Lea 31 – Camp Rock Tess

18 Mar

We’ve been too long without a Lea. MUCH too long. The problem has been this – after my tenth and twentieth featured Lea I did some fancy group shots. However, recently I’ve found that I’m just not motivated to do this any more and I don’t have enough time anyway. I’ve still been feeling kind of obscurely guilty about dropping it, though, and consequently I’ve kind of dragged my heels with doing posts about my favourite girl … well, no more. I need my Leas back!

Tonight’s Lea, Camp Rock Tess from 2009, was relatively high up on my hit-list and a lovely dolly friend helped me to find her. Blonde Leas are not hugely common, and for a long time I’d admired photos of her. I love her eyes, which are a very beautiful shade of blue and work so nicely with her colouring. Strangely, when my dolly friend wrote to me about her, he basically said “meh, she’s OK, not that pretty …” I thought, huh? We usually have similar tastes so I was surprised we didn’t agree about this one.

Then she turned up and I thought that I could see what he meant.

(This is the problem when I leave dolls for too long before posting about them – I’ve lost the photos I took of her in the box, you can see somebody else’s pic of this doll here if you are interested)

What I’d not realised was that Tess comes on a modern tween body, the ones that were used for the High School Musical dolls. Its a very strange and rather unflattering combination! I thought that her headmold looked much too old and slightly too big for this body. She did not look pretty, she looked odd. Added to this was the fact that her body encorporated a gizmo that made her sing (I hate this, they always do it unexpectedly when you’re handling them). i knew that I was going to have to change it.

I thought a Fashionista might actually make her head look too small, so I ended up putting her on a LIV. I think that this worked out great because its a smaller body than a full-size Barbie, in keeping with her teen theme. I also washed her hair through a little – it was stiff with that crazy gel stuff and (unlike the doll in the picture above) had a very round curl at the bottom which was not flattering either. I think she looks much better now, and happily her original outfit still fits her, although her three quarter length leggings are more like pedal pushers on her. Do you like her? I am very pleased. Thanks doll friend xxx

20140318-222019.jpg

20140318-222026.jpg

20140318-222041.jpg

20140318-222051.jpg

20140318-222102.jpg

8 Responses to “Lea 31 – Camp Rock Tess”

  1. Chicovintage March 19, 2014 at 10:06 am #

    Wow! She looks much better now, for sure! I am happy because you love her and somehow, you have done her “yours”, unique. She rocks that body (an “adult” body would made her head look “jibarized”) or shrinked) and the hair looks silky smooth, so shiny… True friends are always there for you, and you trluly are, Lea, I love this post and your reference made me feel much better in this dark time, thanks so much.

    • barbielea March 19, 2014 at 10:08 pm #

      I’m glad you approve! Her hair still has some gunk in it but it looks better now it’s not completely solid I think. You’re a darling and I’m thinking of you and wishing you well xxx

  2. Taswegian1957 March 19, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    Oh yes, she looks much better with this body. You have done a great job with her.

  3. Sandra March 19, 2014 at 8:13 pm #

    I bought two of these dolls a while back through a contact in Europe. I was sad to discover she had the tween body as well. I tried to rebody her onto a Fashionista body but the head hole was too small. I might have to get a hold of a Liv doll and try this. I think I have one of the heads somewhere and the other doll intact… somewhere. Thanks for reminding me of her. Yours is gorgeous now and the hair restyle is the best. Great blog post!!

    • barbielea March 19, 2014 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks Sandra πŸ™‚ Ah, so a Fashionista wouldn’t have worked anyway? Strange, I’ve seen HSM Sharpei rebodied onto a Fashionista (personally, I didn’t like it – as Chico said, I thought it made her head looked too shrunken) and I would have thought the Sharpei head would be a similar size to this one … Well, the LIV neck fitted Tess’ head with no issues so yes, I recommend giving it a go!

  4. Andrea March 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    She is beautiful and the LIV body fits loke a glove.

    I never met that beauty in our stores, otherwise I would have snatched her immediately.

Leave a Reply

