Lara Revisited and Generation Girls Magazine

2 Feb

Today, I was rummaging through the doll drawers and I came across my Generation Girl Lara, who I posted about some time ago. I love this doll! She was a grail for me and I was so happy when I got her. I couldn’t find her loose for a good price so I ended up going for a boxed version, which turned out to be a great move as I got a whole plethora of tiny props with her and also a copy of the Generation Girl magazine. I never included most of these in my last post so I decided that tonight was the time to come back to them. While I was at it, I took some pictures of her in her alternative outfit, which I had never even tried on her before.

20140202-213332.jpg

20140202-213444.jpg

It wasn’t easy to get Lara out of her original outfit and into the new one – as you can see, she has a little beaded bracelet around her right wrist which was just asking to get snapped. Its a nice touch but surely none of these bracelets could have survived getting played with. As you may remember, Lara’s back story is that she is an artist from Paris, and I think the two sketches you can see are meant to be GG Barbie and GG Blaine? Anyway, she also came with her boho cushion (made of the same fabric as the dress she was sold in), a little box which features the same pattern, a bottle of nail varnish, a couple of purple candles, a paintbrush, the pictures, a sketchbook and a drawing board.

The GG Magazine is full of tips on how to conduct yourself at a party, pop quizzes, makeup guidance etc – pretty standard Barbie mag stuff. I love contemporary doll pictures, and because this line is just so full of character I think that these are particularly good:

20140202-214747.jpg

20140202-214811.jpg

And I was also interested to note a whole double-page feature on the boxed outfits that were sold for this range of dolls. I’ve seen a few of them for sale (like the blue dress worn by Lara and the tracksuit worn by Tori) but others must be quite rare, as I’ve never come across them:

20140202-215150.jpg

20140202-215201.jpg

Anyway, its nice to revisit dolls I haven’t seen for a while – what’s the point in collecting stuff if you never enjoy it once you’ve got it? Its also served as a reminder for me, as I’ve still got several big holes in my Generation Girl collection which I really want to address.

20140202-220039.jpg

20140202-220049.jpg

20140202-220059.jpg

9 Responses to “Lara Revisited and Generation Girls Magazine”

  1. Taswegian1957 February 3, 2014 at 5:49 am #

    Your photos are great as always. The Gen Girls did come with some nice props. I have the first set and Blaine but would have loved the “My Room” sets which were not sold here. Surprisingly I’ve never deboxed mine but I did buy an extra Chelsie loose because I wanted one to play with.

    • barbielea February 3, 2014 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks Taswegian πŸ™‚ ahh, such willpower! They do look great in the box but I think I would have ended up opening them … I got all my GGs loose apart from this one. Lara is hard to find loose here, especially this version, so I had to go for it. I was so glad I did though. I love the My Room wave! I spent ages trying to get hold of a My Room Mariko but it never quite worked out … Maybe one day …

  2. Andrea February 4, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

    Great shots of beautiful Lara. I love her extra dress, so cute. Like Taswegian, I have the first set still boxed, but I was lucky to get loose extras to play with, most of them even with their outfits and props.

    Generation Girls was a great Line, sad that the line was so short lived. I don’t recall ever seeing those outfits in the stores though. I would have certainly wanted some for my dolls.

    Don’t give up hope on Mariko. She was nowhere to be found around here for ages, then within a couple of months Dance Party and My Room showed up on fleamarkets. I hope you can find one soon.

    • barbielea February 4, 2014 at 8:22 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ ah, that was me being unintentionally misleading! I do have My Room Mariko and Dance party too (love that sculpt) – but loose. I chased boxed versions of My Room Mariko for years, because I thought the props and the packaging were so completely cool … I never got one though, I’ll have to start hunting again. The holes in my GG collection are Anna (I have one but mine has been heavily restyled as she was wrecked) and Blaine, who I adore – I’ve bid on him loads of times, but somehow it’s just never worked out between us … I would also LOVE a My Room Chelsie, loose or boxed but preferably with that gorgeous hippie outfit. She must be really rare as I don’t think I’ve ever seen her for sale in this country …

  3. Blackkitty February 5, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    I heard about the GG long after they were gone from the stores. They were such a neat gang. Lara and Mariko are my favourites. You have great taste! I love Lara’s mysterious smile – I think it’s identical to my Fashion Fever Courtney https://www.flickr.com/photos/pattyoplenty/10695084845/sizes/l/in/pool-69486760@N00/

    • barbielea February 5, 2014 at 10:59 am #

      Haha, thanks Blackitty! I think Mariko and Lara are my favourites too, although I do like them all … Your Courtney shares a sculpt with Lara, Lara being the first time this particular head was ever used, and of course she’s gone on to be such a favourite with collectors. I’ve often thought that those Fashion Fever Courtneys could have been Lara after she grew up and left school, they have such similar colour and style.

      I too missed out on GG in the shops – sadly, this was because at the time I was in denial about being a collector and constantly telling myself that I needed to grow up and stop buying dolls. Back then, there was no Internet to share with other people, and I didn’t know any other collectors. I kick myself when I think if those wasted opportunities!

      • Blackkitty February 6, 2014 at 10:15 am #

        That’s exactly my feeling! Mattel dolls were so much cooler BEFORE I started collecting. Now it’s hard to find an outstanding doll because they are all too “been there, done that”.

  4. Teresa B. February 7, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    Beautiful pics of your Lara. I have Tori, I found her second hand. I was debating not getting her but I loved the little blue streaks in her hair. And she cleaned up pretty nice too! πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you’ll fill those gaps soon. They seem to pop up here and there every so often πŸ™‚

    • barbielea February 7, 2014 at 9:57 pm #

      Thanks Teresa πŸ™‚ Tori has a big soppy smile which isn’t usually my thing, but I do like her a lot – I think I have about four Toris, in various states from pristine to completely wrecked and in need of a full do-over! Maybe one day … so many dolls, so little time *sigh*

Leave a Reply

