Western Stampin Tara Lynn

15 Sep

20130915-222130.jpg

Well done, those of you who prefer your dolls all elegant and grown up, for bearing with me though the last five or six posts of childish cuteness. I must say, whenever I do a run of posts, whatever the theme, however passionate I am about the dolls I’m featuring, I get to the end and think “phew, thanks God that’s done with” …

Well, despite my attempts to go for a “grown-up” look, tonight’s offering is kind of cute in her own way, with her pouty Steffie sculpt painted in simple primary colours. Because of this simplicity I find it hard to believe that this doll was produced as late on as 1993, but it’s true. However, as I’ve said before, simplicity is not necessarily a bad thing and I find her combination of black hair, pale skin, blue eyes with huge long lashes and red lips quite stunning. And Tara Lynn – what a great name! I believe it was only ever linked to this doll, which is a shame (please feel free to correct me if you know otherwise).

20130915-222224.jpg

11 Responses to “Western Stampin Tara Lynn”

  1. Andrea September 16, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    She is one of the most beautiful nineties dolls. I love that b/w picture and her gown ist very sophisticated. What I love about the Steffie sculpt is that they always look slightly amused.

    • barbielea September 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      Thanks so much Andrea … Yes, amused but without the big Barbie trademark grin! Which is what I prefer in dolls too 🙂

  2. Chicovintage77 September 16, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    You got it , babe! She´s the one and only Tara-Lynn doll ever produced, originally dressed on a very tacky red/black/gold cow-boy themed ensemble. But even like that, she´s truly a beauty! I love Steffies, raven haired dolls and killer red lips, so she´s got it all for me. It´s a pity she uses the kanekalon hair instead of saran. But I´m afraid you just can not have it all , on this life. As always, I love your photos, you really make every doll to show her very best

    • barbielea September 16, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Awww thanks Chico that’s nice. I think my pictures have improved over time, I look back at some of my earlier ones (and some of my not-so-early ones) and I cringe a bit at the bad lighting and focus issues … Still, we live and learn. I really don’t mind kanekalon! It’s nice and soft. Why don’t you like it?

      • Chicovintage77 September 16, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

        Kanekalon is so fragile and brittle…once you have combed her hair a little it gets fritzy and bushy… I love saran, it really ages nicely, I have barbies on her thirties and even more and their hair looks factory fresh!

  3. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) September 16, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    Tara Lynn is one of my favorite dolls ever. With her black hair and red lips, she reminds me of Snow White. Thanks for featuring her! It’s nice to know that someone else appreciates her as much as I do. 🙂

    • barbielea September 16, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

      Hi Sarah, and welcome 🙂 I thought the same thing myself – I love Snow White and I have several Snow White dolls, so maybe this is why I was drawn to Tara Lynn. Best wishes and thanks for commenting!

  4. Teresa B. September 16, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    The B&W picture is very “Gone with the Wind”-ish. What a beautiful doll! I love my Teresa’s with the Steffie head mold. love love love! 🙂

    • barbielea September 18, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

      Lol! Most of the pictures I take of dolls in long dresses end up looking a bit Gone With The Wind, I’m not sure why! I do like Steffie, but I don’t do much Steffie purchasing, maybe I should start … And I don’t know much about her, I wasn’t aware that the name Theresa was attached to this sculpt either!

  5. Sandra September 18, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    This is a doll that is so beautiful redressed! You’ve really captured her beauty. I love the variety of dolls you feature. Steffie is my fave mold and I love the articles you’ve published about her. Very pretty!

    • barbielea September 18, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

      Thanks so much Sandra. I got my Tara Lynn nude (although I must say I agree with Chico, I don’t particularly like her original outfit anyway) so I had no choice but to redress her, I do think it worked out quite well though … I noticed from your blog that you’re a big Steffie fan and you obviously know your onions when it comes to this sculpt so I’m really pleased you like my Steffie posts, as I said I don’t know loads about these dolls, I just know what I like 🙂

Leave a Reply

