Father’s Day with Derek and Skipper

15 Jun

It seems to me that in the Barbieverse we make a fuss about Mother’s Day (there’s blog posts and Flickr uploads galore on the subject) whilst Father’s Day often passes us by. I think that this is because there are so many collectors who say that their love of dolls started with their Mothers, who bought them dolls and made them doll clothes when they were children. I can relate to this – my own Mother did not really care about dolls, but my big sister (who was a teenager when I was born, and is a bit like my “second Mum”) bought me dolls and outfits when I was little, and played with them with me too.

Still, it doesn’t seem quite fair – Daddies need love too. I’m as guilty of this omission as anybody, as I nearly always do a Mother’s Day post but to the best of my memory, I’ve never done a Father’s Day post before. Well, now I’ve noticed it! So I’ll try not to let it happen again πŸ™‚

20140615-165313-60793657.jpg

My “daughter” is obviously contemporary Skipper – I got this one, who is from “A Pony Tale”, at Christmas last year. My “Dad” is Dancing Derek, one of my favourite male dolls. Much as I love him, its a shame that there is no bald Ken, as both the Daddies in my life are handsomely hairless. A Jon-Luc Picard doll or somebody similar would be fine!

In my photo, Skipper and Derek are going out walking, which is my enduring memory of my Dad from childhood – now, at the age of 82, my Dad still takes my son out walking when we go back to visit my parents. Being a parent myself now, I believe that the thinking behind it might have been that it kept me from driving my Mother crazy for an hour or so, and also made me more likely to sleep through the night. Still, we had some good times doing it, and doubtless it worked, too.

Happy Father’s Day, folks.

20140615-170438-61478984.jpg

8 Responses to “Father’s Day with Derek and Skipper”

  1. Taswegian1957 June 16, 2014 at 1:47 am #

    I had to look twice at Derek, in your photo he looks like he has black hair, well he does on my monitor. I thought who on earth is he? However when I followed the link I remembered him as I got him for my sister some years ago. He had a hideous brown “Prince” outfit but I knew she would love him. She did and he quickly received a better wardrobe of jeans and leather jacket and a name change. He really is very handsome. By the way here in Australia we don’t celebrate Father’s Day till September. I totally agree a Jean Luc Picard doll would make a great dad even though I doubt he’d be comfortable in that role.

    • barbielea June 21, 2014 at 9:57 pm #

      Derek is lovely, isn’t he? I agree his original Prince outfit is quite horrible, though – I own it but I don’t think I’ve ever photographed him in it.

      You’re right, Jon-Luc Picard Barbie is quite an undignified idea! But I still think it would be great πŸ™‚

      • Taswegian1957 June 22, 2014 at 3:32 am #

        In early episodes of ST Next Gen Captain Picard appeared quite uncomfortable with children.

  2. fleurdolls June 16, 2014 at 8:38 am #

    Thanks for your comment on my blog πŸ™‚ you take beautiful photos!

  3. Andrea June 18, 2014 at 12:39 am #

    Wow, what an improvement from his princely attire. His hair looks pretty dark on my monitor as well. Most pics of him on the net are shot straight into his face, so the angle shooting him from above his face makes him look very different. I didn’t reconize him either.

    • barbielea June 21, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ Yes, he’s quite dark-haired but as he was standing in the shadows on a sunny day, it looks even darker than it is – unusual colour on a Blaine-faced boy, isn’t it?

  4. kewpie83 June 19, 2014 at 2:13 am #

    I love the first photo in this post!

Leave a Reply

