Monster High – Scaris Update

14 Jul

All my Scaris dreams have finally come true! I have scored the last two dolls I wanted. I’ve done a fair old amount of shopping (for me) from the Scaris line. I am equally as keen on some of the 13 Wishes dolls, but I don’t know if or when I’m going to have the money spare to purchase much from this wave, as I have some RL commitments I have to meet over the next few months … in some ways, I’m glad. I sometimes find myself suffering with a kind of Monster High fatigue. Its not that I get bored of them, its just that sometimes I find the sheer volume of new releases a bit much and I don’t feel like buying yet another one. That kind of takes the fun out of it a bit (if you want to know my opinion, I think clever old Mattel saw this coming – hence the release of Ever After High, just in time to plug any potential gap in the market).

20130714-224149.jpg

I feel a bit guilty about Ghoulia, as I was a bit dismissive of her a little while ago because I didn’t think her style was usually all it could be. Then they released this great doll in this amazing dress (lungs! Guts!) and I had to eat my words. Honest to God, I don’t know why I bother to form opinions in the first place.

Ghoulia is the doll I nearly bought from Harrods. A few months ago, I was in London attending a meeting for work and of course afterwards I bombed it over to Harrods so I could go to the toy department. There I saw Ghoulia, but for six quid more than these small-box dolls are going for most places (a fifty per cent mark-up). I realised how much I liked her and hummed and haaa’d, but in the end I came to the conclusion that Harrods (who are extremely affluent) were trying to rip me (who is not extremely affluent). Stick it, I thought, I’ll get her from a Supermarket. This plan didn’t work out so well until today – seems she has been popular and she has proved hard to find. But ultimately I managed it, and I got her for the lower price too.

On to Jinafire. How could I resist a Golden Dragon? Those big eyes, those amazing Brooke Shields eyebrows (or Cara Delevingne if you’re of the young persuasion). However, I did hold off buying her and eventually I received her as a present from the boyf. I don’t know if my reluctance was a little bit of Buying Fatigue or whether on some level I was put off by the Ghouls Rule-esque fussiness of her outfit. Yes, its gorgeous, but there are so many BITS on it. I am already looking forward to the possibility that in the future, Jinafire might get released as a cheap, small-box doll with a simple, streamlined outfit that will be more to my taste.

20130714-225614.jpg

I love these two. If I was going to criticise, I’d say I wish that they had made Ghoulia’s dress just a little bit longer or given her built-in knickers, as she’s another one of those dolls who flashes in almost every pose. I’d also say that Jinafire’s tail is completely frustrating and falls out if you so much as look at it – even worse than Cat CAM. Still, small problems on the scale of things. Overall, I’m really pleased.

20130714-230911.jpg

20130714-230931.jpg

20130714-230941.jpg

8 Responses to “Monster High – Scaris Update”

  1. Andrea July 15, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Aaaaah, Ghoulia leaves me drooling. She is perfection. Jinafire is beautiful, but her dress really has too much going on for my taste, too. The many releases over a short period tick me off, In Monster High as well as in Barbies. They leave us hardly time to breathe in between Monster High releases, sigh.

    • barbielea July 17, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 Glad to hear its not just me who doesn’t appreciate the fussiness of Jinafire …

      Sad though it would make me, I’ve recently started considering giving up on MH – so much of my available doll money (and that’s not going to be so much for the next few months) is spent on them. At the very least, I might consider downsizing my collection at some point in the future. Well, its a good idea in theory but I’m not sure I’d know where to start! Best wishes

  2. Teresa B. July 17, 2013 at 3:00 am #

    I love the Ghoulia! The lungs shirt is so truly awesome! It works perfect for her. I found that I love the Scaris line. So awesome that you have them all! 🙂

    • barbielea July 17, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      Hi Theresa. I love the lungs outfit too – its probably one of my fave MH outfits ever. I don’t have all the Scaris line though! I now have all the ones I wanted, but I passed on Clawdeen (who was OK, I just didn’t want her) Rochelle (too similar to the 1st ed Rochelle I already have) Abbey (not one of my favourite characters, I rarely buy her) and Draculaura (I really didn’t like her in this wave). I never seem to end up with a complete wave! I’ve resigned myself to it now 🙂

  3. Chicovintage July 17, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    I only have two MH (thank God), and one is Jinafire… OK, I admit she´s a bit over the top, but I´m a complete sucker when it comes to chinese/japanesse culture…the dragon theme, the mix of green and gold really grew on me… I couldn´t resist and I finally bought her. I was tempted to buy her online, but my wait had its reward when they decided to release her widely in Spain (lucky me).

    • barbielea July 17, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

      Hi Chico 🙂 “thank God” haha! I understand …

      Interesting, a lot of doll collectors seem to have an eastern Asian theme going in their doll collections – me too. Jinafire seems to have been the popular doll from the Scaris wave – she was going for silly money over here when she was first released (as is always the case, the same thing will happen with Gigi Grant from 13 Wishes) – she’s calmed down in price considerably now.

  4. tagidoll July 20, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    I skipped out on Abbey and Draculaura this round too, both seemed really underwhelming to me. I’m also resigned to only picking up the two new characters from 13 wishes and freshwater Lagoona – we’ll see though. I also understand that ‘tired’ feeling. To be honest when these dolls first came out I didn’t think they’d be going as strong as they are today. I figured 10 dolls max a year and that would be all. Wow how wrong I was!

    • barbielea July 20, 2013 at 11:57 am #

      Lol! Weren’t you buying every single MH released at one point? Well, the consolation is that your collection must be formidable (and worth a fortune, as you’ll have all the early dolls) … you’ve picked exactly my target dolls from 13 Wishes! (with the addition of 13 Wishes Frankie – although I am not terribly convinced by her fussy outfit, her face paint is just gorgeous). Hey, have you seen the Sweet Screams pics, though? Amazing!

Leave a Reply

