Ghost of Christmas Presents – Barbie Sisters, A Pony Tale

30 Dec

Hello all – did you have a lovely Christmas?

In previous years, I have let my Christmas present posts drag on and on and I never got round to writing about some of my gifts at all. This time, I am going to try to get them all written about before February arrives. Which should be do-able as long as I don’t allow myself to get distracted. Ha ha.

Anyway, my first present (courtesy of Mr Bat – thanks love) was something I have been eyeing up in the discount shops for a while – two packs, each containing two dolls from the Barbie Sisters range.

20131230-194712.jpg

20131230-194725.jpg

In the UK, these dolls are usually relatively expensive, but these were quite reasonable. I’m hoping they herald the arrival of more affordable Barbie Sisters, we will see. Let’s look at who we got –

20131230-221055.jpg

First off, we have the lovely Babs herself. She’s a pretty standard contemporary model with her mega-blue eyes and her Generation Girl face. I’m not a fan of this sculpt, but I don’t massively dislike it either so I’m neither pleased nor disappointed. I actually don’t have many true Barbies in my collection (most of my crew are “friends of Barbie” rather than Barbie herself) so maybe there’s a place for the odd one. She’s dressed in an extremely playline pink one-piece that’s probably meant to suggest a very glamorous riding outfit, although I don’t think her inner thighs would thank her if she tried to ride a horse in that skirt. I do not like any body type with bent arms so I’m not very pleased with her upper body, but she does have hinged knees which is always a bonus. Of course, I didn’t want this set for Barbie, though. I was attracted to this set because of her box companion, Stacie.

20131230-222140.jpg

20131230-222151.jpg

20131230-222200.jpg

I am surprised how much I like this incarnation of Stacie. I could never get on with the early nineties Stacie, who was smaller and younger than this one. However, I think this contemporary Stacie has one of the best child sculpts I have ever seen – she’s cute without being saccharin and I think she looks quite plausible and realistic. I love her “natural” colouring, the dull green eyes and the darker blonde hair. Her riding outfit is surprisingly detailed and well made, and I like it despite the girly pink and blue colour scheme. Although Stacie also suffers from “one bent arm” syndrome, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that her knees do click (I presumed that they would be solid) which almost makes up for it. The only problem with Stacie is her head, which feels wobbly and loose on her neck, making her quite difficult to pose. This is the first of a few quality control issues I have noticed with the two sets.

20131230-223805.jpg

Next we have Skipper, who is my favourite and the reason I asked for these sets in the first place. Can you believe that I have somewhere over twenty Skippers (I’m not even sure how many) and up until now, I’ve never managed to get hold of a contemporary version? I am so pleased that I have finally got one, as she’s even prettier in the plastic than she is in pictures. If I could have asked for a modern Skipper to be designed according to my taste, doubtless my Skipper would have ended up a bit like this one with her closed-mouth half smile and her dark hair. That one bent arm is still present and still getting on my nerves, even more so with Skipper as her fingers are arranged in a sort of ballet position that is going to look unnatural in almost every pose. Other than this, I can’t complain at all. Skipper and Chelsea come with a nice selection of props including a campfire and marshmallows on sticks to roast over it, and I was amused when I realised that in her other hand, Skipper is holding an iPad with a picture of a ghost on it – obviously, technology plays a role in spooky campfire ghost stories as well as everything else now.

20131230-225322.jpg

20131230-225349.jpg

20131230-225357.jpg

20131230-225419.jpg

Lastly, there’s poor little Chelsea, or “Sloth” as I’ve started to think of her as (ever watched The Goonies?) Chelsea looked sort of OK in the box with her head tilted at a certain angle, although looking back at the picture of her in the box I can see the problem straight away now I know its there. The problem being, her eye is not just wonky, its WONKY. Its the wonkiest eye I have ever seen on a doll. How did she make it into the box in this state? What were they thinking? Is this the reason that this set ended up in a discount shop? Judge for yourself:

20131230-230037.jpg

In this picture you can see a “hollow” under her left eye – this is where her eye should have been. This is a real shame, but I’d still have wanted the set for Skipper and the campfire even if I’d known about this problem. I just hope its only evident in the dolls on the discount shelves – I’d have been really annoyed if I (or Mr Bat) had paid full price for a set including a doll like this.

Anyway, regardless of the Sloth-eyed Chelsea, I have thoroughly enjoyed deboxing and photographing this set today. I used the boxes as a background for the pictures because they are just so detailed and nice to look at – playline box art just seems to get better and better.

