Life in The Dreamhouse Midge

13 Oct

LITD Midge became a bit of a mini-grail for me. All my online acquaintances from America were posting pictures months ago, while I was biting my nails about whether the line would ever appear over here. In retrospect it seems obvious that a flagship line of dolls, based on webisodes that are viewable all over the world – well, of COURSE it’s going to get released everywhere. But that European launch seemed to take a hell of a long time.

20131013-214104.jpg

I am fond of the beautiful Steffie sculpt and have several, although I don’t specifically collect Steffies the way I do Leas. She’s also a Midge and I am rather interested in Midges as well, although most of mine are Divas. I admit that I wasn’t sure how I would feel about her cartoony style of face paint and her larger head until she arrived (I’m not adverse to all large-headed Barbies but I must admit the balloony look of some of the later Fashionistas put me off). However, I think it’s best to just take these dolls at, hah, face value – they’re meant to look different to what has gone before.

20131013-215507.jpg

LITD Midge may have a sculpt usually only seen on collector level dolls these days, but she has a look (and a price tag) that is very playline indeed. It’s luxury playline, yes (two dresses, jewellery, handbag, fashionista body, rooted eyelashes) but it’s bright and cheery and – this is interesting- really quite demure. The only plastic flesh she’s showing is her legs, and Barbie legs were never as controversial as those infamous plastic boobs. Her neckline is positively puritan compared to the cleavage-flashing Fashionistas and she’s even wearing a cardigan. Her alternative outfit is kind of gingham-y and frilly too. It’s often seemed to me that nothing annoys Mattel more than a gap in the market – it’s not enough to sell A LOT, they don’t want anybody to ever think about looking at another doll, and they want EVERYBODY to buy. There’s a lot of mums out there who disapprove of the Fashionista’s sexy look and I’m wondering if this doll has been designed to entice some of them back to the fold.

20131013-222612.jpg

Anyhoo, I was also interested to note a parallel between LITD Midge and my other Steffie-faced Midge, California Dreamin from the 80s – both sets of outfits use polka-dots and a similar colour scheme. Is this a little reference (I’m convinced that the Mattel designers make these sometimes for the benefit of parents and collectors) or just design recycling, what do you think?

20131013-223711.jpg

20131013-223720.jpg

20131013-223733.jpg

23 Responses to “Life in The Dreamhouse Midge”

  1. discodiva1979 October 14, 2013 at 7:20 am #

    Congrats on your new Midge! Love your artistic way you have posed her.
    Do you have any plans to purchase more dolls from this line? Very interesting comparison with your 80’s Midge & agree with you totally-benefit for the parent/collector.

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      Hi DD πŸ™‚ thanks very much! I do have one other doll from this line and May get more – I’m so conflicted about Raquelle, who has been almost as popular as Midge it seems – I just can’t make up my mind!

      So you think it’s like a little reference/ in-joke too? Well, I hope so, I think it’s a nice idea πŸ™‚

      • amystika18n November 18, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

        If you can find Raquelle for a reasonable price on the secondary market, go for it! She’s the only LITD doll I have (although I wouldn’t mind a Midge), and I have to say that she’s one of the most versatile dolls in my collection!
        Also, I agree with you and discodiva that it’s a reference-the LITD Webseries is full of references to and jokes about past Barbies and the dolls are very aware that they’re dolls, so it makes sense that the dolls would be self-referential too!

      • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

        I’m still planning on picking up a Raquelle sometime, Amy :-/ that face sculpt has grown on me … Haha I really need to watch this web series, don’t I?? Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. mangusta October 14, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    If only she had Diva Mold…

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

      Hi Mangusta – I do like this particular doll just the way she is, but I’m completely with you on this. We’ve had a playline Lea and a Playline Steffie in the last year, it’s high time we got a nice new playline Diva too! Best wishes πŸ™‚

  3. Taswegian1957 October 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    She is very pretty. I haven’t seen those dolls on sale here in Australia even on eBay so far. Hopefully she will turn up sooner or later. I have a fondness for Midge but most of mine are Diva’s too. I think the Steffie face works well for her though.

