Bratzillaz – Switch A Witch

31 May

Bratzillaz Switch A Witch are MGA’s answer to Mattel’s Create a Monster, and do you know what? I actually think that they are better.

20140531-230432-83072834.jpg

As you know, I love the Monster High CAMs. However, although I started off with an easygoing approach to the mismatched bodies, over time this started to annoy me more and more, and I found myself spending increasing amounts of money trying to make sure that there were enough bodies of the right colour to go round. Not a problem with Switch a Witch – the limbs on these dolls are actually made to look mismatched in a rather stylishly coordinated way.

20140531-231722-83842179.jpg

Taking Cloetta’s main design feature a little bit further, the Witches’ colour schemes are split down the middle. Everything on the left is different to what’s on the right – the skin colour, the eyes, the jewellry, the shoes, the wigs. Because nothing looks like it should go together in a particular way (unlike the CAMs, who are distinct monsters with swoppable body parts), it doesn’t really matter how you put them together. The bowler hats, the curly wigs and the motley-esque clothing also give these dolls a rather clownish look, which is great. Everybody knows that there is nothing scarier than a clown.

20140531-232739-84459316.jpg

The doll with the half-black, half white face was definitely my favourite while she was in the box. She’s particularly nicely designed, with her eyelashes and eyebrow in negative on the black side of her face. However, I must say that I think once you start messing with these dolls, its hard to play favourites as they are all so good. The clothes are also brilliant – both the dolls from the two-pack come with PVC tops and skirts which could be mixed and matched. I’m not so keen on the cloaks which come with two of the three outfits. As I’ve found with other Bratzillaz, they feel cheap and they don’t hang well. However, everything else is great – these dolls even come with bracelets and earrings, which is a nice touch. And I also like the fact that unlike Monster High dolls, the shoes are rather soft and squishy, which makes them easy to put on and remove.

20140531-233950-85190326.jpg

20140531-233950-85190587.jpg

As I’ve found before with Bratzillaz, these dolls are wonderfully designed but maybe a little let down in their execution and presentation. Even though I bought the yellow and white faced doll separately to the two-pack dolls, I found that all three dolls came out of the box with dirty faces that needed a wash. The screening on the three is not all it should be, either, with little imperfections in the paint along the centre line of the face. Such a shame – these dolls actually assembled as easily, if not easier, than the Create A Monsters I have put together, which I didn’t expect. I had seen some corners cut in this line before and I was expected badly-fitting pegs. Seeing as this potential problem was negotiated successfully, they should not have been sold suffering from faults as easy to avoid as poor hygiene and wavery paint lines.

20140531-235115-85875074.jpg

20140531-235115-85875428.jpg

20140531-235115-85875647.jpg

I am so glad that I managed to find these dolls as I think that they’re easily the best things to come from the Bratzillaz line yet. I really wish I had picked up the other Switch A Witches when I saw them for a good price. Compared to the other Bratzillaz, which are currently on serious sale in this country, they are holding their prices well on Amazon and eBay so I doubt I’ll get the opportunity again.

One last strange thing I have noticed about these dolls – my pink and green clown girl seems to have slightly fatter legs than the other two! That kind of goes against the idea of them being switchable? Maybe I’m imagining it – what do you think?

20140531-235843-86323364.jpg

20140531-235843-86323654.jpg

20140531-235844-86324221.jpg

20140531-235843-86323112.jpg

20140531-235843-86323990.jpg

11 Responses to “Bratzillaz – Switch A Witch”

  1. Teresa B June 1, 2014 at 3:57 pm #

    I’m like you, from your first picture, the black and white one is my favorite. I love how you created her! Funny, for all the times I go down the aisles in the stores, I have never seen the Bratzillas here in the states. Maybe I’m not looking hard enough! Yours are super cute πŸ™‚

    • barbielea June 3, 2014 at 8:30 am #

      Hi Teresa πŸ™‚ good, aren’t they? Really, you’ve not seen these dolls for sale? They have been around for a while now, proper doll reviewers (the people who get things when they are just released πŸ™‚ ) wrote about them ages ago. Maybe now they are on discounted sale in the UK, they have disappeared from shops in the US??

      • Teresa B. June 5, 2014 at 4:27 am #

        Gah, I must retract my statement. I have never seen Switch-a-Witch in the states. I have seen Bratzillas though. That’s what I meant πŸ™‚

  2. mangusta June 1, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

    They are amazing! I don’t think I’ve seen these in my country, only regular Bratzillaz.

    • barbielea June 3, 2014 at 8:31 am #

      They do seem to be harder to find than the other dolls from this line, Mangusta, which is a shame …

      • mangusta June 26, 2014 at 8:34 am #

        A week ago I found them! It was a big surprise. I switched them a bit different than you πŸ™‚

  3. Andrea June 2, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

    Aaaah, drool! The b/w one is to die for. You switched a great witch. I really seems like MGAE did put more thought into these packs. It looks like the heads are already attached to the bodies in the boxed picture. I they were, was it hard to switch them? Thinking of the hard Bratz heads and neck knobs of the regular dolls here.

    There is one store in my area, that has Bratzillas, but unfortunately they don’t seem to sell very well. I haven’t seen the Switch-A-Witch packs yet, but I will keep looking for them now.

    I love, that they have real feet, now can we please have a real nose next MGAE?

    • barbielea June 3, 2014 at 8:39 am #

      Andrea, you picked up on something I forgot to mention! The heads are indeed attached to the bodies. I didn’t switch them, I don’t know because I didn’t try but I think you would have to remove the head in a similar way to how you would rebody a doll – I don’t think they’re meant to be switched. Interestingly, they are attached to the “opposite” body, therefore encouraging you not to make an all pink/ green or all black/ white doll. That should be annoying I suppose but actually I think it’s quite cool.

      I am completely with you on the feet and the nose. I would have been gutted if they had peg feet, in fact I probably wouldn’t have got them (other than on serious sale to steal their clothes). And like you I wish they had proper noses! Novi Stars don’t have noses either, I don’t know why MGA seems to find them so offensive …

  4. DollNerd June 2, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

    All three of the SAW dolls in this post have different body types – it is intentional. The pink/green one has shorter limbs and a nipped in waist, and I think the yellow/white one should be taller and thinner than the other two.

    • barbielea June 3, 2014 at 8:41 am #

      Well I never. Huh, I should have done a comparison when I noticed the legs! Thank you, that’s interesting … I still think that it would have been nice to have the option of one pink, one black leg for instance.

  5. Blackkitty June 3, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    The legs aren’t the only thing different among these dolls. Emily wrote a very detailed review of your set, I’m surprised you didn’t know about it: http://www.toyboxphilosopher.com/2013/03/bratzillaz-switch-witch-set.html
    You can swap heads too, apparently it says so in the instructions.

Leave a Reply

