Snow White Hanami – Shrek Snow White

18 Apr

I have so many posting options this weekend, I haven’t been sure where to begin. For starters, its Easter, and although I haven’t got anything prepared for this eventuality particularly, I do have several generic spring-themed dolls I need to write about. I still have plenty of Monster High posts to catch up on (sigh), loads of Leas, and more miscellaneous posts than I could shake a stick at … But then, the cherry blossom is in bloom and I have some rather nice posts planned for my Hanami this year. So lets go with that, shall we?

I thought this year, I’d use the Hanami posts to feature my teeny-weeny collection of Snow White dolls. This branch of my collection is even smaller than my collection of Alice in Wonderland themed dolls, so small its barely there at all actually. Still, its just enough to keep me busy for a long weekend. As I did with my Alice in Wonderland posts, I’ll tell you what you are not going to see here (but might one day, in some cases):

* Pullip Snow White – I adore this doll. She’s pretty much top of my Pullip want list (joint first with Alice du Jardin mint version). Pullips are just so hard to source at a reasonable price over here! Well, maybe one day – I can dream.
* Collector Barbie as Snow White – and I’ll tell you why. I’ve only recently started to like this Mackie-faced beauty, so I haven’t been looking for long. However, it might take me some time as I’d like to try and get her for cheaper than her current market value, which seems a little high to me. I’d be quite happy with a play-worn, unboxed version and they do crop up sometimes, I’ll just have to keep my eyes open.
* Ever After High Apple White – there are times when I’ve been tempted, but I’ve just become stubborn about this doll. She should have been a brunette! I am still toying with the idea of buying and rerooting her, but the plugs seem very fine on this doll so I think it would be a big project. We will see, anyway.
* Disney Designer Princess and Prince – I love this doll, but she is completely overpriced as far as I’m concerned and I’m not oversold on the Prince either. Plus, I’m not in the market for anything designed to be kept in a glass coffin forever.
* Disney Store playline Evil Queen – I just don’t like her. I was so excited when I heard about this doll, but they have made her look like some dreadful pantomime dame. What a missed opportunity.
* Fairytale High Snow White: I know the reviews on them are mixed and I’m not a big fan of the Winx style bodies, but I’d consider her. They haven’t landed in the UK yet, I have a feeling they will though, and at a good price. If so, I’ll be getting her.
*Once Upon a Zombie Snow White: Hmmm, I’m not really taken with these dolls either – the concept is OK and I like the look of their articulation, but – well, is it me or do they all look a bit cross-eyed? I would have to see one in the shops and be pleasantly surprised before I’d consider her.

So, what does this leave? Only five dolls, none of them worth very much – but I love them all.

First, we have a doll I already featured quite some time ago. But I didn’t dress her or take many pictures, and she deserves better than that. Here is Shrek Snow White:

20140418-214437.jpg

Remember how I said that I don’t name my dolls? Well, I didn’t intentionally name Shrek Snow White but I do always think of her as “Charlotte”, because of her similarity to the actress from Sex and The City … I can’t help it, some dolls just seem to name themselves, don’t they?

Lovely as she is, Charlotte is not what she first appears to be, and neither is she what she should be. Although I’ve always tended to think of her as a Disney doll, she’s actually nothing to do with them, as she was based on a character in a Dreamworks film and manufactured by MGA. And also, she doesn’t even look anything like the Snow White character in Shrek. Maybe its best that she wasn’t a Disney doll, really. These days, I think Disney do reasonably well when it comes to manufacturing dolls who look like their on-screen characters, but for many years all their dolls looked like deformed Barbies to me. Certainly, this doll must have been unusual at the time she was made, just because she is so unBarbielike.

20140418-220616.jpg

20140418-220640.jpg

One thing I do really like about this doll is her enormous feet, even though she is virtually impossible to find shoes for. I think that she was designed this way to fit in with her “kung fu” theme – roundhouse kicking somebody with a likkle teeny high-heel ready foot just wouldn’t be the same. I don’t mind her shoeless state, as I think she looks super cute barefoot.

20140418-222010.jpg

20140418-222024.jpg

By the way, the dress she’s wearing is not her original (which I do have, but it needs repair). I got this dress as part of a second-hand job lot and I’m really not sure what doll its from, it looks kind of newish but I suppose it might just be in good condition. Modern dresses don’t tend to feature rick-rack trim any more, do they? Its a bit big for Barbies – happily, compared to a Barbie, Charlotte is a little on the chunky side so its just right for her. Its a long shot, but if anybody recognises this dress from somewhere please do leave me a comment, ta 🙂

9 Responses to “Snow White Hanami – Shrek Snow White”

  1. Andrea April 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm #

    Sorry, I can’t really help with the dress. I seems like a clone dress though. I haven’t seen rick-rack trim in ages on doll outfits. The first picture is awesome and so is Charlotte’s face. If Apple White had that coloring, I’d buy her immediately.

    • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 me too! I suppose Briar Beauty has similar colouring, but it just isn’t the same. And those golden eyes! Shame you haven’t spotted the outfit anywhere, you’re probably right and its a clone dress that I’m never going to find out about. I’m still curious though!

  2. Teresa B. April 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    She does look like a Charlotte. I had a doll when I was younger that screamed “Margie.” So that’s what she stayed as!

    I love Ever After High and want to get the collection. However my favorite has to be Ashlynn Ella. But Apple White is cute too. I however can’t picture her as a brunette. Maybe you will get the urge to take on that project. I bet it would be a fun project turning her into a brunette!

    • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

      Hi Teresa 🙂 ooo, I can see Apple as a brunette! But I don’t know if this is one potential project that is just pie in the sky. Re-rooting is hard on my hands, and I’d have to do the knot method, I think, because those plugs are so tiny. Also, the EAHs have that tiny neck cavity, just to make it extra hard. It would be much better if I could just dye her but I’ve looked everywhere for a tutorial on how to do this without also dying the doll’s face and I just can’t find one … ho hum.

  3. Andrea April 22, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    Yes, rerooting a EAH must be extremely complicated. Dying sounds much easier, but I would also be afraid to end up with a dyed doll face.

    • barbielea April 22, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

      😦

      • Teresa B. April 25, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

        Okay, now I feel inspired. I want to dye. I might grab a “distressed” doll and a cheap hair dye kit. Might be kind of fun!!

      • barbielea April 26, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

        I just read a couple of tutorials now actually – one about RIT fabric dye and one about acrylic paint – they’re both meant to work, but it depend on the doll’s hair type. I heard human hair dye mentioned as a possibility, but I didn’t see a tutorial on that one. Don’t know how I didn’t find these last time I looked! Good luck with it anyway 🙂

  4. Teresa B. April 27, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

    I would have never thought about acrylic paint. I would think that the hair would get “hard” as the paint dries. Maybe it’s meant to soak into the fibers?

Leave a Reply

