So In Style Part 14 – Pet Fun with Trichelle and Janessa

15 Feb

I still love So In Style, but I don’t buy them as often as I would like. Not many SIS waves go on sale in the UK, you see. I am so pleased that Baby Phat, which was one of my favourite waves so far, appeared in the UK (for reasonable prices too) and it would be great if that happened again some time soon. In the meantime, my only way of getting hold of these dolls is to import them, which usually more than doubles the price of the doll.

Still, there are sometimes bargains to be had, even in an import situation. I recently managed to source Pet Fun Trichelle and Janessa for not much more than her RRP would have been here. Here they are:

20140215-182030.jpg

20140215-182159.jpg

I love the use of colour and pattern in this set, and the fact that Trichelle is articulated. I have articulated examples of all the other SIS from the Baby Phat wave, but of course Trichelle was not featured in this. My buying choices were this doll or their companions from this wave, Hair Fun Grace and Courtney and as I already have a little Courtney, I thought I’d go from the set with the Janessa in. I also wanted to see how I would feel about the new-look, straight-haired Trichelle.

20140215-182800.jpg

I must say, when she arrived I was rather shocked when I realised just how different she is in this wave. To be honest, I struggled to recognise her. Gone are all her trademark features – the long socks, the natural hair, the side-glancing eyes, the dark lips. There have also been more subtle changes made to her colouring – her hair seems a little lighter and her eyes no longer have that little undertint of hazel-ish red. Like a lot of other people I was glad to see some new ideas in the line last year, as things had been getting a little stale. But I just think that too many of this doll’s identifying features have been taken away and she is no longer instantly recognisable. This instant identifiability is particularly important because SIS is a line of five dolls who all use exactly the same face sculpt – they HAVE to be distinct, what’s the point of having five characters in the first place if they are all interchangeable? Real girls change their makeup and hairstyle, so there’s no reason why Trichelle couldn’t I suppose – I just think that maybe changes should have been introduced one at a time, wave to wave. Here’s New Trichelle with some of my older girls so you can see the differences for yourself:

20140215-194038.jpg

20140215-194024.jpg

Anyway, Trichelle’s outfit is just as nice as I thought it would be (and Janessa’s coordinating look too) so I have no complaints on that front, although on reflection I think I prefer Hair Fun Grace’s sexier shorts set. The theme of this set is that Trichelle and Janessa have adopted a puppy from the animal rescue, while the puppy and its little basket and food bowl are not brilliantly executed, its a nice little active play idea.

On to Janessa. She’s OK, but to be honest I don’t like her as much as my little Courtney – for starters, her face paint doesn’t look sharp as it should be to me. Also, as much as I like her brightly coloured, girly dress I think that the designer should have avoided puffed sleeves, as they make her shoulders look too high, which accentuates her slightly awkward straight-limbed pose.

20140215-194149.jpg

All in all? I have no regrets about buying as New Trichelle is certainly very pretty and there’s definitely plenty of other nice things about this set. However, I’m really hoping that in future waves, continuity of character is given a bit more consideration.

20140215-194352.jpg

11 Responses to “So In Style Part 14 – Pet Fun with Trichelle and Janessa”

  1. April_n_Paris February 15, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    Wow, I didn’t know you could buy the SIS dolls in the UK. They are so cheap in the US. At 8-12 USD a piece, I have a house load of these girls. Personally I am disappointed they have stopped making the dolls with the natural hair. And you are right, if they make the 5 girls undistinguishable, what’s the point. The doll you’ve pictured looks very much like Kara. On the other hand, the SIS dolls are still quite gorgeous.

    • barbielea February 16, 2014 at 9:53 am #

      Hello April πŸ™‚ Yes, there have been two waves sold over here – about three years ago, John Lewis (a Dept store, don’t know if you have them?) stocked the first-wave Rocha dolls and last year, British eBay sellers were stocking Baby Phat dolls. They were on sale for between Β£11 and Β£16, which is normal price for a playline doll over here – how wonderful to be able to pick up these marvellous dolls for a fraction of that! There is some hope though, a few dolls from the Animal Print wave are available online from UK sellers and recently I saw the Prom dolls on eBay for Β£10, I missed them and am waiting to see if more turn up (please please please!)

