Million Dollar CAMs – Vampire Boy

27 Jul

It’s been a good long time since my last create-a-monster post. Somewhere along the line I got distracted by the core character MHs. To be honest the lack of colour matched bodies, which troubled me not at all when I first started with the CAMs, has really put me off the add-on packs. It wasn’t so bad when I knew that nobody had matching bodies unless they had painted them or manufactured them, but when Mattel released the colour matched bodies as a set BUT NOT IN THE UK, I got annoyed.

Anyway, male CAMs were a great idea and seemed to prove quite popular. However, on the photo sharing sites I frequent it seems to have been Vampire’s boxmate, Gargoyle boy, who has attracted the lion’s share of the attention. I have plans for my Gargoyle boy, and they’re extensive so God knows when I’ll end up posting about him (if I ever do). On the other hand there’s Vampire Boy who I like the way he is:

20130727-222834.jpg

I’m not sure I’m completely convinced by his orange eyes – I think that they would look better gold (despite of rather than because of the Twilight associations, I should add) and I’ve been considering repainting them. Or maybe I should paint them purple instead, to tie his colour scheme in with his female equivalent?

20130727-222212.jpg

Regardless of this, he’s another great CAM, I think. I love his emo pony fringe, his wicked eyebrows and his blood-drip shirt. Most of all, though, I love his “bat-too”, what a nicely designed little touch.

20130727-222554.jpg

4 Responses to “Million Dollar CAMs – Vampire Boy”

  1. Andrea July 30, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    The mismatching bodies put me off the CAMs as well. I like your Vampire boy and that tattoo is a very nice touch.

    • barbielea July 30, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 it’s a shame, isn’t it? There was also a male Puma Boy, who was gorgeous, but I just couldn’t source a blue body for him. I don’t even know if one was ever released (anybody got any idea?). I’ve never tried painting a MH body, I might give it a go one day.

  2. tagidoll July 31, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    CAM bodies packs were also not released in Australia (although the CAM 4 pack was apparently only released in Aus I hear?) and my Puma boy is still sitting in pieces and my Harpy also. I do not believe a matching puma body was released to the US either. I really do like Vamp boy too, I just wish their wig caps weren’t so visible!

    • barbielea July 31, 2013 at 10:16 am #

      Hi Tagi – thanks for that info. Painting it must be if I want Puma, then 😦 the Boyf is currently researching a kind of spray paint made specially for plastic called Plasticote for me, but this will mean getting hold of a spare male MH body, never the cheapest thing to find. O well! We soldier on. If it works out, I’ll post about it

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

