Barbiebeauties Liebster Award

16 Mar

So, I’ve been awarded this:

20140315-192527.jpg

By Kewpie83 of the wonderful “Confessions of a Doll Collector’s Daughter“. Basically, what I’ve been asked to do here is answer 11 questions, tag up to 11 other blogs and write some questions for them to answer too. I don’t talk about myself very much on here (I barely have enough time to talk about the dolls I want to talk about, without getting into other stuff) but as at least half of the questions are doll related, I thought that I would give it a go – plus, of course it was very nice and thoughtful to ask me so I couldn’t turn it down. Here goes:

1- What’s one doll you didn’t get during your childhood that you loved enough to buy as an adult or are actively trying to buy currently?

When I was a child, I just had one Barbie, Pretty Changes, who I still own. I remember going round to visit a girl who had the Dream House and loads of other Barbie stuff, and I really envied her Barbie Poodle, Prince. I bought a Prince to add to my collection a few years ago, you can see a post about him here.

One thing I really wanted that I HAVENT bought as a collector was a Cabbage Patch Kid. I wanted one so badly! I was about nine or ten when they came out, and my parents thought that I was too old for dolls/ wouldn’t play with it anyway/ it was a rip-off (of course, it was the “smash hit” toy of the year so prices were through the roof). I was obsessed. I used to lie awake for hours imagining what my CPK would look like when I got her – I remember that feeling and I believe that its basically the same feeling I get now when I really, really want something to add to my collection πŸ™‚ I did chores for pennies to try and raise the money myself, but after working hard for what seemed like an age to me (it was probably a month or so) I had only managed to collect Β£7 and they were selling for Β£20. Sadly, I gave up on the idea and I never did get a CPK. Nowadays, I could afford one, but I haven’t been tempted so far. Maybe that will change in future, who knows?

2- If you could have a vacation home anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Am I allowed to choose a yacht (or even better, a private plane?) That way, I could visit loads of places. That will have to do, actually, as I’d be here all day if I had to choose one particular place. I’m too indecisive.

3- Do you collect in box or out of box?

SO out of box. For various reasons, I have a few boxed dolls, but they make my fingers itch. After buying the Disney Designer Villains, which live in my bedroom and tempt me to open them every single day, I made a vow – no more in-the-box dolls, ever.

20140315-175851.jpg

4- What is your favorite TV program?

I don’t really watch TV these days, I have so many other things that I prefer to do. The only two shows that I have bothered with recently have been True Blood and Game of Thrones (love them both). Overall, I think that Twin Peaks is probably my favourite programme of all time – I was a teenager when it was first shown and I’ve watched it several times since. Genius.

20140315-181503.jpg

5- How long do you usually wait before buying a doll? (ie: Do you jump on it the moment you see it or do you wait?)

I can never really figure this out. Sometimes, I really want something yet I hang on and on for no particular reason then end up getting it loads later, or maybe never at all. Other times, I buy things instantly, without even considering waiting. I think its mostly dependent on my state of mind – how much I feel like buying a new doll – and also, of course, how much money I have available πŸ™‚ I do think that over the last twelve months or so I have got better at waiting for the prices to drop.

6- What’s your favorite color?

My favourite colour is somewhere in between blue and green. I’ve realised recently that its pretty similar to the colour of Frankie Stein’s skin.

20140315-180204.jpg

7- What is the ideal doll collection to you?

You had to go and ask, didn’t you? I have a very specific and complicated doll storage and display fantasy which I am now going to have to relate to you. My ideal collection would be stored in a large, square white room with a big picture window opposite the door. I would have white cupboards with doors about three feet high covering all the wallspace not taken up by the window and doors (for storing boxed dolls, boxes props etc). Above them, up to the ceiling, I would have shelves 40cm high for display, some with glass doors on the front to protect my more delicate items, and custom shallow drawers (a bit like the specimen drawers you see in museums) for storage of dolls who are not being displayed. Some of the shelves I thought I could convert into a sort of “doll’s house”, you know, put scaled wallpaper at the back, furniture on them etc. I don’t display many of my dolls right now as a) other people are living in this space too and b) I prefer to keep my collection relatively private – but I reckon if I had a whole room just devoted to dolls, I could do as I pleased. Anyway, I could go on like this for at least another couple of paragraphs but I suppose its time to wrestle myself back to Planet Earth …

8- Who is your celebrity look a like?

