Swimsuit Special – Monte Carlo Sindy 1994

21 Jul

20130721-211417.jpg

Well, I finally identified my Brunette Sindy, Sunny. I shouldn’t really have needed to identify her as I actually bought her from new, but my memory is rubbish and it was nearly twenty years ago. I thought she might have come in the dress I photographed her in last time I posted about her, but I must have bought this around the same time and got mixed up.

Recently I saw an eBay listing for Monte Carlo Sindy and realised that her face is identical to my doll’s, and I also recognised the bikini from my loose clothes box. I put two and two together – at last

20130721-211531.jpg

10 Responses to “Swimsuit Special – Monte Carlo Sindy 1994”

  1. Pam July 21, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    What amazing togs!

    • barbielea July 22, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

      She’s completely frilltastic, isn’t she? πŸ˜‰

  2. Chicovintage July 22, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Wow! i love brunettes Sindys… they are so rare… and you have her almost in pristine condition… another reason to hate you..LOL. She is definetively not the “plain and simple” type, thatΒ΄s for sure. Love her bikini!

    • barbielea July 22, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

      Be nice, Chico – and I will leave her to you in my will πŸ™‚

      She’s certainly not subtle, but I just love her hair (which is two-tone, really nicely done) and her green eyes. What a shame they didn’t make more Sindys with different colouring and skin tones, I’d love to have seen her as a redhead but I don’t think they did any 😦

  3. mangusta July 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Wow! She’s really pretty and similar to Courtney Pet Pals.

    • barbielea July 26, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Hi Mangusta πŸ™‚ yes, Sindy quite often gets compared to Skipper and I can certainly see what you mean with this one. Love Pet Pals Courtney, by the way, I have her round here somewhere

      • mangusta July 27, 2013 at 9:16 am #

        Me too πŸ™‚ A t least a head, I’m not sure about a body. I have 3 Skippers so far, all with the same mold:

      • barbielea July 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

        Cool Crimp and Cool Tops, I think? Skipper is a relatively new branch of my collection, I still have a lot to learn. I love these big-eyed versions, they’re my favourite!

  4. Andrea July 30, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    She is gorgeous and I love her Bikini. I have the doll, but that Baikini eluded me so far.

    • barbielea July 30, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ I think I know why! I’ve had this doll from new so she’s only ever been redressed or displayed, never played with roughly. As you might be able to see on these photos, her flimsy swimsuit has already started to rip – it seems to be made of felt and it’s very tight round her waist. I’d guess that many of these swimsuits just disintegrated when played with.

Leave a Reply

