Let Down Your Hair 5 – Glam

30 Nov

I always felt conflicted about the Hairtastic line. For starters, I have a bit of a love/hate thing about the Mackie sculpt, which has been used on these dolls. I like the unsmiling, closed mouth and of course she’s very beautiful but I do think that this face gets overused – it’s EVERYWHERE, from gold label all the way down to the budget lines marketed towards five year olds. I ended up lingering in the doll sections of various shops on several occasions, completely unable to make up my mind.

I never bought one. The deal-breaker was, they have those spooky ultra-blue eyes (“Others” eyes, I think of them as, for those of you who have read Game of Thrones) which signify pure, unadulterated playline. There’s nothing remotely human or realistic about these eyes and that’s not usually my bag, not on dolls from the last 15 years anyway. I wondered if I should buy one and retouch the eyes, but I’ve pretty much given up on painting these days so I decided against it.

However, when I saw photos of the violet-locked Glam Hair, I wanted her immediately. I liked her unusual colour scheme. I decided I could put up with the crazy blue eyes. And guess what? Now I’m kind of obsessed with her. She came with the cheapest of cheap bodies, the ones where the legs don’t even bend, so I’ve rebodied her onto one of the Fashionistas I bought for my model muses. This is a privilege that I can’t afford to give to just any old doll. And I have even grown to actually like her eyes, which are large and nicely shaped – I like the way they contrast with that fabulous purple hair.

20131130-214327.jpg

20131130-214347.jpg

20131130-214410.jpg

20131130-214439.jpg

20131130-214453.jpg

The dress she comes in, the one she wears in the first three pictures above, is a little cheap and nasty, but I suppose that’s only to be expected at this end of the market. I do like the hairbrush she comes with though:

20131130-220424.jpg

15 Responses to “Let Down Your Hair 5 – Glam”

  1. kewpie83 November 30, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    She’s my favorite of that series, too. Love the purple hair!

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Hi Kewpie 🙂 Fantasy hair goes so nicely with this face, doesn’t it?

  2. Blackkitty December 1, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    I kind of want this doll too. I have another hairy Barbie that hubby bought by himself. The hair is pink with a couple of purple streaks. It’s very soft and easy to style. I painted over the eyes a cool brown-pink colour, made the eyebrows pinkish and a different shape and made the lips thinner and also a tame pink. Mine has the smiling face, which I’m not very fond of. After the repaint, it’s one of my favourites. This is the before/after picture: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-_WhmsFglVnc/UVdqKl9S5kI/AAAAAAAAAB4/ob0F9kjQwFk/s1600/P1140059.JPG

    • barbielea December 1, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      Absolutely lovely repaint Blackkitty … I’ve kind of given up on it because I couldn’t resolve my sealant issues 😦 maybe I’ll go back to it one day, I loved doing it.

      • Blackkitty December 2, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

        Thanks! I don’t have a sealant though. As long as I only use acrylic paints, it’s ok. What issues do you have?

      • barbielea December 7, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

        Well, I’ve found that if i don’t use sealant (and sometimes even if I do) the paint “creeps” into the surrounding vinyl and stains it – this can take six or twelve months to happen, and it’s happened on three dolls I can think of, but I’ve done other repaints where it hasn’t happened – I’m guessing its the pigments in certain colours. I use acrylics too. Some sealants have “blurred” the painting when applied over the top of it. Others have gone sticky and attracted dust after painting, which has ruined the repaint as well. It’s a minefield! I loved the actual painting, but I’ve had enough of these kinds of problems 😦 Littlebearries suggested just sealing the doll’s face before doing the repaint rather than after, then the paint couldn’t leak into the vinyl. This is probably a better way of doing it, but I’ve kind of lost heart with it …

      • Blackkitty December 10, 2013 at 11:30 am #

        So sorry to hear about the staining! I never had this happen yet. My paints are from Nevskaya Palitra.

  3. Lady Lilith BloodCrave December 2, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    I love the hair. I think purple is a great choice. It is a color that many are not used to so it really stands out well. I also like the shade that was selected. Nice find.

    • barbielea December 7, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

      Hi Lady Lilith – I agree, it’s a nice ultraviolet kind of shade …

  4. Teresa B. December 3, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I love the purple. I may have to pick her up although I have not seen her in my neck of the woods in the past few years. Maybe I wasn’t looking hard enough. I hate the legs that don’t bend so yes, the rebody was a must!

    • barbielea December 7, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

      Hi Teresa 🙂 yes, dolls should be able to sit! I don’t understand why they don’t just do all Barbies on a Fashionista body now, they’re so much more fun and they aren’t all that expensive. She’s only started turning up where I am recently, and pretty cheaply too … Keep an eye out!

  5. Andrea December 5, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    I’m glad that I am not the only sucker for candy hair colours. She looks great redressed in that floral print dress. I think her original dress is not a good choice for her hair and make-up, too many bold colours that don’t really compliment each other. The body kept me from picking her up so far. Seeing her on a Fashionista body makes me think now. You really should stop enabling me, lol, hubby just got me Madeline Hatter as a gift for Saint Nick.

    • barbielea December 7, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 haha, I’m trying to stop enabling myself! So you got Maddy? Great! I have one other EAH, I must post about her soon – I’m getting so behind with my posts due to the business of the season and the lack of natural light. Ah well, I really liked her bright colour clash on Glam! But the dress itself isn’t nicely produced at all. It’s a shame they don’t make just a smidge more effort with these basic dolls, surely matching material on the back of the dress wouldn’t cost that much more, and decent stitching really shouldn’t cost anything.

  6. Chicovintage December 9, 2013 at 12:05 am #

    Lovely doll! And the articulated body it´s a major improvement for sure. BTW, she has not the complete Mackie headmold, it´s a mix from the upper part from Generation Girl and the lower part from Mackie (look those elongated eyes). I prefer this headmold better than the GG (the former headmold of this line). She´s growing on me, maybe I´ll get her, after seeing your precious photos.

    • barbielea December 9, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      Thanks Chico 🙂 really, a mix of two sculpts? Well, you’re a mine of information! I thought it was just the painting style that made these modern versions so different … I don’t mind the GG sculpt, but I’d always go for a doll with a closed mouth over a smiling one, so I prefer this look too.

Leave a Reply