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      Hi Taswegian. Strange how releases work!! I know that some MH lines have seemed to actually debut in Australia, I find it hard to believe that they’ve been so slow with releasing this line … Good luck, I hope you get your LITD release soon πŸ™‚

  4. Ian October 14, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    I hummed and haaed about Dreamhouse Midge only for financial reasons but in the end gave in. And she is indeed a dream. I don’t know what it is about her but she photographs INCREDIBLY well from all angles. I re-dressed her several different ways including what some might consider risque (no shirt but no nudity) and even THAT worked well. And she has so much hair, good quality too – another factor in making her photograph well. Her dresses have been borrowed by a So In Style Chandra and a Fashionista and look fabulous on them without being frumpy. Now I’ve got my eye on the Dreamhouse Raquelle. Hmm… who knows…

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      She’s got that magic, hasn’t she Ian? Some dolls just seem to – I agree that you don’t have to worry about camera angles etc, it all just seems to work out well πŸ™‚ as I said above I’m just feeling confused about LITD Raquelle – I just can’t make up my mind! Best wishes πŸ™‚

  5. Sandra October 14, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Love your comments about her outfits! Great review and congrats!

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks very much Sandra πŸ™‚

  6. Andrea October 14, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Congrats on getting her! I love LITD Midge.and I love how she’s playing with the letter blocks.

    I got mine yesterday (open sale Sunday) and I also grabbed the only LITD Raquelle they had, since you can never tell if you can spot her again.

    Love Midge’s box artwork. A Steffie face with the smirk of the artwork would also have made quite an exceptional doll. I would buy her immediately with that expression.

    The polka dot pattern sure adds to the wholesome girl next door look.

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Thanks Andrea πŸ™‚ yes, everything seems to be quality on these dolls, even the box art … A smirking Steffie? Interesting idea!

      You’re right about the polka dots, I was thinking about this and if you scaled up Midges outfit and put a little girl in it, it wouldn’t look out of place – I think this is an approach that Mattel took quite a lot in the 90s, then we got the more adult Fashion Fever waves in the noughties, then the Fashionistas who were similarly grown-up but more fantasy glam …. Well, a change is as good as a rest I suppose, keeps things fresh … Best wishes πŸ™‚

  7. thosj October 16, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    You posed Midge wonderfully, and she is a lovely doll! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Thanks so much Tom πŸ™‚

  8. Chicovintage77 October 21, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    Having a Steffie on the playline is a dream come true! But above all, sheΒ΄s perfection! I love the huge blue eyes, the rooted eyelashes, that reddish hair…even that retro style, maybe a little prude (after all, sheΒ΄s coming from the past, according to the webisodes). I just can wait to have her, Lea, IΒ΄m green with envy! Love your post and the photos, like always.

    • barbielea October 23, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks Chico πŸ™‚ you know, I’ve never watched the webisodes?? I need to, I’ve heard they’re really good – so Midge comes from the past then?

      Go get that playline Steffie! I don’t know about where you are but prices have been pretty low over here for the last couple of weeks, in fact I wish I had held on a bit longer to get her as I got her for her full UK RRP … O well πŸ™‚

  9. Christine Thanh Huong Tran October 27, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    I Love your blog! Your blog has helped me identify one of the lea dolls in my collection from the pictures i tried to google πŸ™‚

    Christine
    http://champangebarbie.blogspot.com.au

    • barbielea October 29, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Glad to hear it Christine πŸ™‚ I will have a good old browse through your blog when I get two minutes, it looks really interesting

  10. Ashley April 21, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    I LOVE your blog! Also, seeing this post makes me realize how badly I want this doll!

    • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

      Hello Ashley πŸ™‚ and thanks very, very much! That’s very kind of you. As for Midge – she’s a special doll, the first playline Steffie in a long time (and of course, completely beautiful). Snap her up!! Haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Late Summer | barbiebeauties - February 7, 2014

    […] as far as I know this is still the only wave that is available in the UK. So far, I only have my Midge and this Summer. I love Summer’s character and style anyway, but really I bought her because […]

Leave a Reply

