Alice Special – Disney Designer Villains Queen of Hearts

3 Sep

20130903-220756.jpg

When I first saw the Disney Designer Villains, Queen of Hearts was my second priority after Malificent (love that doll). I actually preferred Cruella, but I what with the Alice connection and everything, I couldn’t afford to miss this one. As it happened I didn’t miss any of them (good old Mr Bat) but I made sure I had Queen of Hearts early on.

Now I’ve got her I’ll admit that I do feel kind of ambivalent about her – there are several things I’m not happy with. For starters, I’m just not a fan of the Cupid’s bow lip. I never bought CA Cupid from the Monster High line for this very reason. I do understand why it makes sense on this doll. As well as being a kind of visual pun on a heart, style-wise they are referencing a kind of Elizabeth the First look to go with that amazing ruff. I get it. But I just don’t like it, OK?

Second, there are some quality issues with this doll that don’t gel with the “Designer” label (or the price tag). There are loose threads hanging from her ruff and the raw ends are showing. The face painting is not perfect. The dress material photographs OK, but in rl it looks cheap – the machine-made black lace was just a bad idea. The plastic tie holding her crown on shows quite obviously through her hair. Finally, I can’t really make this into a quality issue as its something quite commonly seen on even high-end collector dolls, but I have a pet hatred of “mitten gloves”. For God’s sake just make them fingerless (which would have looked cool) or leave them off altogether.

Er. Right, now I’ve completely disrespected the Queen, I have to tell you that actually, I do quite like her despite her faults. Her sleepy eyes are brilliant, the rooted lashes beautifully done. The ruff is wonderful. I love the velvet of her bodice, they should have continued it throughout the dress. She’s got that “sweetly evil” vibe to her. Cool beans. Next time, Disney, let’s not scrimp on the lace, though, eh?

20130903-223756.jpg

20130903-223807.jpg

20130903-223814.jpg

6 Responses to “Alice Special – Disney Designer Villains Queen of Hearts”

  1. Sandra September 3, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    She is really amazing! I love your pics out in the garden. I didn’t get any of these dolls but I got one of the Designer Princesses the Mulan one. These are so well done, great review!

    • barbielea September 4, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks Sandra πŸ™‚ I’ve found that the garden is the only place i can get a decent picture of these dolls – I don’t find it easy to photograph dolls in the box and I’m not particularly happy with some of the photos I’ve taken of the rest of this line, the lighting was wrong. O well. The Princesses are great but I decided I had to draw a line in the sand! Mulan would have been one of my picks too, I also liked the Rapunzel.

  2. Andrea September 5, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Now that is one angelic evil Queen of Hearts here. Not a fan of Cupid lips either, but it gives her that special deceiving sweetness. I’m with you on her dress. There should have been an overskirt from the red velvet, just showing the ruffles in a front split. As it is, it looks like she forgot to put on her skirt and went out in her petticoats. 😳

    Im a little disappointed, that Mattel left out the villains to the Barbie movies. How neat would the mean Duchess from the “12 Dancing Princesses” have been?

    • barbielea September 6, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ I’ve been thinking about it and I think the skirt is meant to suggest a big pile of sweet things, pancakes or something like that … Does that sound silly? Anyway, whatever the reasoning behind it, it doesn’t really work for me. As you say, a front-split or panniered dress would have been much nicer …

      I like your idea about the Duchess – I think Mattel should make more Villains, both collector and playline. I suppose they’re worried about their image, “Barbie as role model” is pretty much the best defence they have for selling a doll who is definitely considered to be on the unPC side by many … But wouldn’t it be fun if they did it anyway? πŸ™‚

  3. Andrea September 9, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Pancakes, I never thought of that. Now that you mentioned it, it sounds logical.

    If Mattel is worrying about losing their image by producing villains, I think they worry about the wrong thing. Having a villain might even increase Barbie’s goodness. They’d rather worry about quality issues like seeping glue, wonky eyes, half-dresses. But it would be so great if that Duchess would have been produced, sigh.

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      You don’t need to convince me Andrea! The day they produce a Barbie Villainess, I’ll be there at the front of the line! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

