Scaremester Catrine

12 Apr

You might have gathered that just recently, I’ve been feeling quite conflicted about Monster High – they soak up all my available doll money, they use up my gift privileges and they fill up my doll drawers (yes, they do it magnificently but I’m now on my way to needing to allocate a third drawer for these dolls) and frankly, sometimes I just get tired of longing for more. I call it “MH buying fatigue”. Recently, Mr Bat offered to buy me either Black Carpet Clawdeen or Cleo, my two favourite dolls from this range, and I actually turned him down (of course, I regretted it like hell later – like I said, conflicted).

HOWEVER. (Isn’t there always a “however”?) I ended up getting this Catrine, despite my best intentions, because when I saw her in the shops I realised that actually, she is bloody marvellous.

20140412-215035.jpg

Initially, I’d intended to avoid her because I wasn’t sure that this doll was a big enough departure from the first wave. When I’ve done a comparison (sorry I can’t show this on photos, I’m away at the Parents again tonight so I don’t have my first-wave doll to hand) its true that the facial colouring is pretty similar. The main difference is the eye makeup, which is a calmer lavender on this doll instead of the hot pink used on Catrine Mark One. But this small difference actually makes a big difference in the plastic. Its an amazing look. She’s one of the all-out prettiest Monster High dolls I have ever seen.

20140412-220135.jpg

That said, the main thing I noticed when I saw Scaremester Catrine in the shops was her ungelled hair. The last Catrine had a rock-hard curl at the bottom of her hair, and I know a lot of people washed this out but I never decided whether I wanted to or not (I’m often wary of changing factory styles and am currently having the same dilemma with my Freshwater Lagoona). The ungelled hair of Scaremester Catrine looks much softer and nicer, and it certainly feels better.

I was surprised, too, at how much I liked her outfit. When I’d seen photos, I’d thought it looked rather dull but there’s actually an interesting use of different fabrics – her dress has metallic purple stripes and her little sweater top is kind of felty. Like the last Catrine, her accessories are beautifully detailed:

20140412-221336.jpg

And she has a bow on her tail. A bow on her Goddamn tail! A bow with a cat’s head skullette in the middle of it on her Goddamn tail! This blew me away.

20140412-222233.jpg

20140412-222302.jpg

When I was thinking about who my favourite Monster High Characters were (I decided Frankie first – of course – and Spectra second) Catrine was only looking like she was only going to be a one-off. The thing is, I love the idea of a cat doll and out of all the Cat dolls in the range, Catrine is my favourite (yep, I like her better than Catty Noir). I don’t feel like I can bump either Frankie or Spectra down the doll hierarchy as I love them both, so I’ll have to place Catty off to one side – I just think she’s a very special, well-designed character. I can’t see myself passing over another one, and I’m really hoping they make more. Maybe I’m not as fatigued as I thought I was …

20140412-223032.jpg

20140412-223044.jpg

20140412-223103.jpg

20140412-223118.jpg

12 Responses to “Scaremester Catrine”

  1. timelesslady April 13, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

    Cute doll!

  2. Xan April 17, 2014 at 4:52 am #

    Yeah, I’d have to say this doll is my Mom’s second favorite (she hasn’t got ahold of her most favorite yet). This is proved by her getting really mad at me when we first bought the doll because I was brushing her hair, and my Mom had wanted to do it.

    • barbielea April 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

      Xan, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – your Mum is a woman of taste and discretion πŸ™‚ what is her most favourite?

      • Xan April 19, 2014 at 4:23 am #

        I asked her, and she said that the first release of Cleo de Nile was her most wanted doll. It’s nearly impossible to get ahold of one though. She says she might just settle for a (not yet released) “I love fashion” Cleo.

      • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

        Ah, I don’t have that one – is she very rare?? I have the “School’s Out” version, which I love (although she does have a silly headband on that kind of messes up her hair). Just sneaked a peek at that ILF Cleo – LOVE her clothes, especially that blue and black stripey dress. My favourite Cleo is probably my “I Love Shoes” version, although I do think that the current release Black Carpet is very beautiful too. Tell your Mum I hope she gets her Cleos soon! xx

  3. tagidoll April 18, 2014 at 11:03 am #

    I only have the original release of Catrine, but this version of her is lovely. That bow on her tail kills me.

    • barbielea April 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

      Me too Tagi! So glad I got her *enables* πŸ™‚

  4. Andrea April 21, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    I already fell for the first Catrine, but the Scaremester on looks even better. I love the first black and white picture. Her box of crayons is to die for.

    • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ funny isn’t it, Catrine always seems to get good quality props and accessories! I’ve done a side by side comparison since I wrote this and my opinion is confirmed – out of the two I would definitely go for Scaremester, whose facial painting is just a bit prettier – and of course, like I said, you don’t have to deal with all that yukky hairgel either! Please tell me I’ve enabled you on another doll, you know how much I enjoy it!

  5. Andrea April 22, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

    Haha, you sure did. She is on my shopping list now. Hugs, Andrea

Leave a Reply

