Three Years! Three Leas …

17 May

20140517-222321.jpg

Hello! Can you believe that I got my “three year” WordPress badge earlier this week? Barbiebeauties is three years old and in celebration, I’m offering you three more wonderful Leas. Left to right, we have:

Bead Party Kayla from 2002 (Lea 33). Beautiful Bead Party, with her peachy lips and her upturned eyes, is not particularly easy to find so I’m very pleased to have her in my collection. Her fringe was a little disordered when I got her and I did my best with it, but her hair quality is quite poor, unfortunately, so she’s difficult to style. As you can see, I rebodied her to a Fashionista, but the colour match is not great, so I might end up moving her back.

20140517-223729.jpg

Ballet Dreams Lea 2004 (Lea 34). Ballet Dreams was a gift from a wonderful friend. I actually saw this doll on Flickr years ago and really wanted her, but I never realised until I got her just how cross-eyed she really is. This usually irritates me to death, but I find it quite endearing on Ballet Dreams (if my other dolls could talk, I’m sure they’d be complaining no end about my favouritism when it comes to Lea).

20140517-223904.jpg

Fashion Fever Wave F (Lea 35). I actually found this doll at a car boot sale (Americans – this is like a yard sale, but in a field instead of a yard), which is pretty much unheard of. Despite her relative commonness, I actually really love this doll – her brown eyes are set off so nicely by her lip colour, and the length of her hair, which reaches to her shoulders, is unusual.

20140517-224138.jpg

To dress my Leas, I actually got round to making some more outfits – my Monster High girls seem to have got an unfair amount of attention this year, so it was about time I made something Barbie-size. I managed two, and matched them with the accessories from the doll who came wearing the third dress (Barbie from the last wave of pivotal Fashionistas). Bead Party is wearing the easiest kind of dress to make I know (I did a tutorial ages ago, if you are interested) but I tried something a bit more complicated for Ballet Dreams, which I think turned out quite well. The material is very fine and stretchy, so it was really nice to sew with.

20140517-230120.jpg

Anyway – thanks are due to you for the comments, the advice, the information and the encouragement over the last year. I’ve made some great friends and acquaintances through doing this blog! And I enjoy it so much, I’m pretty sure I’ll still be around next year for my fourth anniversary – we will see 🙂

20140517-231058.jpg

20140517-231113.jpg

20140517-231121.jpg

11 Responses to “Three Years! Three Leas …”

  1. Taswegian1957 May 18, 2014 at 1:50 am #

    Congratulations on 3 years, I hope I’ll still be doing this in another 2 years. Your Lea’s are gorgeous and I’m wondering now why I don’t have more of them. I think the answer is that not all of them were sold in Australia. I’m sure if I’d seen them in the shops I’d at least have tried to get them. Unfortunately garage sales and Sunday markets, our equivalent of the Car Boot sale are not always as good for finding stuff, though I did find a nice Lea recently. Love the dresses by the way. I am a sucker for red dresses. I saw your ballet Lea, the new one, in the shops the other day and I do love her face. So much that if she gets a bit cheaper I might consider buying her to rebody because I just hate that plastic clothing. I couldn’t even put it on my shelf and look at it.

    • barbielea May 18, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

      Thanks Taswegian 🙂 I’m pretty sure that Fashion Fever was in your country? That line was a great source of Leas. And you actually have a Lea (the blonde-haired FF) who I am very jealous of! Car Boots etc are not great for dolls over here either, which is why I was so surprised to find a Lea at one – maybe they are if you get up at four in the morning and grab everything as soon as its put out, but with a four year old I’ve got no chance of getting to one super early so I’m unlikely to find out. TBH I think that they all end up on eBay these days anyway!

      I think, go for it with the Ballerina! She has such a great face, I’m sure you wouldn’t hesitate if she was available on a normal body and its only a couple of minutes’ work to put her on one.

      • Taswegian1957 May 19, 2014 at 1:02 am #

        We did have FF here but we didn’t get every doll of every wave at the shops here.. I used to regularly check out all the stores that sold Barbie around Hobart(there aren’t many) but didn’t see as many Lea/Kayla’s as Barbie and Teresa. I was lucky to score Mel, my blonde one but I think I’ll definitely try and get some more. eBay has been both good and bad for collectors like me. Yes we get more variety but prices have been driven up and you don’t get the fun of a market hit as often.

  2. chicovintage May 18, 2014 at 8:16 am #

    Wow¡¡¡ 3 years¡¡¡ Congrats Lea, I think your blog as the same freshness and it’ s even more interesting and plenty of variety on every new post. Love the way you fixed bead party fringe¡¡ she does look factory fresh now, well done ( she’ s my fave). I am so glad ballerina dreams has grown on you¡ thanks to your great photography she doesn’ t look so crossed eyed. I can understand why you love that FF, she’s so pretty and unusual….but those dresses… are absolutely gorgeous¡¡¡ In my opinion, the large sleeve one is the best, so elegant¡ Thanks for your blog and for being such an incredible person

    • barbielea May 18, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

      Hello Chico 🙂 and loads of thanks! Aww, you make me blush – I’m glad you liked the photos, and the dresses! xx

  3. mangusta May 18, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! The dolls look great. I especially like the long red dress 🙂

    • barbielea May 18, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks so much Mangusta! The red dress seems to be proving popular, I’m so pleased 🙂

  4. Andrea May 18, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

    Congrats on your 3 year batch! The dress you made for Ballet Dreams Lea turned out great, simple yte elegant and dramatic. The short haired Lea must be the FF Lea that came wearing withe piglets wearing the mud colored mini dress. I didn’t dare to open the piglets of mine yet.

    • barbielea May 18, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

      Thanks very much Andrea 🙂 Yes, the short-haired Lea in the gold dress is the FF with the “mud” coloured dress … I never realised her hair was up in the box, though, I’ll have to go back and look at the photos!

  5. Blackkitty May 21, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    Congrats! I’m definitely looking forward to more of your anniversaries 🙂 So next year there will be four dolls from a series? I love the way you group similar dolls into a post. Each of these Leas is unique. My favourite must be the third. The dresses are spectacular and they go very well with the dolls’ looks. You’re doing a great job with this blog!

    • barbielea May 24, 2014 at 11:48 am #

      Thanks Blackkitty I appreciate it! Yes, next year I seem to have set myself up to feature four dolls with something in common, or at least theme around the number four :-/ I am so glad you liked the dresses.

Leave a Reply