20131230-231442.jpg

20131230-231453.jpg

20131230-231514.jpg

20131230-231522.jpg

15 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents – Barbie Sisters, A Pony Tale”

  1. Xan December 31, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Oh lord, “Sloth” used to scare me so much as a kid; in fact he might still scare me now.

    Ahem, do Skipper’s legs have click-joints like Stacie?
    I was thinking of getting some of Barbie’s little sisters but I was kind of hoping their legs would bend. (I know Chelsea’s knees don’t bend.)

    • barbielea December 31, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

      Hello Xan 🙂 yes, Skipper’s legs do bend! Considering she has clicky rather than hinged knees, they actually bend very well, I think there’s about four clicks in them. If you are looking for better articulation in your sisters, I’d recommend the Hula Dance set, which I don’t have yet although I’ve been after it for ages …

      I thought Sloth was kind of cute, tbh …

      • Xan January 2, 2014 at 2:30 am #

        Wow, I’ve seen that set in stores but I didn’t realize Skipper had articulated arms! I think I’ll get the sisters from the safari line because they come separate (I already have two Chelsea’s).

        Maybe sloth isn’t as bad as I remember, though my mom always gets excited when I watch the goonies; she says she used to have a crush on one of those boys…maybe she still does.

  2. Blackkitty December 31, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    That’s a fine present! I swear, I don’t like child dolls but I love these Skipper and Stacie! The funniest thing for me was that Stacie made the same unfortunate lip colour choice as me when I was her age. Are all preteens this clueless? Skipper is gorgeous. The face is so mature with a wonderful bone structure and the hair is perfect. But Chelsea I think is the best gift for the new year. I mean, what better incentive to retry repainting than a hopelessly wonky doll? Maybe she’ll be your motivation! Happy New Year!

    • barbielea December 31, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

      Happy New Year Kitty! I know what you mean about Stacie’s makeup, there’s also the pink eyeshadow which was pretty much de rigeur when I was about 11 … haha I suppose I could try repainting little Chelsea, its not like I’d be wrecking a nice doll or anything, I could never display her the way she is. I’ll think about it 🙂

  3. Taswegian1957 December 31, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    Skipper and Stacey would be my favourites of these as well especially Skipper. It would be nice if they would come out with a line of clothing for them as well.

    • barbielea December 31, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Hi Taswegian 🙂 as you probably know, when it comes to the 80s and 90s dolls, Skipper clothes are pretty rare and Stacey clothes are nearly impossible to find, so they’re rather collectable … wouldn’t it be great if they did release some contemporary fashion packs? I’d love to get some boxed versions to keep as well as some to mess with. Nice idea, lets hope Mattel have thought of it too …

  4. kewpie83 December 31, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    You show one of my favorite ‘new’ Skippers in this post! I can’t stand the bent arm, either!!!

    • barbielea January 1, 2014 at 7:13 pm #

      Hi Kewpie – shame about the arms, isn’t it? They’re just bizarre …

  5. Andrea January 1, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    Happy New Year!

    Great presents. Skipper is perfectly lovely. Poor Baby Slosh, that is the most wonky eye I have seen so far. Clothing for Skipper became rare iindeed, back in the days you could find some in the bigger department stores, but never in the small toy stores – they probably didn’t sell so well. So my hopes for Skipper and Stacie fashion sets are small, but hope dies last. 😀 You have to admit that skipper has great stock outfits though.

    • barbielea January 1, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

      Hi Andrea, happy New Year to you too 🙂 you’re probably right about the Skipper clothes, the Sisters have been really popular this time round though so you never know (it would be great!) Yes, Skipper does come with some nicely designed clothes, I just wish there was a better range of colour as they always seem to be a variation on hot pink and purple (nothing wrong with that, it just gets a bit samey after a while).

    • Elinor Dashwood May 30, 2014 at 4:12 am #

      Yes, that child has a seriously wonky eye. Let us be charitable, however, and decide that dolls, like real girls, all have their little idiosynchrasies. Even in Barbie World!

  6. April_n_Paris January 11, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

    Wow, you certainly got a house load of new friends. Happy New Year.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Father’s Day with Derek and Skipper | barbiebeauties - June 15, 2014

    […] “daughter” is obviously contemporary Skipper – I got this one, who is from “A Pony Tale”, at Christmas last year. My “Dad” is Dancing […]

Leave a Reply

