Bob Mackie’s Diana Ross

22 Nov

I’ve not been posting as much as usual just recently because early winter sunsets make it hard to take decent photos, but tonight I just managed to get home before the light went. Diana Ross has always been one of my Grails, and she is one that I thought I might never get hold of. I don’t have enough money for collector-level dolls often, at least partly because I usually spend my available money on playline as soon as I’ve got it πŸ™‚ so I just couldn’t imagine spending the kind of money she usually commands on one item, and besides, finding her for sale in this country (therefore avoiding the import tax issue) isn’t easy.

I was over the moon when I won her unboxed (just the way I like em) with a slightly soiled dress that seemed to have put the other eBay bidders off. I ended up paying a fraction of the price I thought I was going to have to pay. I still can’t quite believe that I got her – she’s a wonderful, iconic doll. I’m not sure whether I first saw her on Flickr, where photos if her abound, or whether I first saw her in the Black Barbie issue of Italian Vogue, in which she actually got her own article. Wherever it was, I do know that it was love at first sight and I’ve been searching for her ever since.

I love celebrity dolls but they’re often hit and miss – for example, today I was looking at some marked-down One Direction dolls. These dolls are meant to represent young men but in order to make the face distinctive and to try and get a likeness, the sculptor had included lines and facial creases that just make them look too old. This seems to be a common problem with celebrity dolls, and noses are often made proportionally too big too – my collector level Happy Birthday Mr President, who I have now sold on, had a nose kind of like a potato I thought (although I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Marylin doll who truly looks like Marylin, has anybody else seen one?)

Anyway, I believe that Diana does not suffer from any of these problems. Her features are in proportion and she’s not unduly lined, it’s a beautiful sculpt. In our household, opinion is divided as to whether or not she’s a true likeness, I voted yes but Mr Bat voted no. However, I didn’t really care about this very much anyway, as for me, attractiveness is the most important feature of any celebrity doll, not accuracy.

I also love the design of this doll, the simplicity of the outfit and the colour scheme ensures they compliment rather than detracting from her face. The white dress is really very beautiful, I was so pleased when the mark on the bodice washed off with a quick spot clean. I also had to wash one of her hands as it seemed to be covered with some kind of dried mush that might have been digestive biscuit. I’ve wracked my brains trying to imagine how this catastrophe might have come about, but I’m coming up empty. Answers on a postcard please?

20131122-224048.jpg

20131123-135112.jpg

20131122-224203.jpg

20131123-135102.jpg

11 Responses to “Bob Mackie’s Diana Ross”

  1. Blackkitty November 23, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Wow, such a beautiful doll! There is even some tasteful resemblance to Diana Ross, and yet it doesn’t look weird as a regular doll if we didn’t know it was supposed to be her. I wish you included more pictures in your posts though.

    • barbielea November 23, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

      Really? Well, I’ve added a few more now …. I’ll bear it in mind Blackkitty …

      • Blackkitty November 25, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

        Awesome, I really appreciate it! I read your new post and thought it was very nice that you included many pictures even before finding this reply.

  2. Chicovintage77 November 23, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    Wow! IΒ΄m green with envy (just a healthy one, you know). She is lovely, and the dress, her hair, everything, looks factory fresh. I am happy for you, I now largely coveted dolls are so hard to find… the photos are stunning, as always, now IΒ΄m craving for her even more!

    • barbielea November 23, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

      Thanks Chico – I know I’m on the right track if I’m making you healthily envious πŸ™‚ x

  3. holeinyoursoul November 23, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    Wow – what a find, congratulations!!

    There are some real nuggets on Ebay, especially where people aren’t aware of what they’ve got or through incorrect listings. I have some very “open” saved searches on their – they take some wading through, but it has proved to be worth it from time to time.

    I think the Diana doll looks very much like her – in fact the sculpt is very lifelike indeed and with a little alteration could be made to look like the real Diana at any point in her career. It’s a shame some other celeb dolls don’t meet such a high standard.

    • barbielea November 24, 2013 at 1:11 am #

      Hi πŸ™‚ and thankyou! I know what you mean about eBay, that’s how I managed to get hold of most of my Leas … But I never thought I’d find this one that way. I honestly think people must have been put off by the smudges on the dress which were really very easy to remove … Strange. Or maybe it was nothing to do with that and I just lucked out!

      Funny you should mention the “Diana at any point in her career” thing – before I wrote this post I did a little google search on her, and I found this fantastic post –

      http://www.theempressofdress.com/2013/02/10/diana-ross-barbie/

      I think the early Supremes style makeover in particular is amazing! Best wishes

  4. Taswegian1957 November 25, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    I think there is a strong likeness, she is a lovely doll and your photos are great as usual.

  5. Andrea November 29, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Congratulations! She is so awesome and your pics are also. The likeness is very good. I love that early Supremes era pic from your link.

    Sorry I have been MIA lately, but this time of the year is always pretty busy in our family.

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 12:07 am #

      Nice to hear from you Andrea, thanks very much πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

