Tout De Suite

29 Apr

Generally speaking, I am not a Silkstone person. I think that many of them are very beautiful, but I simply couldn’t afford to go crazy with this branch of my collection. Plus, maybe more importantly, they’re just not very ME, somehow (too classy maybe? haha).

But I was offered this one (my second!) for a good price, and I thought, why not stick a proverbial toe in the water again? If I was going to collect Silkstones in a major way I think that I would probably start with the Lingerie dolls, who I have always liked. Its an interesting idea that isn’t often used in the Barbieverse, for obvious reasons. Tout de Suite is similarly déshabillé in her lacy chemise. I love the subtle colour scheme and her corn blonde hair.

20140429-221812.jpg

20140429-222217.jpg

I can’t shake the feeling that with Silkstones, I’m like some lottery winner buying a Ferrari because its red and shiny, or a painting because it matches the sofa. I suppose what I mean is that I have no idea what a “proper” Silkstone collector would like or dislike about this doll – personally, I would have liked her eyes to be a little more open, her eyelids maybe a little less heavy. The original Barbie sculpt had to grow on me, but now it has I think that I prefer my Reproductions of original dolls to the haughty Silkstone faces. I have to admit that the Silkstones have great character and presence, though. My doll friend once affectionately described them as “snob ladies”, and this phrase has always stuck in my mind – I think it sums them up nicely.

20140429-224749.jpg

20140429-224806.jpg

I am very interested by the presentation and packaging of Silkstones – I love the fact that they are tied into the box with ribbon and therefore easily repackaged. Wouldn’t it be great if they did that with playline, instead of making us wrestle with millions of tiny elastic bands and clips and tags? I recently read a comment about this where a lady was saying that she believes the overkill on anchoring dolls into boxes is more of an anti-theft measure than a presentation issue. I suppose that the Silkstone method of packaging would make sense in this context, as Silkstones are more rarified and less likely to be seen on store shelves so wouldn’t need to be protected in the same way.

Anyway, as you might expect, there are some really nice details on this doll. I liked:

* The fabric bows on her mules
* The “popper” style closing on her knickers – not velcro, not elastic, but an actual popper. Its been a long time since I saw this on a doll.
* The straps of her chemise, which have a little metal ring just before the bodice, as women’s underwear often does
* The pearl earrings that came in a plastic bag, rather than in the doll’s ears. I presume that this is to protect against green ear or similar problems while the dolls are boxed.
* The teeny-weeny little mirror she comes with. Its just a shame she can’t hold it.
* Her little beauty spot. Tres chic …

20140429-230955.jpg

20140429-231013.jpg

20140429-231037.jpg

20140429-231109.jpg

8 Responses to “Tout De Suite”

  1. Teresa B. April 29, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

    She is beautiful but I’m like you, wished the eyelids were less heavy. I love the lingere collection and it’s by Robert Best. Even better! 🙂 Congrats on this awesome doll!

    • barbielea May 5, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

      Thanks very much Teresa 🙂 Mr Bat says he thinks the heavy eyelids make her eyes look like they are sticking out, and I can see what he’s saying … but that colour-scheme, eh? xx

  2. Andrea April 30, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    The Silkies are very special dolls, congrats on getting her. The heavy eyelids are not my cup of tea either, but I do love their fashions. So classy. Now if they would decide to make Silkies with the TNT Barbie mold, I’d be lost to them forever.

    • barbielea May 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

      Wow, there’s a thought Andrea! Personally, I love the Silkstone Francies (I like Kitty Corner best) but I’ve never got round to getting one … a TNT mold would tempt me too …

  3. Chicovintage77 May 4, 2014 at 5:42 pm #

    Wow! I am slowly falling in love with her! Nowadays silkstone have not this grade of detail. Definetely, she´s a snob lady for sure, but I have passed from hating, to ignoring, to slowly growing on me big time… I love that vintage feeling, the position of the arms, the exquisite fashions (the only well made from Mattel, because even the collector line is quite shabby made), the heaviness… they are great!

    • barbielea May 5, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Haha glad you like her Chico! Funny you should mention the position of the arms. As you know, I’m pretty obsessed with articulation but I was looking at this Silkstone while I was photographing her and thinking how nicely she is posed – if a doll has to be on a fixed body, this is as good as it gets. I love the vintage, quality feel to this doll as well, if only they were all this good …

  4. kewpie83 May 7, 2014 at 8:10 pm #

    I’m with you on the heavy eyelid and having a more open eye. I can’t say I like Silkstones very much, but then again, I don’t like high fashion dolls in general. Your photos are great, though. I love the black and white profile image.

    • barbielea May 8, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

      Hi Kewpie 🙂 thanks. My first love will always be playline, I think, but I’m glad to have the odd Silkstone …

Leave a Reply

