Novi Stars – Orbit Beach Mae Tallick

5 Oct

I bought my first Novi Star from a discount shop last month, and I deboxed her today. I planned to take some photos but I wasn’t going to post about her. However, I have to confess that I kind of fell in love with her and I was writing the review in my head anyway, so here we are …

Novi Stars have been going for a fair old while. Initially put them down as a gimmick doll – a very beautiful kind of one-trick pony. The doll markets are saturated with dolls like this, dolls who are lovely to look at but very themed and hard to imagine redressed or restyled. There’s nothing wrong with this at all, and there’s certainly a place for it with adult collectors as well as with children. However when funds are limited it just makes more sense to hold out for the dolls who are going to interest me for more than a week or so … I already buy far too many Monster Highs who sort of fall into this category (maybe this is a bit unfair as MHs’ marvellous poseability makes them interesting to play with and photograph as well as to look at, and I do sometimes do a bit of redressing of my MHs). The upshot is that I’m wary about taking on other contemporary doll lines.

Still. She was on sale. I was feeling in need of some new dollage, and she came home with me.

20131005-234931.jpg

I do like her dinky size, which I didn’t expect. I’ve been hanging round with Barbie and Sindy for so long that I find it hard to process different size dolls sometimes, but Mae looks cute rather than stunted despite being a similar size to Bratz, who I just can’t get along with. Her hair is wonderfully soft and very good quality, her detail and design are very good. It’s the eyes that get me, though. Even though she has hardly any other features I think that her glitter-filled eyes with their cow-like silver lashes give her a wealth of expression.

20131005-235531.jpg

20131005-235853.jpg

It’s just a shame that she doesn’t have more poseability. Her head can be angled, her legs swivel at the hip (she can do the splits) and her arms move at the shoulder, but that’s about it. I think these dolls would be serious rivals for Monster High if they could just make them jointed at the knees, elbows and wrists.

All in all, I think I was wrong. Despite the posing problems she’s a doll who I think I could be interested in long-term. We will see

13 Responses to “Novi Stars – Orbit Beach Mae Tallick”

  1. Andrea October 6, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Im with on not wanting to get into too many doll-lines or sizes and I have to draw the line somewhere. But we know how it goes – you get one and think this is it and before you know it they become a bunch. :DD

    I have not seen those dolls in our stores yet. The stiff body would be a turn-down for me, but her eyes are really cool.

    • barbielea October 10, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

      Oh Andrea, I tried really hard to stay on track for a year, year and a half when I came back to collecting, after that I found it pretty much impossible … I was OK until I started with the Monster Highs and that kind of opened the floodgates πŸ™‚ I really would like maybe one or two more of these and then I’ll try to stop. The new releases are adorable though!

  2. Chicovintage77 October 6, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    You never cease to amaze me, Claire! Your doll tastes are reaaaally wide…Here you are a tutorial from a very interesting blog: http://lemondolls.blogspot.com.es/2013/08/novi-monster-high-brids.html. In there, they manage to make an hybrid between your Mae Tallik and CAM The blob girl, itΒ΄s a perfect match! It could fix the posability issue you were moaning about (LOL)
    I like to think my dolly tastes are bottom less, but thank God ,at least, I donΒ΄t fancy this one too much (my wallet is almost empty this month)

    • barbielea October 10, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      Haha, guilty! I think I’ve seen that tutorial before but I’d forgotten about it … I do like her smaller size but it would be nice to have her more poseable. I’ll definitely consider it – thanks x

  3. Teresa B. October 8, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Same as Andrea, I have yet to see those here. I could do with having one of these dolls! A little friend for my lone Monster High doll. πŸ™‚ She’s super cute! I love the glitter eyes and lashes too. πŸ™‚

    • barbielea October 10, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Hi Sandra πŸ™‚ I think she would actually display really nicely with MH dolls despite the slight size difference. Go for it πŸ™‚

  4. thesmu October 9, 2013 at 8:00 am #

    I’ve wanted one of these for a whole now but the always seem a bit pricey for what they are..

    • thesmu October 9, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      *a while ! Sorry..

      • barbielea October 10, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

        Hi Smu, I got the idea πŸ™‚ OK, more enabling for you here – Β£6.99 at larger branches of Home Bargains right now. Doesn’t get any better than that …

      • thesmu October 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

        Aaaawaw!! Β£6.99 sounds pretty flippin good! You’re a bad influence! πŸ˜‰

      • barbielea October 11, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

        That’s me πŸ™‚

  5. Sandra October 9, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    These are super cute but I’ve managed to resist them so far! Great review and pics!

Leave a Reply

