“My First Barbie” 1980

29 Jul

20130728-215421.jpg

One day, they will doubtless write on my tombstone, “she tried, but she was never good with hair”. I do try hard, but I’m not ace. I restyled this My First Barbie to give her an approximation of her original hairstyle but the curl really isn’t tight enough and it was a fiddly, irritating job. Still, I think it could have been worse.

20130728-220021.jpg

The eagle-eyed amongst you will probably notice that she is wearing the wrong dress. The doll that should have worn this dress had a fringe and loose hair, and this doll may have worn a blue flowered dress with a white sailor collar, or a rather cool yellow and blue jumpsuit (kind of Kill Bill goes to the Disco). But I thought this one looked rather nice anyway. I’ve done some experimenting and this doll looks awful in contemporary fashions, they’re just not sweet enough for her.

12 Responses to ““My First Barbie” 1980”

  1. Sandra July 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    I think she came out just fine!

    • barbielea July 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

      Thanks Sandra you’re very kind 🙂 The top of her hair looks a bit messy to me, but I just couldn’t face doing it again! I really envy those photographers who get EVERY SINGLE doll hair in the right place, it’s a skill and it makes such a difference.

  2. pixiecollections July 29, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Love the dress. Its so adorable! :3

    • barbielea July 29, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Hi Pixiecollections 🙂 yes, it’s very cute, isn’t it? Another great thing about it is, it’s completely open down the back and it fastens up with poppers and a bow so it’s easy for little hands to get on and off.

  3. Chicovintage July 30, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    C´mon Lea, don´t be so hard on yourself, she´s just fine! I find your tomb comment absolutely hilarious, though. From this line, this dress and, as you said, the “Kill Bill goes Disco” are by far my favorites, and you´ve done an incredible restauration work with this lady. That sparse and irregular rooting is so hard to manage… I love the result

    • barbielea July 30, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks Chico 🙂 they are my two favourite My First Barbie outfits too. Sadly the jumpsuit has eluded me, but one day it will be mine …

  4. Andrea July 30, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    You did a very good job on her hair. It looks much better than my first ( and last, lol) try on her.

    • barbielea July 30, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks Andrea – its not as easy as it looks, is it? Lol

  5. thosj July 31, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    She looks lovely – you did wonderfully (as you always do!) I love this doll; she is SOOO
    pretty!

    • barbielea August 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks very much Tom! I thought you might like her 🙂

  6. kewpie83 August 1, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    I must agree– I think her hair looks fine! 🙂

    • barbielea August 2, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      Must just be me then … Thanks Kewpie 🙂

Leave a Reply

