Alice Special – Madeline Hatter

7 Sep

I still haven’t made up my mind about Ever After High – I mean, they’re bonny dolls and all, but I am not currently bowled over. I may be in the future, I suppose (after all it took me quite a long time to develop an interest in EAH’s big sisters, the Monster High dolls) but right now I think I’ll just reserve judgement for a while. I think that EAH is basically an interesting idea, but some of the concepts and design just don’t seem as sharp and edgy as Monster High. I’m thinking of Apple White particularly – for starters, the laws of genetics should have suggested a beautiful pale character with black hair, but instead we have a blonde Princess in pink. Presumably her design was heavily influenced by the fact that she is a major player in Team Royal, but are we really still going for the “good girls are blonde, bad girls are brunettes” clichรฉ, then? *sigh* … I know that on some level, the whole concept is meant to be a comment on the clichรฉ. I just think that at this point, this isn’t coming across very well and it feels like a cynical attempt to cover all bases by creating a character who appeals to the traditional market, but also has an “edgy” cachet. Well, things might change yet – as I say, I’m reserving judgement. I’m probably just bitter because Snow White is one of my favourite fairytale characters and I love pale dolls with dark hair.

Anyway, enough of Princess Apple. When I saw the EAH pre-release pictures there were a couple of characters that really interested me and I knew I would buy them if and when the dolls went up for sale. One of these was Cerise Hood – rubbish name, great look, awaiting that one eagerly. The other was Madeline Hatter.

20130907-220236.jpg

Sharp design featuring heavy Alice theming? Check. Details to die for? Check (the teapot bag with the opening lid, the spoon earrings, the china-patterned shoes, wow). Having steeled myself to read the bookmark diary that comes with her, I even (gasp) kind of liked her character. I like the fact that she’s smaller than the other characters. I like her purple and mint hair (the colour scheme having been lifted from one of my probably never-to-be-acheived Grails, Pullip Alice Du Jardin Mint version). Great scope for development too – imagine a formally dressed version, a swimsuit version, a night on the town version. This doll could be a lot of fun in the future.

20130907-223519.jpg20130907-223528.jpg

20130907-223616.jpg

Criticisms? I dunno, no real complaints from me. I would have preferred a face that was a little more sculpted, but she’s cute enough. I don’t particularly like the three spots on the bottom lip that all the EAH dolls seem to have, but I can live with that. I’d buy her again. I’m also interested to note that the door is wide open for a possible further two Alice themed dolls from EAH, Kitty Cheshire and Lizzy Hearts. Count me in …

20130907-224720.jpg

20130907-224736.jpg

20130907-224756.jpg

20130907-224803.jpg

20130907-224825.jpg

18 Responses to “Alice Special – Madeline Hatter”

  1. pixiecollections September 8, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Madeline Hater is the one I want the most, though Im still waiting for the EAH dolls to start showing up at stores other then Justice because I don’t have a Justice around here. I find myself only passingly interesting in the MH line but super into the EAH line now. And, like you, I am also really looking forward to Cerise as well ๐Ÿ˜€

    Im also not sure why they went with blond hair for Apple… black hair is one of Snow Whites most notable traits and youd think they would keep that in mind, but like you said, they are probably hedged by the old “pretty popular girls are blond” clichรฉ unfortunately.

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      Hi Pixiecollections ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m in the UK and we don’t have these stores at all! Mattel usually release dolls exclusively in particular UK stores too (sometimes the UK branch of the same chain that has a different name over here, sometimes a different store completely). I’ve heard a rumour that they’re being sold at Debenhams but I haven’t been to check it out, I got mine from a reseller. The price was a bit higher than usual but not terrible. I got her now rather than wait because you never know, we might never end up with the first-wave dolls on general release over here – I’m probably just panicking, actually, there’s a big buzz about these dolls and they are bound to show up in the shops. But I’ve got her now, so I don’t have to worry about it …

      My first instinct is to say that I don’t think I’ll ever be as interested as I am in Monster High, but I am determined to hang fire with the judgements until I see where they’re going with this line … We will see. Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Andrea September 9, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Great, there you go and enable me again. ๐Ÿ˜€ Madeline is beyond cute and I am very, very tempted.

