Do We All Have To Grow Up Sometime? (part two) Pullip Peter Pan

26 Jul

At the end of my last post on this theme I mentioned that I had recently purchased my first Pullip, and here she is:

20130726-225405.jpg

Pullip Peter Pan was available on eBay and Amazon UK for a little while, shipped from inside the country too so import tax hassle free. £50 isn’t particularly cheap (not by my standards anyway) but usually Pullips are much more expensive than this over here. Peter Pan is a simple-looking little soul with her gamine bowlcut and her understated faceup and it’s true that if Pullips were widely available in the UK at this price I probably would have felt obliged to go for something frillier and more winsome (Pullip Snow White, sigh). But I’m glad I was steered so firmly in this direction. I just love her.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, I’m a big fan of children’s books. I am particularly fond of Victorian children’s stories like Alice In Wonderland (one day soon, I will show you my small collection of Wonderland dolls) and Peter Pan, so this doll gels with my interests very nicely. I also like the way that Pullip has been cast as Principal Boy and I had no idea that Pantomime tradition was really understood outside the UK (any non-UKers out there, do you have Panto in your country?). It’s occurred to me that maybe it isn’t, and that’s why she’s available over here at a relatively low price – maybe putting her in a male role seemed odder in other countries. What do you think?

20130726-233010.jpg

Anyway, getting her out of the box took me a while. I had read that these dolls are not easy to get out of their packaging so I was armed with a craft knife and a pair of scissors, but it was still fairly traumatic. The packaging really impressed me, by the way – it was hard to get a good closeup shot of because of all the plastic molding she was packaged in, but the patterns on the insert feature Pan-themed illustrations of pirate flags and ships and islands – very magical.

When I got her out, I was impressed again by her construction. She feels weightier and more stable than my Tangkou, and the shape of her head under her hair feels almost disconcertingly lifelike. That should be creepy (remember, I am a small doll person and lifelike dolls freak me out a little) but it isn’t. Her clothes, as you would expect on a collector doll of this kind, are detailed and extremely good quality – her cape is lined, her tunic is beaded and her hat (which is attached to a hairclip) has a nice little feather in it). Her face paint is ultra subtle in places, for example I can see that she is blushed but not where the blush begins. Lovely. The only downside –

20130726-234518.jpg

Her eye closing mechanism does not seem to be particularly tight and her eyes don’t close all the way, unlike my Tangkou who looks perfect with her eyes shut. I have no idea if this is a common Pullip fault, or if it’s maybe particular to this line, which might be another reason for the lower price. It doesn’t bother me too much, though.

Eventually, I might give Peter a makeover – nothing irreparable, just a change of clothes – but for now, I like her just the way it is. I don’t know if or when I’m going to get the opportunity to buy more Pullips in the future, but I’d definitely like a few more … We will see.

20130726-235141.jpg

20130726-235151.jpg

20130726-235158.jpg

6 Responses to “Do We All Have To Grow Up Sometime? (part two) Pullip Peter Pan”

  1. discodiva1979 July 27, 2013 at 5:04 am #

    She is a stunner, absolutely BEAUTIFUL! How many points of articulation? As for the eyes-they look dreamy & even though they don’t close all the way, it gives the impression she is about to take a nap. Congrats on your new Pullip!

    • barbielea July 27, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      Thanks very much Discodiva – 14 points of articulation, including her ribcage. She’s lovely and easy to pose. Yes, I suppose she does look like she’s nodding off 🙂 I never thought about it like that …

  2. tagidoll July 27, 2013 at 5:20 am #

    I am so glad you like your Pullip 😀 (It’s a common thing with them their eyes are off alignment, I have a few but to be honest I actually rarely display them with their eyes closed it never bothered me enough to even mention it out loud at any point. It can probably be fixed, but it requires removing the wig and opening her head – something you might not feel like doing to your first one.

    In other news, I did end up buying the Lady Vampire Tangkou you suggested, i’m going to have to get off my backside and review her soon.

    • barbielea July 27, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

      Thanks Tagi – argh! No, you’re quite right, I’m not feeling up to taking her to bits just yet 🙂 maybe one day … Congrats on your Vampire Tangkou, I’m looking forward to the review!

  3. Andrea July 30, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    What a cute, dreamy little Peter Pan! Congrats on that beauty. I think Pantomime is well known thoughout Europe.

    • barbielea July 30, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Aha! Thanks Andrea. I should have googled about it but I was too lazy. My Japanese relatives once went to the Pantomime in the UK, I think that was quite strange for them …

Leave a Reply