      I am so with you on the issue of Trichelle’s natural hair, its so gorgeous and I hope we see more of it. And you are right, this one does look more like Kara than Trichelle, but I’ve noticed that in the Prom wave Trichelle is at least back to being curly with a side glance – she has wide ringlets rather than natural hair, but she looks more like herself again! Best wishes πŸ™‚

  2. Blackkitty February 16, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    I had no idea the SIS dolls had the same sculpt. I wish I could see them in real life. This Trichelle is very pretty, although nothing like the others. Even the eyebrows are different. I love the nude lipstick though and the overall youthful look.

    • barbielea February 16, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

      Hi Blackkitty, are they nowhere to be found in your Country at all? That’s a real shame, at least I can get hold of SOME. I really like the peachy, nude lips myself! And I think this on its own would have been a perfect change to make. I do prefer her hair natural or in ringlets, though.

      • Blackkitty February 16, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

        We have exactly one black citizen and he’s male. I think they figured we don’t have a market for black dolls, although Nikkis are in stock and they sell well. It’s a shame, SIS are probably the most creative line from Mattel’s normal headed dolls nowadays.

      • barbielea February 16, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

        Made me laugh! I think they are some of the best playline available too – much better dressed than Fashionistas usually

  3. Andrea February 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    I would love to get my hands on one of the SIS dolls, for a reasonable price that is. They don’t sell in my country either, at least I never saw them in stores.

    By the way there is a new playline Ballerina Lea on the store shelves. I just snatched her up this week. She will need a new body, so I hunting for a body donor.

    • barbielea February 16, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

      Another one 😦 I just don’t understand why Mattel don’t market these dolls more widely.

      My doll friend warned me in advance about that Lea – I can’t wait! I’ve looked for her in the shops round here and also on Amazon and eBay UK just now – nothing yet so I will keep looking. Congratulations, what do you think of her?

      • Andrea February 17, 2014 at 9:30 am #

        Mattels distribution of dolls will probably always remain one of the unsolved mysteries of the world. We have lots of black citizens and a lot of collectors hunt for the black dolls, so the dolls would sell. I don’t get it either.

        As for Lea, I got a girl from China and she has a very nice and lovely expression on her face. No glittery eyeshadow this time, thank heavens. Her face paint is pretty natural and she is sporting a sideswept ponytail this time. There even was a choice of her on the shelf, so I could pick out the best. Luckily none had wonky eyes, but some had odd black marks on their faces. I hope you find yours soon.

        That ballerina body is ridiculous for a dancer, stiff legs and arms. At least the arms are in ballet pose. She is so in for a body change.

        Keep safe from those storms, I hope they are not too close to you.

      • barbielea February 17, 2014 at 11:38 am #

        She sounds fantastic! Its a shame there isn’t better quality control, I know these dolls are just about as far down the fancy ladder as you can get but they’re still very beautiful, its such a shame about the black marks issue. You might remember that I got three of the last ballerina, my first developed an irremovable black mark on her face over time, I thought that maybe it was a contaminant in the plastic.

        I quite liked the glittery eyeshadow myself, but I’m glad that there is a different “look” on this doll. I can’t wait to find her! I’m planning on getting at least two again, one to keep as sold and one to rebody on a Fashionista (although these bodies are becoming more scarce and expensive now, boo). Thanks for the info Andrea πŸ™‚

        Sent from my iPad

        >

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So In Style Part 15 – Prom Queen Trichelle | barbiebeauties - January 24, 2015

    […] Trichelle usually has very dark lips, so it’s an interesting change. However, unlike the pivotal version I bought a while back, she is still […]

Leave a Reply

