Woodland Weekend – Cerise Hood

22 Jun

So, Woodland Weekend continues with my latest Ever After High acquisition. EAH really gave me a scary run of it for a while. From the first wave I was only tempted by Raven and Maddie, which seemed manageable enough. However, then Cupid, Blondie, Cerise and the Hunter/ Ashlynn two-pack were released and I wanted them all. I started to worry that I might have to turn my back on EAH to prevent building up an unaffordable habit. (Kind of) fortunately, we then got lots of character repeats which didn’t tempt me (I’m not so sure I’ll be able to ignore the amazing “Thronecoming” wave though). These were followed by new characters Cedar Wood and Holly and Poppy O’Hair, none of whom I have any intention to buy. Phew! Keep on not being able to read my mind, EAH designers!

I spent a long time dithering between buying Cerise and buying Cupid, as they’re probably my two favourite EAH dolls. In the end I bought Cupid first, but now I own both I still can’t decide between them. This is probably because their appeal is just so different – Cupid is as pink and girly as a doll can possibly be, whereas Cerise …

20140622-164758-60478546.jpg

Cerise has a look that is kind of tough and practical without looking tomboyish. She wears a skirted tunic-style affair with leggings and boots rather than a princess dress under her wonderful silhouette-patterned cloak – she looks like she might actually be prepared for a hike through the woods. The doll herself has a beautiful face with a rather enigmatic expression. No wonder her tagline states that she is “cloaked in mystery”.

20140622-165554-60954587.jpg

My favourite thing about Cerise is the white Mallen streak through her fringe. For some reason, when I saw the early drawings of this character I got the impression that she would have half-white, half-brown hair (I believe she had her hood up on the pictures). Well, she doesn’t, but wouldn’t it be nice if she did in a future incarnation? Anyway, I was also surprised how much I liked the white-blonde Cerise who was released recently as an SDCC Exclusive. This blonde Cerise is known as Cerise Wolf, and the back story behind her is quite interesting. Apparently, my version of Cerise – Cerise Hood – is “cloaked in mystery” because she is keeping a secret. As you would expect, her Mother is Little Red Riding Hood, but contrary to the Rules of Destiny her father was the bad guy from her Mother’s story, the Big Bad Wolf (hmmm, anybody else thinking about “The Company of Wolves”? I doubt this was the inspiration though, as it would be a grim story to intentionally reference in a children’s doll line!). Cerise Hood’s strange parentage means that she should never have existed and in an effort to conceal this, she has to hide her wolfish traits, including the little wolf ears that she conceals under her cloak. Well, SDCC’s Cerise Wolf is kind of the alter-ego to Cerise Hood – she is Cerise as she would have been if she had embraced her Father’s place in the story, rather than her Mother’s. Tricky, eh? I wish I could afford her, but living in the UK there’s very little chance of me ever being able to get my hands on one for a reasonable price …

20140622-172919-62959187.jpg

20140622-172918-62958898.jpg

Anyway. I’m very happy with the Cerise I have. She is one of the few EAH characters I would consider buying a repeat of from another wave. I love the way that her back-story and personality is expressed through her appearance. Another great doll …

20140622-174251-63771024.jpg

20140622-174250-63770767.jpg

9 Responses to “Woodland Weekend – Cerise Hood”

  1. mangusta June 23, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    The Company of Wolves is one of my all time favourite movies ๐Ÿ™‚

    • barbielea June 23, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

      Maybe Cerise is the doll for you then Mangusta ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t remember the film very well? Just bits of it. I loved the short story it was based on.

  2. Teresa B. June 24, 2014 at 3:16 am #

    Oh, you and I are SO much alike!! I am slowly acquiring all the EAH dolls (the first wave that is.) Never saw much in the Legacy Day line or the Getting Fairest however the Thronecoming!!! I must have them. Especially Cupid and Raven. SO pretty!

    I love your pictures of Cerise! Have you seen pics of the one from SDCC? omg. I wish I could have it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • barbielea June 27, 2014 at 8:35 am #

      Hi Teresa!! Got a bit behind with my blog reading and only just noticed your great EAH posts, congratulations on a new collecting direction! I will leave some comments later, I can’t do it off my phone :-/

      Yes – I love the SDCC – but I don’t see it happening for me either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ great doll though …

  3. Andrea June 26, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    I love Cerise and your pictures are awesome. Perfect background for her fairytale character. I’m still on the lookout for her, but so far she is a no-show.

    Eventhough I love her, there is one little thing to nag about: why didn’t Mattel give her wolf ears? They could have included pop-in ears with her, to stick to her storyline in the webisodes.

    • barbielea June 27, 2014 at 8:38 am #

      Hi Andrea! Do you know what, I haven’t even looked at her ears – I’m such a lax reviewer, I only think about the things I’m thinking about and forget to check other stuff! I do remember reading at Confessions that she has teeny tufts on her ears but I remember that Kewpie was a bit disappointed too … Yes , it’s a shame. Glad you liked the pictures, anyway – it was lots of fun to take photos in a different setting!

      • Teresa B. June 28, 2014 at 2:08 am #

        I checked her ears. They are only slightly larger than normal, not really even enough to notice. Boo!

      • barbielea June 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

        ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. lowdeadwonderland August 19, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    Beautiful picture.

Leave a Reply

