Alice Special – Skipper in Wonderland

14 Sep

So far in this Alice Special, I’ve featured some Lalaloopsies, a Disney Villain, a Little Dal and one of the new Ever After High dolls. So, you might be asking, where are the actual Barbies? Well, as I said I haven’t managed to get hold of any of the several collector level Alice dolls I’ve been stalking for a while now. But – I do have this fantastic playline Skipper who I like just as much. Skipper dressed as Alice in Wonderland was one of my grails, and I managed to find her loose but still in her original outfit earlier this year. She arrived in great condition, just missing her hairband (easy to replace with a bit of black ribbon) and her shoes. Strangely, I did a bit of research and I noticed that this doll, who dates from 1994, seemed to be boxed without shoes, so maybe I didn’t miss out after all. Even if she wasn’t an Alice doll, I think I’d still really like her – she has my favourite, huge-eyed sculpt and a sweet, natural kind of look.

20130914-201554.jpg

I have a load of Alice-themed re-ment that was brought over from Japan by my relatives (lucky old me) so of course it followed that I was going to need Skipper to attend a Mad Hatter’s tea party. But with no Mad Hatter, no March Hare and no Dormouse ๐Ÿ˜ฆ not much fun … I had a dig round in the doll drawers for some stand-ins.

20130914-204155.jpg

So, my Dormouse is a Swan Lake Shelly … Ages ago I think I referred to Skipper as my “guilty pleasure”, so God knows what that makes my Kelly/ Shelleys. I only have a few, including three of these Swan Lake ones which I bought from new.

My March Hare is a Delia, one of Chelsea’s friends from the contemporary Amusement Park series. I’ve been seeing these dolls in the shops for a while now and I’ve been dying for an excuse to buy this one in particular. She’s the same size as the So In Style crews’ little mentees, so now my Courtney has a companion doll.

Lastly, my Mad Hatter … Well. The Dormouse and the March Hare were easy, but I couldn’t decide on a Mad Hatter. I kept thinking about this doll then writing her off again. I am not particularly interested in the Summer Sculpt, and I never liked the idea of Swappin Styles somehow (all those disembodied heads, it’s creepy). But when I googled her, I realised she was a perfect Mad Hatter with her tiny topper and her vacant grin, and what’s more she’s a much better doll than I had given her credit for being. I must say, this doll has made me realise that it’s good to step out of your collecting comfort zone sometimes, since I got her I’ve found myself going to the doll drawers now and again to sneak looks at her – something I don’t do very often any more. I love her evil lime-green eyes, much more Cheshire Cat than mad hatter really.

20130914-220713.jpg

20130914-220740.jpg

20130914-220759.jpg

20130914-220813.jpg

20130914-220830.jpg

20130914-220844.jpg

20130914-220856.jpg

20130914-220927.jpg

ADDITIONAL: Chico’s mystery Alice, does anybody recognise her? Please leave a comment if so …

20130916-182930.jpg

12 Responses to “Alice Special – Skipper in Wonderland”

  1. Chicovintage77 September 15, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Talking about connection… I just got an Alice Skipper! But the dress is far more simple, without those fancy little stars, and the headmold is different as well (I will show you). I find the closed mouth Skipper less appealing that the Pizza Party one, but mine is the only one I have seen before… strange, isnยดt it?. Congratulations for achieving another of your holy grails!

    • barbielea September 15, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      Hi Chico ๐Ÿ™‚ yes please do show me! I have never seen a Wonderland Skipper with the Pizza Party Sculpt, although I am aware of a few with this big-eyed sculpt. Thanks for the info ๐Ÿ™‚ and congratulations on your Skipper!

  2. Andrea September 16, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    I love your Alice Teaparty Barbie style. So cute. Skipper as Alice is lovely, congrats on getting her.

    Mad Hatter Sassy is one of my favorite Swappin Styles dolls. I ‘m not too crazy about the swapping of heads feature either, but the doll won me over right away.

    I never saw an Alice Skipper with the Pizza Party sculpt either.

    • barbielea September 16, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      Thanks Andrea ๐Ÿ™‚ Sassy came out just as I came back to collecting and at first I just couldn’t bond with the Fashionistas – I presume that was my problem anyway, as she’s clearly a good one. Those eyes!

  3. Chicovintage77 September 16, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Andrea and Lea, sorry for the misunderstanding, I just said I prefer the Pizza Party face than the closed mouth Skipper, but on my searchings Iยดve never seen a PP Alice. I got a lot of mixed dolls and one Skipper sported a completely different headmold, she was wearing a simplified version of Leaยดs dress, and I intend to unveil the mistery. Maybe she just swooped dresses…

    • barbielea September 16, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Not a problem Chico. Well, having seen your pic I must say I’m stumped. I’ll put a pic up to see if anybody else has any ideas. Lovely sculpt though!

  4. Theresa September 19, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    I love this. Doll tea parties are awesome as it is…Alice in Wonderland themed tea parties are super awesome! And your Skipper Alice is very pretty!

    • barbielea September 19, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

      Thanks Theresa ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t tell you how pleased I am to have her in my collection …

  5. kewpie83 September 28, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Congrats on your grail!!! One of my grails is the Wendy that Mattel made with the Skipper head mold. She’s always too expensive for me, though!!! As far as the mystery doll, I can’t help much! I know there are two versions of the large eye Skipper made as Alice (like you mentioned). One has a simpler dress on. (I own that version.) But the mystery doll’s face mold doesn’t look familiar. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • barbielea September 28, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks Kewpie ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve seen pics of that Wendy, she’s lovely … If you can’t find her for a decent price in the US I imagine I’ve got no chance over here though :-/

      Ah, I really hoped you might recognise the mystery Alice! I was just starting to think she must be a clone when Chico sent me a pic of her head stamp, which is Mattel. And that certainly looks like the Skipper body used in the late eighties/ early nineties to me. O well! Thanks anyway, and if you come across the answer on your travels please just give me a shout!

  6. Andrea October 13, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Im stumped, I don’t have a clue who she might be. She has a very lovely face though. She is definitely a keeper.

    • barbielea October 13, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      We thought you would know for sure Andrea ๐Ÿ™‚ o well, thanks anyway, if you see her anywhere you know where I am, please just let me know.

Leave a Reply

