Adventures in Rebodying Seven – Birthstone Beauty

22 Mar

We are a little bit late for this post – well, Birthstone Beauty is still OK as she’s good for the whole of March, but I really should have featured Pisces Barbie a few days ago, before we moved into Aries … Oh well.

You may remember that last year, I made a promise that I would definitely have rebodied these dolls next time I photographed them – well, I half stuck to this. I’m not a huge fan of Model Muse bodies and I really wanted to give Birthstone in particular more poseability. As her original outfit is cute as hell, I wanted her to still be able to wear it, which ruled out a Fashionista (too wide through the hips for her pencil skirt). I put her on a LIV which I thought worked out well – OK, she now has monkey hands and feet that don’t fit her original shoes, but on the other hand she can throw all kinds of shapes … here she is in Barbie Fashion (I’ve forgotten which set, isn’t that awful?):

20140322-221021.jpg

Her beautiful Mbili Piscean friend is the one that got left behind. I did mean to find an SIS Chandra to rebody her with, but I never got round to it. I don’t mind, she still looks cute on her original body:

20140322-221159.jpg

20140322-221221.jpg

Every time I get these dolls out, I am surprised all over again by how gorgeous they are. My favourite thing about Birthstone is her beautiful, old-fashioned side-glancing eyes. I love Mbili’s super-long ponytail with the golden highlights. No doubt they will be back next March …

20140322-225237.jpg

20140322-225301.jpg

20140322-225356.jpg

20140322-225410.jpg

9 Responses to “Adventures in Rebodying Seven – Birthstone Beauty”

  1. Andrea March 24, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

    They are both very beautiful dolls. I couln’t resist the Zodiac dolls and Birthstone Beauties as well. When I got my AA Zodiacs, I found it hard to take decent pictures of them, you managed to get some very nice ones.

    Bummer, that the Birthstone Beauty skirt is too tight for the Fashionista body. The LIV dolls knee joints are my pet peeve with these bodies. To me they look a little robotic, but since your main point is to have the Lady articulated and still use her original outfit, it’s perfect for your needs.

    • barbielea March 27, 2014 at 9:56 am #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ like Chandra from the SIS range, Zodiac’s skin is unusually dark for a Barbie – I’ve found with both these dolls, strong natural daylight is the best way to get OK pictures and even then it’s hit and miss! I know that those LIV knees don’t have many fans πŸ™‚ but I really don’t mind them – I actually think they’re quite cute really! Still, I won’t try to tell you that I don’t fantasize about the day when technology advances to a point where we can have fully poseable joints covered with plastic “skin”. I vaguely remember reading something about somebody doing tests of this kind of joint (or was that wishful thinking??). Thanks Andrea!

  2. Medina March 26, 2014 at 6:49 am #

    I love these rebodying posts, they’re more helpful than you know!
    If you find the time, I’d love to get your opinion on a few heads that I adore, but I’m having trouble rebodying due to skin tone.
    1970s Malibu Francie & Barbie (which are the same weird tanned color)
    1976 Ballerina Barbie – the one with white hair and very pale skin.
    I would love articulated ideas, for now the ballerina is using a pale model muse body.

    • barbielea March 26, 2014 at 8:42 am #

      Hi Medina πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear that these post are of use! Hmm. Those Vintage girls can be hard to find modern matches for as the vinyl colour is a pinker hue than it is today. I’ve looked at some pics and I have some suggestions but I can’t say what would work best for definite as I’ve not tried it (yet). First, Malibu Barbie and Francie – you might get away with a modern mid-coloured Fashionista (Barbie) in terms of colour match but I think this is a long shot and also these bodies might look too grown-up for these dolls (they have young faces and although it’s hard for me to tell just from photos as I don’t own these dolls, the heads look quite small). Steffie Loves do articulated dolls now (if you are interested, search for “Steffie Loves Mom and Babies” that’s one, comes with a dog and puppies) and I’ve been meaning to check these out as a potential colour match for older dolls, as Steffie tends to be slightly pinker than Barbie – I think that this is a good bet for you. Moving on to your Ballerina, a LIV wouldn’t be pink enough (or, I think, delicate enough!) for this doll. I would recommend that you have a look among the contemporary Disney Store Princess dolls, these have articulated arms and wrists and a good range of colours, they are also smallish and I think the body type would suit her. The only issue is that I’ve not tried a rebody with Steffie Love or Disney Princesses yet, so I don’t know about neck width compatibility or head anchor arrangements, I have no reason to believe that either of these things would be an issue but I can’t 100% guarantee it either! Good luck with it anyway, hope this is useful πŸ™‚

      • Medina March 26, 2014 at 1:58 pm #

        Yes, unfortunately, the Malibu heads are slightly smaller, so on the Fashionista bodies (which are my favorite to use) they look really too unusual even though the skin tone is a pretty good match 😦
        I’m definitely going to look into Steffie Love though, I’ve never heard of her before πŸ˜€
        And I hadn’t thought of using a Disney Store doll for the Ballerina, but that’s a good idea. I just hate their legs! They are bow-legged and they sit with legs wide open. I actually own Snow White, and I bought her to put her head on a Muse body, which turned out being perfect for a more grown-up version. Just tried out the combo, and it absolutely works, so maybe I’ll just pose her standing with a dress on to cover the awkward legs LoL
        Last question, I promise!
        Any thoughts on a jointed body for 1974 Malibu Christie? I know of an Integrity body that would probably be perfect, but it’s so expensive!
        Thanks so much for your reply and valuable input, I don’t know any doll collectors in my area, so I don’t ever really get to compare notes πŸ˜€

      • barbielea March 27, 2014 at 10:11 am #

        Hi Medina. The colour match between your Malibus and Fashionistas is OK? Well I never would have thought it! That’s interesting, thanks πŸ™‚ re: the Disney bodies, I only have Mother Gothel with this body type (unboxed, anyway) and I hadn’t noticed bow legs or sitting issues, however her legs are very slender and somewhat soft and rubbery … I think the slenderness might suit your ballerina, as for the bow legs I presume that they have deformed from standing in the box because the vinyl is too soft. You’ll probably know that this happens with old Barbies sometimes too. I have read that sometimes you can get rid of the bow if you put a piece of dowling or some other heat resistant straight object between her legs and bind them to it with something soft like cotton ribbon to pull them straight, then repeatedly pour just-boiled water over them, then leave her to dry still trussed up. Never tried this though. Agree that Disney need to try harder with the legs , I know they are usually covered by long skirts on these dolls but it’s no excuse for shoddiness.

      • barbielea March 27, 2014 at 10:23 am #

        Oh yes, Malibu Christie … That’s a toughie. Again she is a doll I don’t own so it’s hard to judge her exact skin colour, as they photograph differently under different lights. Have you compared her to a Baby Phat Chandra (the darkest articulated playline body I know of). If not, you are in the same position as me with my Collection One Goddess sculpt Basic, who I adore (but she has a “two bent arms” MM body type, which I hate). I’ve been meaning to look at Tiana from the contemporary Disney Princess range to see if she might suit, but it’s a long shot I think. The only other idea I have is a Flavas doll (produced in the late nineties, you can still pick them up second hand) called Kiyoni – she has dark skin that might match, but no articulated wrists, slightly shorter than Barbie and has flat “flipper feet” (they fit beach feet Barbie shoes). Good luck with it anyway – please feel free to ask or comment anytime πŸ™‚

  3. roro April 12, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

    at last blog with some good photos with my fav filtres;-) rebodying is so much fun!!!

Leave a Reply

