Another Fashionista Raquelle …

5 Jul

I bought this Raquelle because I am absolutely desperate for some pale rebodying fodder, and she was on sale. I ended up keeping her because, well, I really like her, and since the Fashionista line got an overhaul this year, a) the pivotal bodies went, which automatically made me a lot less interested in them and b) Raquelle dolls are not widely available in my country any more (go figure). So I thought I’d better keep this one, because who knows when I’ll get a chance to find one again? In future, I’ll probably only be beheading Raquelles if I already have them.

20140705-222631-80791313.jpg

This wave of Fashionistas all featured dolls in jewel-toned dresses and Raquelle’s Crystal Carrington-inspired, puff-sleeved affair is really quite spectacular. I love it. As for Raquelle herself, she looks a little balloon-headed, which I think might be because of her pulled-back quiff, but I do like the brightness of her hair streak and her matching lip.

20140705-222723-80843325.jpg

20140705-222759-80879209.jpg

Her handbag has a double purpose as the studs on the bottom of it interact with a touch screen. It was designed to be used in conjunction with a dress-up Fashionista-themed app, which I couldn’t find in all of the three seconds I spent searching for it on the App Store. Still, it was a nice idea and anchors these dolls so firmly in their time, which is always interesting to look back on later. When we’re all writing our blogs and browsing using 3D holographic projections (and of course, still collecting dolls) I’m sure we’ll look back at this as a really quaint little feature.

20140705-222846-80926270.jpg

20140705-223103-81063499.jpg

20140705-223122-81082429.jpg

19 Responses to “Another Fashionista Raquelle …”

  1. Taswegian1957 July 6, 2014 at 12:15 am #

    Ha ha. I wonder hat gimmicks the Barbies of the future will have?

    • barbielea July 6, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

      Good question, Taswegian. You know, I always presumed that the Barbies of the future would have a sort of “skin” over pivotal joints to make them look more realistic, but I saw a doll like this recently and it looked *really* creepy. (I can’t remember what it was called and I’ve had a google to try and find out, but I can’t find it again). More realistic is not necessarily a good thing!!

      • Taswegian1957 July 7, 2014 at 2:28 am #

        Interesting. please post the link if you find it. I actually imagine that future playline Barbies, if they continue to be made will go further down the “plastic everything” road and will eventually cease to look like Barbie as we know her.

      • barbielea August 11, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

        I finally found it! The “dolls” with the seamless bodies are by a company called Phicen – here is an article about their seamless, poseable bodies – http://toyhaven.blogspot.co.uk/2013/12/incoming-phicen-16-scale-super-flexible.html?m=1

      • Taswegian1957 August 12, 2014 at 12:14 am #

        Thanks, really interesting article. They are expensive for me but no more so than a collectible Barbie so maybe one day.

  2. Teresa B. July 6, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    Raquelle is gorgeous and her outfit is to die for! I have one Raquelle (I think). I may have to dig her out and put her in a fun glam outfit. Unique purse, I like it!

    Kind of sad that they redesigned the Fashionistas. Just more reason to pick them up secondhand when I see them! I’ve been passing them up because I have SO many but not anymore!!

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

      Hi Teresa πŸ™‚ yes, definitely worth picking up the Fashionistas when you see them. I don’t know about you, but it took me to the last few waves to really start liking them – then they changed them! No fair!! Haha

  3. Andrea July 6, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

    She looks adorable in your pics. I always loved Raquelle since Fashion Fever days. They are rare over here as well, but so far I managed to hunt them all down, except the one with the puppy. I also think it is her hairstyle, that blows up her face. The last two Fashionista Raquelles had bangs that made their face appear much smaller. Her dress is lovely, just the half dress mode ticks me off, it’s like wasting a great design.

    Not happy with the change of the Fashionista Line as well. Lately I wonder, if we can ever stop to say “The good old days of…” as far as playline Barbies are concerned, lol.

    .

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      Maybe we don’t know what we’ve got til its gone, Andrea πŸ™‚ well, I am sorely disappointed about those new bodies but you know what? Some of those new budget Fashionistas are growing on me … unfortunately, Raquelle (who I would definitely have got – she wears a pink and purple dress and dangly earrings, have you seen her?) is not being sold widely in the UK. Why? Why?? I really don’t understand …

      • Andrea July 14, 2014 at 1:45 am #

        Yes, Raquelle looks very beautiful. Actually I already had my hands on her twice, but in the end I considered 15 Euros a little pricy for a dress an a head. I hope I can snatch her at a fleamarket or when they go on sale.