    I’m with you on the hair of Apple White, she would be so much nicer if she would have the Snow White effect. May be they didn’t think about the “good girl = blonde / bad girl = black” hair at all and just didn’t want her to have the same hair color as Raven. And if they really went for that clichรฉ, they obviously never heard of “Good girls go to heaven, bad girls go everywhere”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Lol! Feel free to blame it on me, Andrea ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good point, undoubtedly they did want to distinguish this doll from Raven Queen. I think they could have given Raven a different name and made her a fiery Gothic redhead, for instance, or preferably they could have given the top good girl role to another doll – Ashlynn Ella (I suppose the problem is that she wasn’t up against an evil queen in the fairytale) or Briar Beauty (who is, in the Disney versions anyway) … Goddamit, Mattel, give me my cute little Brunette Snow White EAH!!!

  3. Chicovintage77 September 9, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    I am , letยดs say, just by now, on the safe side with this line. It happened the same to me with Bratzillaz, and I just got three. Again with MH (I just have two), Liv, Bratz… I love to pick something from each major doll line, and , as always, you play a strong influence on me…I kind of love her by now! Maybe this one and , for sure, my love at first sight, Briar Beauty.

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Hi Chico ๐Ÿ™‚ yes, I’ve been tempted by Briar too. Those stockings with the thorns up the legs! I prefer her to Apple anyday. Glad I’ve sold you on Maddyhatter though – she’s a great little thing. Best wishes

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Oh PS. Funny you should mention Bratzillas, I bought my first one last week! Now like you I’m thinking maybe one or two more, then that’s it

  4. GhoulieGaby September 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    How ADORABLE is she?!? I think I need this lovely thing in my life! Her outfit is beautifully designed. Her face is sweet.Ilike that she’s actually smiling. Oh and I agree about the blonde/brunette thing.. As a pale skinned brunette myself, I always appreciated Snow White having “hair black as ebony…” ๐Ÿ˜‰ I cant wait to see more of these dolls, though. I haven’t found them in U.S. shops yet, but my wallet better be ready ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • barbielea September 9, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      “skin as white as snow, lips as red as blood” … See, that’s what I’m talking about. Us brunettes need fairytale role models too!

  5. Teresa B. September 12, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    I love your photography with a teacup and teapot. It’s the perfect props for Madeline Hatter. She is so super cute.

    • barbielea September 14, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks Theresa ๐Ÿ™‚ the great thing about Alice in Wonderland dolls is that it doesn’t really matter about scale, what with all the shrinking and growing that goes on ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. The Smu September 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Wow, the accessories for this doll are AMAZING. There’s something about this brand I’ve never fancied much but this one is gorgeous..

    • barbielea September 19, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

      Hello Smu, nice of you to join us ๐Ÿ™‚ I think Maddy is going to be the Everafter doll for collectors who don’t like Everafter dolls, because of her particular theme and her colour scheme. And yes, her accessories are pretty amazing … I still can’t get over the fact that her teapot bag opens and her ring is actually a tiny ring that can be taken off rather than a post through her hand like Barbie rings.

      • The Smu September 20, 2013 at 9:13 am #

        Aw thank you for the welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

        Yes, this one looks so detailed and well made which is funny because the thing that’s put me off the line in the past was feeling they looked somehow a bit cheap..

      • barbielea September 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

        I know what you mean. I think it’s the lack of facial sculpting, they look very “flat” compared to Monster High. I’m hoping they do a little work on the sculpts as the line progresses (or that I just get used to them).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apple White and Madeline Hatter – Ever After High dolls! | Pixie Collections - December 28, 2013

    […] that I was the most excited to get. I have been drooling for months over everyones pictures and reviews of the new Ever After High dolls. Things don’t tend to get to Canada as soon as other places, […]

  2. How Much Is That Dolly In the Window? La Dee Da | barbiebeauties - January 3, 2014

    […] for the pleasure of being In with the In Crowd, its a nice feeling – for example, I got my EAH Maddie before she was on general release in the UK, and although I paid a bit more for her I have no […]

  3. Ever After High – Raven and Cupid | barbiebeauties - May 10, 2014

    […] last time I wrote about an Ever After High doll, I wasn’t completely convinced that this line of dolls was going to capture my interest in […]

Leave a Reply

