Adventures in Rebodying 4 – Cali Girl Lea

20 Sep

20130920-224108.jpg

She’s my “go-to” doll and I have two of her, so it was probably inevitable that sooner or later I was going to give Horseriding Cali Girl Lea my favourite kind of body. Not that there was too much wrong with her old body, which is wonderfully poseable for a pre-fashionista doll. I don’t even mind her big old beach feet, although it does kind of make it hard to find shoes for her … I just found myself wondering how it would look, so then I went and did it. I’m afraid I had to sacrifice my one and only Nikki to do this, but I’d pretty much decided that I liked her clothes much more than I liked her head anyway.

I’ve been neglecting the Lea branch of my collection just recently (or at least, not hammering it like I used to) so I’ve decided to make this an all-Lea weekend. If I get round to it I want to show you my Lea-who-might-be-a-Goddess – I’ve decided to leave that one in your capable hands. And I also have a seriously fantastic new Lea to feature (well, I have a few, but one is springing to mind particularly).

20130920-225237.jpg

20130920-225300.jpg

20130920-225320.jpg

By the way, I know that really Cali Girl Lea is more hippy than punk, But I recently splashed out £3.50 on a seriously awful Monster High clone called a Pixi Punk with the intention of maybe doing a little repainting and she came dressed in this great top and boots. If you would like to look into it just be aware that the boots are a smidge tight on Barbie, they look OK but the feet don’t make it all the way to the bottom of the boot. Still, I’ve got actual Barbie boots that I’ve had the same issue with. The jeans were handmade by Dabrowska.

ADDITIONAL: as Blackkitty asked for more info, here’s a picture of the Pixi Punk MH clone, with Lea, Vampire Girl (standard MH body) and Howleen for comparison purposes. As you can see, the Pixi Punk is broader through the upper section of the torso, more like a Barbie – the teeshirt material of her top stretched to fit Barbie but on a MH it would look too baggy round the shoulders. Through her hips and legs she is obviously much too slender for Barbie to borrow her clothes, but MHs can fit pretty well in them. Her tights were inbuilt and as she is a little shorter than a Normal MH, I tried them on Howleen instead – they are pretty cool, maybe a little happy round the waist but otherwise a good fit. I’ve put pictures of Howleen wearing her trousers up on Instagram if you’re interested in seeing the result

20130921-213856.jpg

20130921-213904.jpg

20130921-213909.jpg

7 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying 4 – Cali Girl Lea”

  1. Blackkitty September 21, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    How does a MH clone have the same size clothes as Barbie? I have to see this thing!

    • barbielea September 21, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      I posted you some pictures above Blackkitty, what do you think?

      • Blackkitty September 21, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

        Yikes! That’s a weird looking doll. The shirt is unexpectedly cool, though.

      • barbielea September 22, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

        Yep, cool shirt – and there are more. I particularly like the boots myself

  2. Chicovintage77 September 21, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Wow! You are definetely improving your Dr Frankendolly skills! She looks much better now, for someone like you who really appreciate the posability, this is a major upgrade. I can understand why you are so fond of this particular Lea, she has the sweetest puppy eyes of them all… she is not playing on the mean league like other Leas are. Like always, you play a strong influence on me, she has gone from “another one” to “top list” on my collection. Lovely photos, BTW!

    • barbielea September 21, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      Lol, of course her higher position in the Lea pecking order is just as it should be! You’re right, she does have puppy eyes – i don’t know what it is, I just never get bored of her. She was the first Lea I bought upon my return to collecting nearly three years ago so maybe I just “imprinted” 🙂

  3. Andrea September 23, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    She looks great on her new body. Now that boady will be broadening her shoe horizon. Shoes for the bogfoot girls are really hard to find. So far I managed to get a hold of three different shoe molds for them: the cowboy boots, the brown sandals and the flip-flops of the Hawaiian Hair Cali Girls.

    Yes, she has definitely puppy eyes, so who would dare to resist her?

Leave a Reply

