The Riddle of The Princess of Ancient Greece

22 Sep

I fell in love with the 2003 Princess of Ancient Greece before it occurred to me that she might be a Lea – when I read somewhere that she was a Lea, that put the icing on the cake, and I bought her. I love her combination of pale skin and dark almond eyes so much that I don’t even mind her sewn-on outfit and glued-together curls, although I do think it would be great to get hold of another version so that I could try some guilt-free restyling.

20130921-223838.jpg

20130921-223910.jpg

Isn’t she beautiful? Even her jewellery and her outfit are nicely done.

Here’s the thing, though. I had my doubts about her Lea-ness – sometimes I thought yes, sometimes no. Not that I mind – I like her regardless of this issue – but I did wonder if she might actually be a Goddess sculpted doll, as these look similar. I then did some reading about her and it seems to me that opinion is pretty divided on the Princess. I was planning on asking your opinion in this post, but then (duh) after I deboxed her earlier today it occurred to me to check her head stamp. It seems a bit smartypants to ask you when I already know the answer so I’ll just tell you – she’s stamped 1998 and that makes her a Goddess (Lea has a 2000 stamp). I can see why so many people seem to think otherwise, though. Here’s some comparison pictures:

With a Lea on the left (Amazing Nails) and a Goddess on the right (The Enchantress):

20130921-232328.jpg

Princess and Enchantress:

20130921-232557.jpg

Princess and Shakira (Lea):

20130921-232709.jpg

20130921-232835.jpg

Princess and Basics Collection One Model Four (a Goddess):

20130921-233204.jpg

20130921-233215.jpg

Strange that with some Goddesses (like Edeline, for instance) I can tell instantly that she’s not a Lea. On other dolls, like this one, I get confused … Well, at least the riddle is solved. And in future, I’ll be checking head stamps a bit more often 🙂

6 Responses to “The Riddle of The Princess of Ancient Greece”

  1. Chicovintage77 September 22, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Wow! It´s funny to see the process of elimination for discovering who she is… Like you say, sometimes is almost impossible to figure out if a doll sports one headmold or another, because they are pretty similar. Goddess has a fuller jaw line and rounder lips, but apart from it, they are identical. For example, I got mistaken with the last DOTW Japan and Morgana le Fay, but even without being Lea´s , I eventually got both of them. I´ve been always in love with your princess of the ancient Greece, maybe I should get her… Love your photos… nice carpet, BTW!

    • barbielea September 22, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Hi Chico 🙂 hey, I thought Morgana was a Lea too (I don’t have her, although I’ve bid on her loose before now – probably at the same auction you got her, haha). DOTW Japan I’ve wondered about – another riddle solved! You should certainly get Princess of Ancient Greece, she’s a beauty.

      Lol, that’s wrapping paper behind her! It would be a lovely coloured carpet you are right, but with a four year old in the house it wouldn’t be lovely for long 🙂

  2. Andrea September 23, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    I love POW Greece. Shee is one of my cherished treasures too and I didn’t even try to debox her so far. I agree it’s not always easy to tell a Lea from a Goddess.

    • barbielea September 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 I must admit even I got a pang when I deboxed her, she looked lovely in there :/ I’m so glad it’s not just me with the Lea/ Goddess problem …

  3. Heather Fonseca October 23, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

    Whats a “Lea”?

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

      Hello Heather. The name “Lea” refers to a particular headmold/ sculpt – she is also sometimes referred to as Kayla (Amazing Nails Kayla and Lea, who shared a headmold but who were painted very differently, were the first dolls released with this sculpt). Many collectors obsess about one sculpt in particular and with me, it’s Lea. I probably have about 40 dolls with the Lea headmold at the moment, not counting duplicates (and I have a few of those too). But my collection is pretty small-fry compared to some of my friends and acquaintances, who have many more than this. She’s a popular doll to collect and attracts good money on the second-hand market, although not as much as dolls with Steffie sculpts, which is probably the most popular sculpt there is.

Leave a Reply

