Adventures in Rebodying 5 – Tango and Mbili

24 Nov

So, the rebodying continues, and this time round my body swop victims are Model 12 (Tango) and Model 8 (Mbili) from the first wave. Like her Collection Red companion, Model 8 got a Grace body from the So In Style Baby Phat range – great colour match. Model 12 was easier to accommodate, as she was a good colour match for a bog-standard blonde and blue fashionista – in fact, as you can see, she’s still wearing her dress in these pictures.

20131123-224714.jpg

20131123-224751.jpg

20131123-224814.jpg

20131123-224829.jpg

While I was using hot water to soften the neck opening, I kind of melted the gel in the shorter pieces of hair around 12’s face – I actually think she looks much better for it. I think they’d tied to style her hair like Jennifer Aniston’s but I just didn’t like these side pieces at all. Thankfully, they are less noticeable now.

I don’t know why but I never noticed before how different the SIS knees are to the current wave Fashionista legs – the joint just isn’t disguised at all. I think their made from the same mold as the first-wave Fashionistas, as they’re definitely more shapely and substantial than the legs of contemporary dolls, what do you think? Here’s a comparison with Mbili (SIS body) on the right and Tango (contemporary Fashionista) on the left in the first picture and (duh) the other way round in the second:

20131123-225840.jpg

20131123-225854.jpg

Anyhoo, I’m very pleased to have got another two done, although there’s lots more to go yet!

20131123-230152.jpg

20131123-230201.jpg

6 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying 5 – Tango and Mbili”

  1. Blackkitty November 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    This is an interesting comparison! I always assumed SIS dolls are like black Fashionistas with better head sculpts. Unfortunately I haven’t seen them in stores in Europe, but I’ll know what to expect if I get around to ordering them online. Love these two!

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks Blackkitty πŸ™‚ I made the same presumption myself, it took me a while to get onto it.

  2. Lady Lilith BloodCrave November 25, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Nice. I really love their dresses.

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks Lady Lilith … The current wave fashionistas have great outfits …

  3. Andrea November 29, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Great rebodying as always. I love that gold dress.

    Those hinged knees are around for quite some while. They haven started in the nineties on the Gymnast Barbie and I think the first dolls with hinged knees and high heel feet were the Beyond Pink line from the nineties. Those hinged high heel bodies were my favorite rebodying option before the Fashionistas entered the scene.

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks Andrea … It had never occurred to me that actually, these are the same sort of knee joints seen on those earlier dolls, but of course you are right as usual πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

