Electric Love – Valentine’s Day With Voltageous

14 Feb

Its turning into the Monster High Show round here, isn’t it? I promise I will get back to my favourite girl soon, but tonight I got a lovely Valentine’s day gift from Mr Bat and I am eager to show her off.

20140214-220833.jpg

Yep, I got Voltageous (and several others – it seems that my love has been seized by a fit of extravagant generosity, bless him). It turned out to be a completely appropriate choice too, as at the moment the UK is being battered of a series of evil storms.

I was never sure about this doll, which seems absolutely loony to me now I have her. Like my Poulter Girl, she has a lot of bits of plastic going on, and I don’t much care for FUSS. But really, in the plastic its not as bad as I thought. In fact, its very good. She has those strange plastic wings that are really a necklace, but really they are rather original and lovely – they make Frankie look kind of like a supercharged angel. And the winged headband actually has a bit of a Greek Mythology vibe going on.

20140214-221408.jpg

Facially and hairwise, this is one of my favourite kind of Frankies. I much prefer this kind of Frankie hair, with wide bands of black and white running through it, over the variegated grey we sometimes get (this is probably just as well, as its a common feature in all the current-release Frankies I have seen). Her face paint is nice and bold too – I love the bright red lip, which contrasts so nicely with her colour scheme.

What particularly pleased me about this doll, though, was the complete absence of a fashion/ boys theme. Don’t get me wrong, I like fashion (and boys are OK too). But the comic strip she comes with is kind of x-men lite, and as I read it I was thinking about how nice it is to get away from the presumption that boys and fashion are ALL the girls are interested in. Its also also nice to get a major doll line focussing on something as geeky (and traditionally boy-dominated) as comic book themes. Another hats off too – I know I’ve said it before but honestly, opening a box as beautiful as this was a difficult task, even for a prolific deboxer like me –

20140214-222921.jpg

20140214-223309.jpg

Finally, Frankie’s in-built alter-ego:

20140214-223401.jpg

20140214-223414.jpg

I have no idea if, in play, girls are meant to “transform” this doll into a mild-mannered monster by removing her lightning wings and her headband, but that would seem to make sense. Especially because her dress “transforms” too – there’s a piece of lightning-patterned fabric at the waist which can be velcro’d round the back of the body to hide it, which kind of made me chuckle because it reminded me of my Super Sindy, who has the worst alter-ego disguise in the world (but I love her anyway).

Anyhoo, I hope you have had a wonderful Valentine’s day too, whatever the weather is like where you are x

6 Responses to “Electric Love – Valentine’s Day With Voltageous”

  1. discodiva1979 February 15, 2014 at 5:38 am #

    WoW! What a nice surprise! She reminds me of Lily from Munsters. I must have her!

    • barbielea February 15, 2014 at 11:34 am #

      Hi Discodiva πŸ™‚ Yes, she has a real “Bride of Frankenstein” look about her, doesn’t she? I think that’s why I like the black and white haired Frankies more than the grey Frankies (although its nice to have some variety, so I wouldn’t want to see the grey-haired girls disappear completely from future releases). I hope you enjoy her as much as I do, she’s a great doll!

      • kewpie83 February 15, 2014 at 6:15 pm #

        I didn’t notice the bride of frankenstein look until you guys pointed it out! She’s not my favorite Frankie, but your pictures make her look great!

      • barbielea February 15, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

        Thanks very much Kewpie πŸ™‚

  2. Andrea February 16, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

    Congrats on getting Frankie. She is really cute with this hair scheme. One more for my wish list, lol.

Leave a Reply

