Adventures In Rebodying (part 3)

9 Aug

Previously, I titled these posts “Basics Makeover” but of course I have other Model Muse bodied dolls as well …

20130809-152500.jpg

My rebodying exercise has gone slower than I would have liked but I have recently made a little more progress. Fashionista Nikki is not a good skin colour match for the Mbili faced Model 8 so I have used a So In Style Baby Phat Grace (on sale currently) for her rebody instead. Speed Racer Trixie has been swapped with a Raquelle (the wave with the little dogs) who I found on the ex-catalogue shelf in Argos, she’s a little less pink than her donor but i think it looks OK. Overall, I’m very pleased with them both.

20130809-154957.jpg

20130809-155116.jpg

I’m not sure what I think of the “little dog” Fashionista wave. For starters, I don’t like the idea of keeping a dog in a handbag. The dog itself is a little cartoony for me, so my animal-obsessed son has adopted it now.

20130809-160614.jpg

10 Responses to “Adventures In Rebodying (part 3)”

  1. Teresa B. August 9, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Beautiful! Nice job. I never got the “dog in the handbag” fad. I see people in the airport with their dog in a shoulder carrier. I heard it’s actually bad for the dog because they lose their sense of balance. Poor things!

    But your dolls look awesome!

    • barbielea August 9, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      Hi Theresa, thanks very much πŸ™‚ I’m with you, really not feeling the whole “pet as fashion accessory” thing. Its just very weird …

  2. mangusta August 9, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    I don’t like the idea of carrying pets in bags either. I rarely change bodies, taking the heads off usually ends with some damage :/

    • barbielea August 9, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      Hi Mangusta πŸ™‚ really? Sorry to hear it’s not been working out for you. Do you warm the neck with hot water or a hairdryer beforehand?

      Sent from my iPhone

      • mangusta August 10, 2013 at 8:51 am #

        I do warm the neck. Usually the worst part is to pull out that widest part from a head.

      • barbielea August 10, 2013 at 10:13 am #

        Yes, that’s always a scary moment and it can go wrong … I’m just a meddler by nature though, I can’t help myself πŸ™‚

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. Andrea August 10, 2013 at 12:34 am #

    Both girls look perfect with their new bodies, looks like you found the perfect body donors for them. I’m not toally against the model muse body, but it really is just usable to display a beautiful outfit, not for playing with your dolls.

    I had my share of beheading mishaps, before I learned about preheating the heads. I found out the hard way, that the weakest spot is the anchor of the neck-knob. That silly little piece of plastic tends to break, when you twist the head while removing it. No twist movement and it works well for me.

    • barbielea August 10, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks for that, Andrea. As I said, I think the Racquelle is slightly too pink for Trixie but she’s the best I’m going to get and Trixie is one of my favourite dolls ever. If I ever win the lottery and can afford to import loads of Obitsus, I might swap her again I suppose πŸ™‚ but for now, she’s fine.

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Taswegian1957 August 11, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    I like your Trixie, I would like to get her one of these days. Have to agree about the funny looking dog, not at all realistic and like many Barbie accessories too cutsie for me. I don’t like dogs as fashion accessories anyway, they don’t belong in handbags.

    • barbielea August 11, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Thanks Taswegian. Trixie was a lucky find, I got her nude for a bargain price a while back – she’s a really interesting take on Diva I think and shows just how versatile this sculpt can be. I really wish Mattel would make a bit more effort with the animals! Potentially they’re great photograph props, if only they looked a bit more real …

Leave a Reply

