Skipper 19 – Totally Yoyo

30 Jun

This weekend, a great thing happened – I went to a Car Boot sale and actually found some dolls! What is more, I found dolls at a very reasonable (ie cheap) prices. I don’t know if this was a fluke, but I’m certainly hoping not. I’ll be going again soon, so I’ll report back πŸ™‚

I bought some fabulous stuff, which had obviously been hauled out of attics. Totally Yoyo, like the others, needed a clean-up and some minor repairs (she was a bit grubby and windswept and the collar of her dress was ripped) but generally, she was looking pretty good. I even got her original little peach shoes. Cool beans!

20140630-214904-78544609.jpg

I have wanted Totally Yoyo Skipper for a while but I’ve just never got round to buying her – she’s not really expensive or rare, but there’s just such a lot of dolls I do want, I get distracted easily. Anyway, on this occasion I was glad that I’d never got round to buying her from eBay etc, as I managed to pick her up for a pound. One pound!

Totally Yoyo was produced in 1999, the heyday of the Teen Skipper era. Its a lovely sculpt, and there’s something so pretty about this particular version with her peachy complexion and matching lip colour. Her Yoyo, which goes up and down on a string when you pull the lever on her back, is still in working order. In the box, she would have come with an alternative outfit and another pair of shoes, but I can’t complain – I am very pleased with what I got.

20140630-220603-79563106.jpg

20140630-220602-79562808.jpg

20140630-220603-79563418.jpg

(By the way, I think she’s Skipper number 19. I haven’t been keeping a close eye. I may have to go back and check).

12 Responses to “Skipper 19 – Totally Yoyo”

  1. ThomasJ June 30, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

    congratulations on such a wonderful (and inexpensive) find! She is beautiful! I just go
    crazy (crazier? πŸ™‚ ) for bangs like that πŸ™‚

    • barbielea July 2, 2014 at 8:30 am #

      Hi Tom πŸ™‚ and thanks! Yes I love her bangs – a fringe is what we call it over here! She has the nicest blonde streaks as well.

  2. Taswegian1957 July 1, 2014 at 12:57 am #

    Isn’t it great when you get lucky like that? You will probably keep going to car boot sales for months now hoping that history will repeat itself. I don’t remember this Skipper but 1999 was early in my collecting and I may have been focussing more on other dolls. I did like Teen Skipper though and have one of my own who I should get out and photograph.

    • barbielea July 2, 2014 at 8:36 am #

      Haha Taswegian – yes, I’m definitely going back to that one! I won’t be able to make it this weekend, though, as we have stuff on. My partner collects vinyl records, and my son “collects” stuffed animals (he’s only 5 so I’m not sure if that’s the right term but, having watched us collect stuff, I’m pretty sure that’s what he thinks he’s doing) so it’s a fun outing for all the family! If it turns out to have been a one-off with the dolls, then there’s plenty of other stuff there to distract me.

      Yes, please do put up some pictures of your Skippers! They’re great dolls, it’s always nice to see them.

  3. discodiva1979 July 1, 2014 at 5:56 am #

    Congrats on your “AWESOME” find! I do not recall this Skipper either, she is pretty! You take such good photos!

    • barbielea July 2, 2014 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks so much Discodiva. My photography skills have definitely improved over the years! And I really enjoy the process of taking and editing the pictures. I have a little post planned about it, actually …

      I’m surprised that neither you or Taswegian have seen these ones knocking around. Maybe it’s because I collect Skippers that I notice them more? More likely, I think, the explanation is that some dolls are heavily marketed and widely stocked in some countries but not in others. Totally Yoyo is probably one of those.

  4. Teresa B. July 2, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

    Congrats on Totally Yo Yo Skipper! 1 pound translates to about $1.75 in US dollars so even at our prices, thats a TOTAL steal! I have her too. I found mine nude with no yo yo but her string is intact and goes up and down nicely. I may buy the accessories on eBay if I can find them. For now she sits in a box. 😦 But she is a lovely doll.

    • barbielea July 6, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

      Thanks Teresa! I was so pleased to find her for such a good price, as I’m sure you can imagine.

  5. Andrea July 3, 2014 at 1:44 pm #

    Great score! I love Teen Skipper and remember this line well, because I was standing in front of them at TRU and almost couldn’t make up my mind which one to buy. In the end I left with Skipper and Nikki.
    They also had bags that had two more YoYo pendants.

    • barbielea July 6, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

      Oh my gosh, that Nikki is pretty rare now! I’d love to have her – maybe one day … ah, did you also get other Yoyos? Maybe Teresa could check one down for her yoyo-less girl. I know its a long shot but stranger things happen all the time!

      • Teresa B. July 6, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

        Oh I didn’t know that! I’ll have to check it out. You never know what comes up on eBay!!!! πŸ™‚

  6. Andrea July 6, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

    They had a real YoYo attached to their wrist. The pendants on the bag were a bee and frog figure without function. I will keep my eyes open for those on the fleamarkets.

Leave a Reply