In my youth, I was occasionally compared to PJ Harvey:

20140315-183359.jpg

And Sean Young:

20140315-183520.jpg

And more recently, a group of little scamps shouted “hey, its Ugly Betty” at me when I had lost a contact lense and had to go out in my glasses:

20140315-183740.jpg

But really, I don’t think I look like any of them.

9- What’s your opinion of ‘Reborns’?

Truth? They terrify me. I doubt I would be able to sleep with one in the room. Its no coincidence that most of my dolls do not look particularly realistic and even if they do, they are too small to be mistaken for living things (except for in the occasional photo, as I’ve been told on my Instagram account). But seriously – if you love them, go you! – that’s fantastic. I’m a big believer in indulging your passions, as long as you’re not hurting anybody you should go for it.

10- What’s your favorite book?

Yet again, another thing I’m completely indecisive about! I read a lot and I have thousands of books. Can I pick five, please? (well, I’m the one answering so of course I can). In no particular order, I’d say:

* Wuthering Heights by Charlotte Bronte
* Watership Down by Richard Adams
* And The Ass Saw The Angel by Nick Cave
* The Stand by Stephen King
* Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

11-What is the biggest misconception about the doll collecting hobby?

Hmmm. I’d say, that its a really unusual thing for an adult to do. As I’ve said before, I read somewhere that its one of the biggest non-sports-related hobbies in America and although I’ve not seen any specific statistics, I wouldn’t be surprised if this turned out to be the case in a lot of other places in the world. And I believe that its a hobby that’s growing in popularity too, thanks to the internet and photo sharing sites. These days, its so easy to source collectable dolls and join an online community. Soon, we will take over the world hahahahaha ….

Anyhoo … I would like to pass this award on to:

* Dolls Dolls Dolls
* The Multicrafteral Lab
*The Barbie Blog
* Pixiecollections

And here’s my questions for you:

1. Do you have a “go-to” doll – if I said the word “doll” to you, which of your dolls would you picture? (me: Cali Girl Lea, obviously)

2. Doll people tend to be crafty. What was your last non-doll craft project? (Me: probably the last drawing diary I did, which was a while ago now)

3. Are you a pet person? Do you have a pet and if not, is there a pet you would like to have? (me: I’ve got too many of the bloody things but I love them all)

4. If you were a character from the film “The Breakfast Club”, which one would you be? (If you have not seen The Breakfast Club, you have to watch it before answering this question. Its compulsory :))

5. How do you feel about Ever After High? (me: still not committed to a firm opinion yet, but warming to them)

6. If you got offered a chance to go work in the toy industry in some capacity, would you take it? (me: depends. If I could still pay my bills and I didn’t have to relocate, I’d give it a go)

7. What would you rather be, Country Bumpkin or City Slicker? (Me: Countryside in most instances)

8. Model Muse or Fashionista? (me; Fashionista all the way)

9. Do you talk to casual acquaintances about your hobby – is it something you would happily mention the first or second time you met somebody? (me: no, not really – its a big thing for me to talk about it – I’m always interested in how other collectors deal with this)

10. What’s your favourite thing about collecting? (me: taking and editing pictures – I love it, its like doing magic)

11. If you had to pick one meal that you would have to eat forever from now on, what would it be? (me: crispy duck pancakes with hoi sin sauce and cucumbers and spring onions – followed by my Mum’s apple crumble and custard – I reckon there would be just about enough fruit and veg for me to avoid scurvy, which would be nice, and I don’t think I’d ever get so bored of it I couldn’t eat it any more)

Hey, I’ve listed four blog writers but if anybody else wants to answer anything, that would be nice too … leave me a comment.

Thanks again Kewpie πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “Barbiebeauties Liebster Award”

  1. kewpie83 March 16, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    What great answers!!!! I loved hearing your CPK story and totally agree with your vow to never collect in box! I originally was going to go with all doll type questions, but then I thought, it’s so interesting to learn about the stuff we usually don’t hear about. πŸ™‚

    • barbielea March 17, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

      Hi Kewpie πŸ™‚ they were fine questions! I have no objection to talking about RL stuff. I tell you what though, I found the questions quite hard to write when it was my turn to do it!

