Reading Part Ten (a) – Panini Stickerbook

10 Aug

Ok, so I’m not exactly sure that stickerbooks count as “reading”, but they are (kind of) books and really quite fascinating. I love Barbie ephemera – fliers, stickers, that sort of thing – especially anything with lots of doll photography. The sets they use are often impressive and it’s interesting to try and recognise the dolls. So, when we found a half-complete Panini Stickerbook in the attic, I was made up. I better warn you that in my enthusiasm I’ve taken a load of pictures, in fact I think I’m going to have to split this post in two just so I can cram them all in … Ready?

So, first of all, I found a plethora of Skippers, featuring both the Anime and the Pizza Party sculpt … This first Skipper has fabulous twirly braids. I don’t remember a Skipper sporting this style, can anybody place her or has she just been styled this way for the photos?

20130810-225202.jpg

There’s also a Pizza Party girl wearing a denim outfit. I own a Skipper outfit that is very similar but I don’t think I’ve seen this variant before …

20130810-225502.jpg

Skippers in the kitchen:

20130810-225625.jpg

Skippers in the bedroom:

20130810-225724.jpg

A lovely cartoon Skipper:

20130810-225812.jpg

And isn’t that Courtney doing Barbie’s hair?

20130810-230241.jpg

Lastly, my very own Winter Holiday Skipper in her natural habitat:

20130810-231132.jpg

20130810231144.jpg

I also spotted some interesting Kiras:

20130810-231837.jpg

20130810-231848.jpg

20130810-231901.jpg

20130810-231919.jpg

I recognised the top Kira straight away, she’s my Sparkle Beach version. I don’t recognise the other three though, can anybody give me any suggestions? I particularly like the picnicking Kira in pink and white, she has a great face and I wouldn’t mind trying to track her down If possible. The last Kira is probably the oddest Kira I have ever seen, though -what’s the deal with her hair? She can’t have been sold like this, I’m betting she was restyled with short hair for these pictures. If I am wrong and you have seem her boxed anywhere, please do let me know.

More to follow …:)

ADDITIONAL: the second Kira above (the underwater one) has been identified by Betjemul as Ocean Friends Kira from 1996. Thanks Betjemul!

20 Responses to “Reading Part Ten (a) – Panini Stickerbook”

  1. betjemul August 11, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Hi,
    The second Kira (with the black legs that turn pink in water) is Ocean Friends Kira from 1996.
    Kind regards, betjemul

    • barbielea August 11, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Hi Betjemul, and thanks very much for yet another ID πŸ™‚ two down two to go!

  2. Medina August 12, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    I don’t have an answer exactly, but I have clues!

    I’m no expert, but I love your blog, and when I read this today, I recognized the Barbie in the last picture with the pink and yellow dress.

    She is the 1995 “Fashion Avenue” Barbie… and after researching from that knowledge, I found out that the Kira in that image is wearing the Fashion Avenue outfit that I saw on this page: http://www.voguetovintagedolls.com/images/1995_14360_Boutique(1).jpg

    Barbie Fashion Avenue Turquoise Blue Suit 1995 #14360
    “Barbie will look stunning in this turquoise suit from the 1995 Fashion Avenue Line. Turquoise colored suit includes, jacket, skirt, white top, gold belt, heels and gold hand bag.”

    So, you must be totally right about them restyling Kira’s hair!

    I love the Pink & White gingham/picnic outfit, I wish I knew what that was from πŸ™‚

    Hope this helps (a little) LoL

    • Medina August 12, 2013 at 7:18 am #

      I’m sorry, I left the wrong link!

      http://www.voguetovintagedolls.com/Barbie-Fashion-Avenue-Turquoise-Blue-Suit-1995-14360-00015.htm

      That should be correct.

      • barbielea August 12, 2013 at 8:12 am #

        Hello Medina πŸ™‚ that’s fantastic, thanks very much for the link. I’m going to find out who that picnicking Kira is – the more I look, the more I think I’ve seen that outfit before (of course it may just be another Fashion Avenue fashion pack which would leave me no closer to identifying the doll, we will see). Nice to hear from you, thanks for commenting

  3. Sandra August 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    What an interesting post. The last sticker pic is intriguing. I notice a Teresa Steffie, looks like the Benetton Teresa with short hair. Thanks for the post. Looking forward to your next Panini Stickerbook post.