      • barbielea July 19, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

        I was lucky to pick this one up on severe sale. I wouldn’t have paid that much either …

  4. fleurdolls July 9, 2014 at 9:06 am #

    So what happened to Fashionista bodies? Sorry I have to ask, because I never actually liked the dolls themselves so I don’t even have a single one in my collection, but a lot of people I know buy them just for the bodies? Are the new ones worse in any way?

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      Hi Fleurdolls πŸ™‚ well, the previous Fashionistas had pivotal wrists, elbows and knees, so they were popular dolls to use for rebodying. But the latest wave of Fashionistas are budget dolls, they have standard rigid bodies with the “one bent arm” mold so they are useless for rebodies. However, at about the same time that they appeared on the shelves, Barbie Style (sometimes known as Barbie Luxe) was released, and also the Life in the Dreamhouse dolls just a bit before that. I haven’t deboxed my Barbie Styles yet or read any detailed reviews but they certainly have pivotal arms and legs – and the LITD dolls also have a torso joint, as the early wave Fashionistas did. So there is still rebodying fodder to be had, fortunately. Its just that a lot of people see the Fashionista’s change to rigid bodies as a disappointing backwards step.

      • fleurdolls July 13, 2014 at 10:25 am #

        This is very interesting! It’s so baffling, trying to understand what the heck Mattel is doing, isn’t it? I presume those early Fashionistas dolls are now highly regarded, so no longer priced low enough to make a body switch worthwhile? I haven’t seen many of the new playline dolls, there’s a Toys R Us close to where I live, but I’m usualy disappointed with their selection, so I don’t visit the Barbie aisle as often as I would like to. I have to admit, I’ve never had the compulsion to do body switching, and I do get my articulation kicks out of Moxie Teenz, so perhaps I’m lucky this particular trend has passed me by ha ha although I do know that MT articulation is not as good as Fashionistas.

      • barbielea July 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

        Some of the older Fashionistas have become quite expensive, but there are still bargains to be had. But things are improving, Fleurdolls – the new Barbie Style dolls have much better outfits than the Fashionistas – and they have pivotal bodies.

        I love Moxie Teenz too! I haven’t had a new one in a while and I keep meaning to do something with them – make them some outfits or something. Yes, they don’t have quite the same range of movement as Fashionistas do, but they’re still pretty good to pose – and they have wonderful faces πŸ™‚

  5. boccacio1971 November 15, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

    Thanks for your good review upon Fashionistas Raquelle doll. Could I ask you one thing?
    Your review starts the sentence “I bought this Raquelle because I am absolutely desperate for some pale rebodying fodder, and she was on sale.” I also have been looking for articulated Barbie bodies with ‘pale’ or ‘nostalgic’ skin tone for my Barbie dolls with ‘pale’ skin tone – such as “Princess of the French Court”, “Princess of China”, etc.
    However, I just found that fact that even the ‘palest’ Fashonistas body looks a bit darker than ‘pale’ bodies of my ‘older’ Barbie dolls.
    Does the Raquelle doll in your review have ‘pale’ skin tone which matches “Princess of the French Court” or “Princess of China”? Thanks in advance.

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

      Hi Boccacio and sorry for the delay in getting back to you. No, this Raquelle has the same skin tone as the other Raquelle Fashionistas, that is, darker than many collector dolls but paler than a standard Barbie. I don’t own either of the dolls you mention, but if you are saying standard pale Fashionista is too dark for them, this one will be too. There are three other options you might want to try. First, I’ve heard that pale pivotal (Klimt Barbie for example) is a good pale colour match for many collector dolls, being paler than Fashionistas. Ive never tried this myself (they are too expensive to source where I come from) but you might want to look into it. Second – there’s the LIV dolls, who are paler than Barbies. They have super flexible joints too so they pose nicely – the drawbacks are that they have clumsy hands and feet that are bigger than Barbie’s, some people think they look a bit childish. Third, you might just want to wait a while. I’ve recently heard that the 2015 pivotal Barbies are going to be paler in skin tone. Which is wonderful! Good pale pivotals are a holy grail for compulsive rebodiers like me πŸ™‚ good luck with it

  6. amystika18n November 18, 2014 at 3:43 pm #

    I have this doll and I love her! The pink streaks and the pink on the tops of her sleeves, her ombre dress and badass blue boots with all the buckles-she’s just awesome.

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

      She does have a great colour scheme, doesn’t she Amy? I love her outfit. I originally just planned to steal it and use her body for another doll, but I couldn’t do it … I’m rubbish at getting rid of dolls haha πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

