What’s So Great About Spectra?

30 Aug

A while back, I got into a discussion with Tagi about which Monster Highs I would concentrate on if I was just going to pick two. Since then I’ve mulled it over quite a few times. I love Frankie so I’ve known for a while that she would be my number one. As for the other, I thought about Lagoona first – she’s just so damn pretty. However, she’s got those pinpoint freckles that I tolerate but will never really like and although her style is sometimes wonderful, a lot of the time it’s a bit too pink and blue and girly for me. Ditto Draculaura, Abbey and Rochelle, they are best in small and carefully selected doses as far as I’m concerned. Ghoulia can be fantastic but I think she’s hit and miss. And I generally like Clawdeen and Cleo but I don’t feel compulsively interested in either.

Just recently, I’ve realised – duh – that of course Spectra would be my runner-up. In fact there are some waves (such as the recent Dead Tired wave) where I would probably buy her first. I like her flowing, gauzy, gothic style and her colour scheme is just so clever. Against her white face, those odd purple eyes stand out like some crazy optical illusion. This is particularly noticeable with the first of the three Spectras I deboxed today:

20130830-214659.jpg

When I first saw pictures of Poulter Girl, I was put off by all the “fuss” on her. I thought that all the pink plastic bits – the chains, the headband, the terrible earrings – were cheap-looking and unnecessary. But her seriously striking eyes with their barbie-does-blade-runner makeup, and the boots, and even the little dress, were just so good that I couldn’t help myself when a friend offered to pick her up for me. I’m so glad I didn’t pass her up now. I love the comic that comes with her too, and the box art is outstanding. It was almost a shame to debox her, and I bet this ends up being a popular wave with the MIB crowd.

20130830-220140.jpg

20130830-220217.jpg

It wasn’t until I saw the contemporary-looking Spectras next to my Ghouls Alive (who is modelled on the first wave doll) that I realised how much the head sculpt has changed. The cheekbones on the recent dolls are much less hollowed-out and pronounced, and actually I prefer this look on her. Maybe this is why my interest in Spectra has been such a slow burner. I do like my first-wave Spectra, who I got out today to make some comparisons with Ghouls Alive:

20130830-223000.jpg

20130830-223019.jpg

I love GA Spectra’s flashing limbs and the ghostly noise she makes but she does look rather stiff next to First Wave Spectra (Ghouls Alive dolls have no head movement at all and GA Spectra also has rigid knees, wrists and elbows). GA Spectra’s dress is also not quite as nice – for example, braid instead of chain on the bodice and brighter pink ribbons on the dress straps. As you can see, though, the head sculpt is the same – very different to Poulter Girl or my other recent Spectra, Ghouls Night Out:

20130830-223904.jpg

It’s a close thing with Dot Dead Gorgeous but I think Ghouls Night Out is probably my favourite Spectra. I love truly “different” takes on MH characters, as I don’t like to feel that I’m just buying the same thing with tiny changes over and over again, and this Spectra is certainly original. The pink and lilac in her hair work really well together and I love the little fascinator – nice touch. Her makeup is superb, very pretty. I know that some collectors dislike gloved hands but I think Spectra’s are cute. She has a little keyhole on them which I gather (from the booklet she comes with) that these are meant to be seethrough. This doesn’t work out too well on the actual doll, but it was a nice thought. The plastic coat is original enough, a nice departure from all the floaty dresses, and she comes with a handbag that opens to receive her iCoffin and makeup compact. I was also pleased to note that like the Scaris dolls, her booklet contains a series of nicely illustrated pictures rather than a tedious diary.

20130830-225629.jpg

20130830-225734.jpg

20130830-225751.jpg

Overall, I like the way that Spectra is evolving. How about you? Does anybody prefer the old, high cheekboned face? Who are your top two MH characters? Would Spectra make your list?

20130830-230404.jpg

20130830-230425.jpg

20130830-230445.jpg

23 Responses to “What’s So Great About Spectra?”

  1. Sandra August 30, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    Great post. I would have to pick Draculaura as my #1. #2 is very hard b/c my next two faves only have a few versions. I love Skelita and hope there are more but she seems to be a one off character. If MH continues with Howleen with the pink hair that would be my #2.

    • barbielea September 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      Ta Sandra πŸ™‚ I hope that’s not the case with Skelita! I’d hate for her to be a one-off, she’s got great potential and if the photo sharing sites are anything to go by she’s been very popular too … Skeleton Girl is my favourite CAM and one of my favourite MHs of all time, so I know where you’re coming from with that one. Funny! I love Howleen and I think Dance Class was perfection, but I was kind of hoping they would change her hair colour with every wave, as a kind of gimmick! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. pixiecollections August 31, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Poulter Girl looks absolutely fantastic πŸ˜€

    • barbielea September 2, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks Pixiecollections – I think that in this wave, she’s been in the shadow of the amazing Toralei as Cat Astrophe and Wonder Wolf who also seems to have been very popular … She’s great though, isn’t she? πŸ™‚

      • pixiecollections September 4, 2013 at 3:51 am #

        Im not the hugest fan of that wave… If I want superhero toys I just buy superhero toys LOL. But I really love the splash of colour across her face here, I think it looks really fetching on her.