    • barbielea August 12, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      Thanks Sandra – Benetton Theresa you reckon? I just checked the Kira from this range out (just in case) but I don’t think that’s the Kira in these pictures … Glad you enjoyed it anyway πŸ™‚

      • Sandra August 12, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

        I thought that too about the Kira. I’m going to link this post to my facebook group to see if anyone has any ideas.

      • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

        Thanks very much πŸ™‚

  4. Katti August 12, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    The picnicking outfit is just that – a Picnic Pretty Fashion. There were four different ones.

    I’d say top Skipper with the braids is Ultra/Totally Hair Skipper since her hair is really long to get that long braids (even if her hair seems a lighter shade of blonde).

    The dolls in the Fashion Avenue clothes are restyled and they sure are Benetton – at least Teresa and most likely Kira/Marina. Maybe even the left Barbie doll (second issue Benetton Shopping, can’t say for sure).

    Ocean Friends Kira you already IDd.

    Kira in Picnic Pretty. No idea. Her earstuds and ring are so big! I just can’t find a doll that matches those, either in memory or in my books. They used a lot of restyled dolls for the fashion shots back then.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/NIB-BARBIE-DOLL-1994-PICNIC-PRETTY-FASHIONS-/370612450830?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item564a39360e

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Barbie-Picnic-Pretty-Fashions-and-Accessories-Pack-12596-New-/360489187543?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item53eed478d7

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Hi Katti πŸ™‚ I was planning on playing it cool, you know “hey Katti, great site by the way” but now Chico has blown my cover I’ll admit it – I’m just a big drooling fan of Katti’s Dolls – it’s been such a big influence on me too and so very useful. Thank you …

      I’m wondering if top Skipper might have had braids kind of stuck on for the photos? You are right about the length, I’d that was unravelled it would be down to her knees or longer ….

      Its looking less and less like I am going to find an identity for the picnicking Kira. Well, thanks anyway. You win some, you lose some …

      Best wishes πŸ™‚

  5. Chicovintage August 13, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    IΒ΄m thrilled! I just LOVE LOVE LOVE those so 80Β΄s photos! Gosh, they are beautiful indeed. And the ice of the cake, a comment from the famous Katti from Kattisdolls… I truly, deeply, madly admire you, Katti! My entire collection has been strongly influenced for your blog, for me, the Doll Bible.Please come back! When a new headmold is released, I always wonder “What would Katti say about her?” I know you must be delighted, Lea. Mmm, I think I agree in everything already commented, but IΒ΄m pretty sure that Benetton Teresa is the original, Shopping Benetton Teresa sports a completely different make up (I am lucky enough to have both) . Congratulations, Lea!!!!

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Tell me about it! πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it Chico, more to come …

  6. Andrea August 15, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    I love the Kira in picnic outfit, such a sweet expression. She brought Wal Mart’s Country Bride to mind. I think there was an Asian version of that doll, but I couldn’t find any pictures of her on the net. Sorry to leave you with another wild guess who she might be.

    I guess it is the same as with the Barbie Magazines, they show a lot of dolls, that were never produced, but have been styled just for a photo shooting.

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ just googled Country Bride, the Theresa-faced brunette is delightful and I can see where you’re coming from … Can’t see an Asian version either but I will certainly keep looking, just in case.

      Imagine though – what if some of those fabulous prototypes are still out there? Maybe they are, isn’t that a great idea?

      • Andrea August 16, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

        That would be marvelous. Just think of all the beautiful collector’s dolls, that were altered in the process. Let’s hope Big M doesn’t just throw them into the dumpster. And if they do, let’s hope someone pulls them out again.

  7. kewpie83 August 19, 2013 at 3:55 am #

    What great photo’s! The Skipper in the bedroom has a mighty long neck. The one with the braids is adorable!!!!!

    • barbielea August 19, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      Hi Kewpie πŸ™‚ yes, I’ve noticed that some of the 1987 Skippers do tend to look a little giraffe-necked, she’s certainly one of them … Agree, Braids Skipper is completely gorgeous. I’m still working on the theory that she’s had them stuck on (or been custom made for this shoot??) – if neither you or Katti recognise her as a manufactured Skipper I’m presuming this must be the answer! Best wishes

  8. Ashley October 23, 2014 at 8:41 am #

    It could be My First Tea Party Kira. I’m a Kira addict!

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

      Hello Ashley. I’ve just looked at some pics of this Kira and that’s the closet one yet. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

