Lea 29 – Mystery Squad Kenzie

22 Sep

Mystery Squad Kenzie has jumped my Lea queue. I only got her earlier this week and here I am posting about her and assigning her a number already. You’ll have to excuse me, Mystery Squad Kenzie has been near the top of my grail list for quite some time now. I’m unbelievably chuffed.

20130922-223151.jpg

I think it’s easy to see why MSK is so popular with collectors – unusual hair texture (not just curly but afro’d) unusual colouring (pale skin, red hair and blue eyes is not a normal Lea combination), unusual body (Teen Skipper, like the Generation Girls), cool theme (girl detectives), cool clothes (blue net knee socks with white platform Mary Janes!), cool accessories (spy camera, dog, “clues” such as the pink rose, what a nice active play touch). And BLUE NAIL VARNISH. Need I say more?

Anyhoo, I like her because of all this, I really do. But the main reason I like her is because she reminds me of my sister in the early eighties. My sister, who is fifteen years older than me, dyed her hair red and got it cut into a kind of bubble perm around this time, which was of course a very popular look but caused me (I would have been about four) to roll round on the floor laughing at her. Really, though, I completely idealised her and I thought she was very beautiful and glamorous, even with the perm. So this is a particularly special doll for me.

Again, I think I made a very lucky purchase – MSK is in mint condition, unboxed but never undressed, and she came with many of the items she was boxed with. Thanks a million, Great Collecting Fairy, for throwing this wonderful doll my way!

20130922-225837.jpg

20130922-225850.jpg

20130922-225859.jpg

Ps. I suppose now might be a good time to mention – I’ve decided not to do a big grand redressing project for my next Lea retrospective, which is due anytime now. I’ve made this decision because a) my hands are bad again and I’m not up to that much sewing and b) even if I was or if I could think of a theme that didn’t entail sewing stuff, a lot of the last ten Leas I have featured are pretty rare and some have never been undressed – some of them are actually sewn into their clothes, you’re not even meant to undress them. I just want to leave them as they are for now.

15 Responses to “Lea 29 – Mystery Squad Kenzie”

  1. Taswegian1957 September 23, 2013 at 2:09 am #

    She is a lovely doll, so unusual! She was never sold in Australia as far as I know but I was lucky enough to get her through a fellow collector in the USA.

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

      Hi Taswegian ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve imported Leas from America too, sometimes it’s the only way to get hold of them (the lack of Skippers external to America seems even more pronounced though). I got this one in the UK, I suppose whoever bought her might have imported her – I’ve only seen her for sale over here a very few times, and I don’t know if she was ever up for sake over here although the Generation Girls definitely were. Best wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. kewpie83 September 23, 2013 at 2:49 am #

    I love all the Generation Girls, but Kenzie is one of my favorites from the line. That line was far too short!!! Congrats on your find!!!!

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      Hi Kewpie! I hadn’t remembered that the Mystery Squad were part of the Generation Girl range but now you mention it that kind of rings a bell, I must have read about it somewhere once as I never saw this line of dolls in the shops, although I do remember seeing the Generation Girls. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Chicovintage77 September 23, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    Wow! she is one of my faves! Donยดt you think she has some kind of ” The birh of Venus ” by Botticelli vibe? I can see her as one of the Meninas of Velazquez, too. I am so fond of her I got her twice, one to be left like yours and one to…. straighten her godammit hair! It was like a wet dream, taming her hair till it looked like asian. She is so beautiful! Mmm, our tastes are too, too similars… (BTW, I got Lady Le Fay on a lot from USA, she is OK but she has a rub on her eyebrow, but I can live with it…) I find so tender she makes you think of your sister… It happens the same to me , with Barbie the look Mbili, my sister used to have the same dress, and I remembered looking at her thinking she was the most fashionable girl in the world… poor me!

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Hi Chico ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your Birth of Venus analogy and immediately started planning a photoshoot in my head based around this (ah, maybe one day). Best wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • geminianarebelde November 21, 2014 at 1:22 am #

      Sure!!!

  4. pixiecollections September 23, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Oh she is cool!! What awesome hair, I love it ๐Ÿ˜€

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

      Hi Pixiecollections! I love this hair texture on dolls myself, I wish they would make more like this :-/

  5. Andrea September 23, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    Congrats on getting Kenzie and It is really cool that she is sort of a mini-me of your sister. She is such an awesome doll. A couple of years ago I had almost given up on ever getting her and then I scored her nude but minty in a lot.

    I hope your hands will be better soon.

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

      Thanks Andrea – she seems to be a popular one (although if course I think she completely deserves it). Thanks x

  6. Sandra September 23, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    Congrats. She is so pretty! I love her!

  7. Teresa B. September 25, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Hope your hands feel better soon! Congrats on Kenzie. I have never seen her before but I think she is beautiful!

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks Teresa! So do I, this is a really important Lea for me, I’ve been after her for so long! I’m glad you like her.

Leave a Reply