      • barbielea September 4, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

        Hmm, I too thought “God, they’re milking it a bit here” when I heard about this line, but actually they’re all really nicely designed and well executed. Bit too much unnecessary plastic on Spectra and Frankie, but that always seems to be the case.

      • pixiecollections September 5, 2013 at 3:28 am #

        I don’t tend to like the plastic jewelry the MH dolls come with and tend to display them sans. Actual little chains off her arms would look amazing though πŸ˜€

      • barbielea September 6, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

        Yes they would πŸ™‚

  3. Chicovintage77 September 1, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    I love the comparisson you have made here…the evolution is amazing! I prefer the latest version, with softer features (I hate that starving-like appareance). Her eyes are somehow bewitching… light blue floating on that grey-ish cloud… but it works against all odds. IΒ΄m happy you like her, Lea!

    • barbielea September 2, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks and yes I do! I know what you mean about “against all odds” – so many versions of Spectra shouldn’t work, but they just do. Best wishes πŸ™‚

  4. tagidoll September 2, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Spectra is a consistently great doll from line to line, isn’t she? And I had no idea the Power Ghouls came with their own comic books, I thought that was just a SDCC doll thing! Guess which dolls I’ll be picking up on my next shopping trip now >_>

    • barbielea September 2, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Hi Tagi, yes she is, I really don’t know why I didn’t think about it this way before! Haha you can pick up the rest for me while you’re at the shop πŸ™‚

  5. GhoulieGaby September 3, 2013 at 1:12 am #

    Ahh Spectra is one of my faves. I’ve always loved her see through limbs, and how different she looks, facially, from all the others, who kind of all look like they’re made from the same mold. Where do you find all these different MH dolls? the shops where I live haven’t had new ones in ages! I keep waiting and waiting!

    • barbielea September 4, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Hi Ghouliegaby πŸ™‚ so I take it you’re a bigger fan of the earlier face sculpt? I admit the newer Spectra does look more “standardised”. As for where I find them – well! Recently I’ve noticed myself slipping back to my old ways and buying what I see when I’m out shopping, rather than making the effort to source dolls that I really want online. Ghouls Night Out was from Asda, as was one of my 13 Wishes (not featured these yet, will get round to it shortly). I must admit, my Poulter Girl came to me as part of a “dolly exchange scheme” from Spain, though. If you’re in the UK it’s always worth checking out the supermarkets before looking online, they’re much more competitively priced. Best wishes

      • GhoulieGaby September 9, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

        Which 13 Wishes do you have? I just purchased/blogged about Gigi and Lagoona! πŸ˜‰

  6. createdincuckooland September 3, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    Poulter Girl is beautiful, I love her make up. The colours look amazing in your photographs. x

    • barbielea September 4, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Thanks very much Cuckooland … Looks like Poulter Girl is winning in the popularity stakes!

  7. Andrea September 5, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    Actually I like both molds. My #1 is Frankie and # 2 is Ghoulia. Poltergirl might as well be a model on the Scaris catwalks, with her daring make-up.

    • barbielea September 6, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      I’m so with you on the Frankie thing, I just wish I hadn’t taken so long to realise it. I spend a lot of time stalking the back catalogue Frankies *sigh*

      Lol, yes it occurred to me too that Poulterghoul has a very high-fashion kind of look!

  8. monstergirl55 July 13, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    i like her with the smoother face to be more spesific (sorry for my spelling) i do not really like the ghouls alive wave and my favorites would be spectra as my number 1 and number 2 roshelle but i also love cupid and abby

  9. Karen July 30, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    I only have a small collection of MH, but I would probably pick Frankie as my no.1. I do adore Twyla though, and if there were more dolls released I would pick them up.

    • barbielea August 5, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

      Hello Karen πŸ™‚ I love Twyla too – she’s like Spectra’s little sister … I see that there is a new Scaremester version of Twyla out, so it looks like you’ve got your wish too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Electric Love – Valentine’s Day With Voltageous | barbiebeauties - February 14, 2014

    […] was never sure about this doll, which seems absolutely loony to me now I have her. Like my Poulter Girl, she has a lot of bits of plastic going on, and I don’t much care for FUSS. But really, in […]

Leave a Reply

