Twyla

28 Sep

20130928-224252.jpg

Today, I set out to do another big Monster High post like the ones I did about my Scaris wave dolls. I had saved up the dolls I have purchased so far, and I planned to debox them and photograph them all in one go. However, I only got as far as Tywla. I wasn’t in the mood to do any more once I’d deboxed her. I had to stop and have a think about this doll.

Strange. I saw photos of Twyla and read reviews about Twyla and thought “interesting, load of great features there, think I’ll get her” (I love new characters). But I didn’t get that “got to have this doll RIGHT NOW” feeling. My boyf rang me up from the shops to tell me he had found “some new Monster Highs” when Thirteen Wishes was first released over here. From my target dolls, there was Twyla and one other on the shelves. He said he’d get me one, I hummed and haa’d and eventually chose the other – although he came home with both, bless him. Even when I got her, I liked her and I was pleased to have her but I didn’t get that urge to rip open the box. I wanted her, but it was all quite considered and laid-back and so-what. But today when I deboxed her, I found myself thinking “bloody hell!” The great thing about Twyla, the unusual and appealing thing about Twyla, is just how amazingly spooky she is.

20130928-225540.jpg

Here is a doll who is designed to be viewed in the dark (her hair glows a little, her eyes glow a lot). Her character lives in the dark. Her colour scheme consists of that combination of twilight colours that is so popular in the Dollyverse at the moment. When she’s taken out of the bright packaging she comes in and put against a dark background, she looks as if she might be lit by moonlight. It’s really very clever – one thing the MH design crew are excellent at is this use of colour to create effects that are almost optical illusions (for instance Spectra and her eye-defying combinations of purple, the way that Frankie’s colour levels are constantly turned up and down like she’s being viewed through a monitor or a photo editing package).

It’s not just that. Twyla has that strange, unsmiling, slightly open-mouthed sculpt with a rather quizzical, far-away expression. Whenever I take photos of a doll, I like to try and get at least one shot that gives the illusion that the subject is looking straight into the camera , as these nearly always look pretty good. I found it virtually impossible to get the right angle with Twyla – she’s like the opposite of the Mona Lisa, wherever you stand she’s looking elsewhere. Now THAT’S spooky.

20130928-234433.jpg

(I got so wrapped up in photographing Twyla that I forgot to photograph her pet, Dustin – o well, maybe another time).

14 Responses to “Twyla”

  1. The Smu September 29, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    Oh my goodness I hadn’t seen her before! She might have to be my Halloween gift to myself!!

    • barbielea September 29, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      Go on, do it Smu! I saw her on Amazon for Β£11 summat yesterday, so it’s a good time to buy πŸ™‚

      • The Smu September 30, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

        The Β£11 price tag swung it – shes on her way!

      • The Smu October 3, 2013 at 9:02 am #

        Hey πŸ™‚
        Just thought I’d pop in to let you know how glad I am I got Twyla – she’s gorgeous! She also eons the honour of being the first Monster High doll I’ve bought who I’ve actually left in her original outfit (although she is wearing her belt as a hair and haha) and how adorable is that dust bunny??? I would have bought him as a toy in his own right.

        The Monster High dolls are my favourites but I’m normally not that fussed for all the stuff they come with but I though Twyla was great from head to toe. And I love that she glows in the dark!

        I also like her smaller size and there is something about her build that feels different from the others I own – she feels more sturdy and ‘fun’ to me whereas the other MH dolls I have feel quite fragile and elegant – which is what I love about them – but it’s nice to have a MH doll that has a different mood to it too.

        Skelita is still my favourite doll for the doll itself but Twyla has definitely been my most ‘value for money’ MH purchase so far. Very happy camper! πŸ˜‰

      • barbielea October 4, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

        Glad you are so happy with her Smu! I know, I really regretted having missed Dustin off the photos, I’ll just have to take some pictures some other time … I too love her outfit, I think it’s one of the best made ones so far. Amazing that this doll was available for such a low price, when you look at the level of detail and design, isn’t it? Enjoy x

  2. Chicovintage77 September 29, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Even when you know IΒ΄m not a big fan of MH, I must recognize I just love their originality, the attention to details, and the completely differenciated characters, from outfit to color scheme… This doll is spooky, after all, her father is supposed to be the Boogey Man. And you are right.. those eyes are giving me the creeps… perfect doll for Halloween! You must look after your boyf, heΒ΄s a love!

    • barbielea September 29, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      Hi Chico πŸ™‚ I was thinking about that too, the Bogeyman is a scary theme, I think scarier than vampires and werewolves and stuff … Yes, it was a lovely thing for my boyfriend to do, I think he must secretly really like MH as he gets me a lot of them πŸ™‚ best wishes

  3. Ian September 29, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    She is pretty amazing.

    A few years ago I paid quite a bit for the first wave Frankie, then managed to get a nude Ghoulia from Ebay for a bargain. They lived with me for a bit, but I decided they would have to go to fund something else. But, now that Mattel seem to have cracked it with some wonderful ideas regarding changes for the older characters plus some amazing newer characters, I wish I’d stuck with them for longer. So I shall just have to sigh wistfully as I walk along the toy aisles in the supermarkets. And live vicariously through your reviews, of course.

    • barbielea October 4, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Hi Ian … I’m so tempted to try and bring you back to the MH fold (poverty loves company or something like that) by telling you it’s never too late. I thought that I had started “too late” on this line but there’s been a million and one released since then. Don’t think you’re going to fall for it though πŸ™‚ you are welcome to live vicariously through my reviews anytime … (First wave Frankie = absolutely excellent choice btw, wish I’d done it back when they were vaguely affordable)

  4. Andrea September 30, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Looks like she will be a must have doll for me. And I always considered it spooky, when a dolls eyes seemed to follow you, lol.

    • barbielea October 4, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Hi Andrea, glad you like her πŸ™‚

  5. GhoulieGaby September 30, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    I loooooove her. Your photos bring out her true spookyness! Personally, I think MH dolls *should* be a little creeeeepy.. They’re still MONSTERS, after all! I hope I can buy her soon. Regardless of how I feel about her hair, she’s just too adorable πŸ˜‰

    • barbielea October 4, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Aww thanks GhoulieGaby πŸ™‚ yes, I agree, they absolutely should be creepy, in a cute way. What don’t you like about her hair?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thirteen Wishes – Gigi, Frankie and Howleen | barbiebeauties - December 8, 2013

    […] sticking to my target dolls from this line (with one small exception). I’ve already featured Twyla and Freshwater Lagoona, who are my favourites from this wave. However, there were a few others I […]

Leave a Reply

