Snow White Hanami – Disney Store Snow White

21 Apr

Right, first an apology – I do have one more Snow White doll so there should have been an extra post in this series. However I’ve looked in every likely doll drawer and she’s nowhere to be found. Oh well, maybe next time. I seriously need to do some spring cleaning!

Anyway, Disney Store Snow White. Can I just say, Wow? I love this doll.

20140421-220023.jpg

She’s described on the Disney Store website as the “Classic Snow White”. I believe that the headmold is the same as the Designer Princess Snow White (but I’m going off photos here, so that’s a guess – if you know different please feel free to correct me) and the rooted eyelash version sold with her Prince in the Disney Designer Fairytale Couples (ditto). Of the two designer dolls, I actually prefer the single Designer Princess and kind of regret not buying her, although at the time that I became aware of these dolls I had just bought all the Designer Villains, so I was feeling a bit worn out with it …

Whatever – this doll has a GREAT sculpt and she’s a great interpretation of this character. Snow White was first Disney-ized in the 1930s, so the “vintage doll” look works perfectly (the side glance, the heavy corner lashes, the little smile with the parted lip). Its also pretty much the first interpretation of Snow White that is as beautiful as she should be – others (bless them) tend to be a little too round-eyed and plump-cheeked, and although they may be cute they never look quite right to me.

20140421-222041.jpg

20140421-222056.jpg

20140421-222105.jpg

I gather that this is the second release of this doll, the first one (last year) had some minor differences, including a longer, non-patterned skirt and hinged ankles. I’m considering trying to track her down. There’s also a singing version (who comes with the “poor princess” outfit as well as her famous red, blue and yellow gown). I would LOVE to see some future releases with bigger differences … is that too much to ask for? I really hope not.

Anyway, I know that some of you might be put off by the bad press given to these doll’s legs. As Disney Princesses are always in full gowns, I suppose its only natural that Disney save on production costs by giving them “clicky” leg joints rather than the pivotal knee joints seen on Fashionistas, and plenty of people find the legs on these dolls too slender and unshapely. They are also rather soft and rubbery, especially round past the calf in the ankle area. Snow White, if you don’t mind ….?

20140421-223107.jpg

As you can see, for this kind of joint they really are quite flexible, there’s a good two clicks in each knee. I admit that the lower leg is kind of rubbery and you would need to display her with her feet slightly off the stand if you wanted to avoid buckling. But really, its not a deal-breaker for me. (How could it be – look at that face!!! Honestly, I can’t get over it).

And of course, she photographs like a demon …

20140421-223816.jpg

20140421-223823.jpg

What an exceptional doll. I have been looking at some of the other Classic dolls sold through the Disney store, and I’m certainly tempted, although I think that Snow White is the pick of the bunch.

20140421-224055.jpg

6 Responses to “Snow White Hanami – Disney Store Snow White”

  1. ThomasJ April 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

    Ms White is a cutie, to be sure (again, the eyes get me every time) and that she photographs like a demon (which she does) but I think the photographer deserves most
    of the credit (and you do!) for bringing out the best of her. I also think her legs look
    great 🙂

    • barbielea April 21, 2014 at 11:26 pm #

      Thank you so much Tom! xx nice to hear a vote of confidence for her skinny little legs too! They’re not so bad, are they?

  2. Andrea April 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    What a beautiful face. She looks stunning. I love the first and the last picture the most. You do excellent portrait shots. As for the legs, they aren’t bad at all. A little slim, but people come in all sorts of shapes as well. They only add to the variety in doll populations.

    • barbielea April 22, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

      Hi Andrea 🙂 thanks very much! Seriously, she’s such a fun doll to photograph, I could take pictures of her all day … I can’t put her away either, she’s on the kitchen table probably annoying Mr Bat with her presence as we speak …

  3. Blackkitty April 22, 2014 at 11:53 pm #

    I’m pretty sure most of the complains are about the other (jointed) type of body where the knees are far apart when you try to sit the doll down. I don’t have any Disney dolls of any kind, but this is the popular opinion. The only problem with click legs is that they attract ALL the glitter and lint.

    • barbielea May 5, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

      OMG Blackkitty tell me about it! In this case, I think that the fault lies with the overenthusiastic use of glitter though, rather than the material the doll is made from … she even got glitter on her face and it settled in the corner of her mouth, because her head vinyl is very hard I couldn’t squish it to clean it out and it took me ages to remove. Doll glitter, such a bad idea!

      I tried to sit this doll and I must admit, she IS a little splay-legged, its not awful but she certainly can’t sit as nicely as a Fashionista 😦 what a shame …

Leave a Reply

