Picture Day Frankie

2 Aug

20130802-214601.jpg

I missed Dawn of The Dance, sadly. But the bright colours and impeccable design of my Picture Day Frankie has almost made me feel better about the big DoTD shaped hole in my collection. Frankie is definitely my favourite core character, and PD is my favourite kind of Monster High wave. PD Frankie is detailed but not fussy, imaginative but not outright fantasy (although fantasy isn’t always bad – my GOD, have you seen the Sweet Screams pics?). I particularly like her slick contemporary-looking pony, and her safety pin bag. She also goes nicely with the PD Draculaura I got for Valentine’s day …

20130802-220213.jpg

20130802-224759.jpg

20130802-224805.jpg

20130802-224819.jpg

20130802-224829.jpg

11 Responses to “Picture Day Frankie”

  1. Sandra August 2, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Ooh, they look great together. I don’t have any PD MH dolls. Oh, just started following your flickr! Keep up the great work.

    • barbielea August 2, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks Sandra! It’s a good wave, I recommend it. I’ve been having a few, ahem, technical problems with Flickr just recently, I promise I’ll sort it out and start posting again soon πŸ™‚

  2. Chicovintage August 3, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Mmm, she definetely has some DOTD vibe… but I prefer my original DOTD Frankie!… just pretending to make you jelous, LOL (I just have this and Jinafire). SheΒ΄s a cutie, love the ponytail and the overall look is just fantastic. Your photos are, like always, irreproachable

    • barbielea August 3, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Evil you πŸ™‚ thanks Chico

  3. GhoulieGaby August 4, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    I’m excited for the candy themed ones to come out. There was a really cute Frankie genie themed one that I wanted too, but I don’t know if that collection ever even made it to stores…? I adore my sewing class Frankie. Her outfits are always sharp.

    • barbielea August 5, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Hi Ghouliegaby πŸ™‚ the genie themed one, do you mean 13 Wishes? She’s got a blue and gold kind of Arabian Knights outfit on. If so, she’s just hit the shops now. Not sure what you mean by Sewing Class Frankie – Threaderella maybe? (stupid name, great doll) Or one of your own design? Or some back release I missed? More info please!

      • GhoulieGaby August 6, 2013 at 1:53 am #

        I guess its not really “sewing” themed as it is more “home economics class” themed (Home Ick), but she had scissor earrings and a skull pincushion. I’ve blogged about her before.. “my first mh doll” πŸ™‚

      • barbielea August 6, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

        Ah, Home Ick! I understand now. I don’t own this one (tho she’s gorgeous, I wouldn’t mind her AT ALL) so I’ve not looked at her closely … I used to sew as well as cook in Home Economics now I think about it, but I was never very good at it. Some things don’t change, eh? πŸ™‚

        By the way Ghouliegaby, there’s no link to your blog via clicking on your name when you leave comments. Might be your Gravatar settings? If you don’t want to leave a link it’s fine – but people might like to visit you and read your MH posts if you’re OK with it … just a suggestion πŸ™‚

        Sent from my iPhone

      • GhoulieGaby August 6, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

        Really? Thats so strange! I wonder why that is…? Yeah I’m still very new to wordpress so I never even realized that there wasnt a link.. That makes me sad! I would love for fellow MH fans to visit my blog. And here I was thinking no one liked my blog, lol. I’ll have to fix that. Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention.

        For what its worth: http://www.gabrielamenchaca.com/blog

        !

  4. Andrea August 6, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    They are both so cute, but I think I like Frankie better – could be, I suffer from pink overload in the Barbie isle. I just looked up the pictures. Sweet Screams Frankie looks cute, but Draculaura has to much too much going on for me. I love that box-art drawing of Frankie.

    • barbielea August 6, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ I know what you mean. Draculaura is devastatingly popular with a lot of collectors but I only have two of them, her pink theme doesn’t do it for me most of the time either. I think I liked this one for two reasons – firstly her eye makeup is darker and more gothic than usual – second, I just love her outfit which looks like its straight out if a Studio Ghibli film to me, and it’s beautifully made too. I defy you not to like the upcoming Draculaura with the shoes collection too πŸ™‚ I think she’s going to be very popular.

      I love Sweet Screams but I have to admit both Frankie and Draculaura look a bit fussy, albeit in a better way than the Ghouls Rule wave. I like the unusual makeup and hair – Frankie’s wide blocks of hair colour remind me of the I Love Fashion Frankie, who is one of my favourites, and Draculaura’s bound-up plaits are very Frank Frazetta. I will definitely buy them (unless I get distracted and buy something else instead which is what usually happens)

Leave a Reply

