Million Dollar CAMs – Sea Monster

12 Aug

I bought Sea Monster and her boxmate, Vampire Girl, back when CAM sets were released with just one body and God, did it annoy me. Out of the two I preferred Sea Monster. Unfortunately the one torso released with the first-wave packs was pale pink to suit Vampire girl and also, no core character matched Sea Monster’s unique colouring, so I couldn’t steal parts from another doll … Nice going Mattel. I shouldn’t moan, they did release the CAM set with this body colour eventually, but by then I really didn’t feel like spending another £20. Luckily, I managed to buy a job lot of MH parts on eBay, which included Sea Monster’s torso and upper limbs. At last!

20130812-213944.jpg

20130812-213951.jpg

I really love Sea Monster’s face, which is like Lagoona’s but more snoutlike around the nose. Several MH dolls look like they are modelled on celebrities to me, and Sea Monster kind of reminds me of Priscilla Presley (in her younger days of course). I even like the black and purple wig that came with this doll but I must admit that it’s rather flyaway. By the way, do you like the bath props? The bath is a soap dish, believe it or not, and the little bottles are erasers – this line sells loads of great sixth-scale objects, here’s a picture of the packaging in case you are interested in looking them up:

20130812-214708.jpg

20130812-214818.jpg

20130812-214831.jpg

8 Responses to “Million Dollar CAMs – Sea Monster”

  1. Teresa B. August 13, 2013 at 3:42 am #

    I like her! She is cute, love the purple body. And the bath setup is adorable! 🙂

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      Thanks Theresa, she looks much better on a purple body than she would on a grey one doesn’t she?

  2. Chicovintage August 13, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    It´s so exciting when you struggle to complete a doll you love… I find your story so tender, this way you value her even more. I always thought about Sea Monster CAM as Pirates of the Caribbean´s Davy Jones´ daughter (those forearms tentacles)… she has an early Presley, maybe even Angelina vibe, she´s definetely a sultry sea creature, for sure. The bath recreation is simple irreproachable. Well done, girl!

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

      Hi Chico – its true! The dolls we work for are often the most fascinating – why else would doll collectors commonly have grails? And we obviously like doing the work too, because as soon as we achieve one, we develop a new one, don’t we? For example, I’ve already started fixating on completing another CAM. I think that’s what’s so moreish about this line, it comes in bits and you HAVE to out the work in. Well, I have to, anyway, I just can’t help myself 🙂

      Haha, I see what you mean about the tentacles. She also made me think about a horror film called The Faculty, ever seen that one? Maybe I should try her with a blonde wig 🙂

  3. Andrea August 15, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    Congrats on getting her completed. Love the shot down on her face where she is sitting in the tub.

    • barbielea August 15, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 MHs are always so much fun to photograph! This was a really enjoyable photoshoot, albeit a bit challenging because the light wasn’t great. I think the kind of grainy quality looks OK though, especially in the photo you mention.

  4. kewpie83 August 19, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    Great ‘set dressing’ for this photoshoot!

    • barbielea August 19, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Thanks Kewpie! I don’t do enough scenesetting these days, I always seem to be pushed for time … I need to make the effort more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