  2. Teresa B. March 17, 2014 at 8:14 pm #

    Thank you thank you thank you for nominating me! πŸ™‚ This will be fun! Loved your answers. And I feel the same way about a vacation home. Too many awesome places to visit, I couldn’t pick just one.

    • barbielea March 17, 2014 at 11:09 pm #

      Awwww nice to hear that you’re playing, Teresa! I look forward to reading your answers πŸ™‚

  3. Taswegian1957 March 18, 2014 at 7:23 am #

    Thank you for the nomination. I’ve enjoyed reading the questions and answers and I’ll be posting mine very soon (as soon as I’ve reminded myself who the characters in The Breakfast Club were :))

    • barbielea March 18, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

      That Breakfast Club one wS naughty of me, wasn’t it? Sorry πŸ™‚ thanks for playing Taswegian I really enjoyed reading yours too!

  4. Andrea March 18, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    I think this is a fun way of getting to know each other better.

    I’m so with you on reborns and dolls that look too realistic, but to each his own. I I would also opt for a private plane to go to all the wonderful spots on this planet.

    I would like to play, if you don’t mind. I’d hav to put it in the comments though, since I don’t blog. Let me know.

    • barbielea March 18, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

      Of course Andrea!! That would be fantastic. I was kind of hoping you’d offer, you’re such an enigma πŸ™‚ it would be nice to hear a bit more about you!

  5. Andrea March 21, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

    So here are my answers:

    1. A “go-to” doll is a tough one, it is so hard to pick just one. I’ll give you my all time favorite doll and my favourite modern face mold. Pretty Growing Hair Barbie will be my all time favorite, she was my favorite childhood Barbie. My favorite modern doll mold is Lea
    and my favorite Lea would be Fashion Fever MT Asian.

    2. Making tons of throw pillows for my youngest daughters daybed. Fixing up an old CD chest of drawers with crackle paint in ivory and gold with decoupaged roses.

    3. I can’t remember a time, when I didn’t have at least one cat. So yes, we do have a cat, who rules the house and is my constant shadow. I love it, when he purrs me to sleep, so relaxing.

    4. The brainy kid, but with a little touch of princess.

    5. You definitely enabled me to get Madeline and I got Raven for Christmas, but I’m still trying to figure out if I want more of them. If I will, it would be Cerise Hood and Dexter Charming, though I don’t know if they made him a doll yet.

    6. I’d love to give that a try, but I don’t think this would work for me, because I can’t imagine being creative on a schedule. Also having to meet a deadline in my creative endeavors freaks me out. On the other side I consider it very tempting to “play” around with dolls with all the professional possibillities ( material and tools ) of doll making at your fingertips.

    7. I was born in the country, spent my teens and early twens in major cities, and became a country bumpkin again when I had my kids. I love living in the country, but do enjoy the occasional shopping spree in a big city.

    8. Both. I love to display a well dressed Model Muse in my showcases, but nothing can top the fashionistas for play.

    9. No, I like to keep it private. Of course the people we made closer friendships with know about it, but I don’t offer that information to total strangers.

    10. I do get a thrill out of restoring dolls, but I love to take pictures as well, not that I would be a great photographer anyway. What thrils me the most is the creative part of our hobby and the variety of creative techniques that can be adapted to dolly needs. Call me mad doll scientist. πŸ˜€

    11. I’m not good at limitations as far as food is concerned, lol. Filled bell peppers with rice and salad is my all time favorite since childhood. But honestly I think even your most favorite dish turns into a nightmare, if you have to eat only that for the rest of your life.

    I hope that makes me a little less enigmatic. πŸ˜‰

    • barbielea March 21, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

      Nothing wrong with being enigmatic! But yes, that was very interesting – great answers πŸ™‚ I heard a rumour that Dexter Charming will be coming out this summer (so probably closer to Christmas for us Europeans) so you will probably get your EAH wish ….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wow! I got a Liebster Award! | Dolls, Dolls, Dolls - March 18, 2014

    […] This is the first time I’ve received any kind of WordPress Award. Thank you Barbielea. […]

Leave a Reply

