctor Barbie is beautifully painted. And wow, purple lips on Christie? She might need a new color. You should try that. πŸ™‚

    • barbielea July 1, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      Hi Theresa. Lol! I love her purple lips, they’re staying! πŸ™‚

      • Teresa B. July 3, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

        Ha! At least it’s a good purple so it doesn’t look like she’s got a case of hypothermia. I tried to recolor Spot Scene Barbie’s nude lips and didn’t work so well……. πŸ™‚

      • barbielea July 4, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

        Listen, I’m the Queen of That Makeover Didn’t Work Out So Well … but you never get anywhere if you don’t try …

Leave a Reply

