Sindy Special 24 – Wild Hair Sindy

6 Jul

Wild Hair Sindy was probably the, uh, crowning glory of my recent car boot buying frenzy. I got her with part of her Studio and the whole thing cost me the grand total of – 50p. I think the guy who sold her to me just wanted to get rid of some stuff. When he announced his price, I mustn’t have been able to hide my absolute joy because he said “going to a collection, is she?” – but he didn’t try to charge me any more. Bless him.

20140706-225353-82433261.jpg

Wild Hair Sindy was released in 1994 and as you can see, she has that 90s-typical, crazy neon overkill thing going on. Amazingly, I got her in her full outfit, including her little neckscarf and her trainers, but sadly the stretchy plastic on her trainers had perished. I don’t know if they’ve been left in a hot place or whether they just weren’t made to last, but they were quite heavily discoloured and when I tried to take them off, they snapped. I see a lot of barefoot Hasbro Sindys on the second hand market, even when their outfits are otherwise complete – so I wonder if this is a common problem? I’ve never read anything about it but it would seem to make sense, if you’ve heard anything about this, please do leave me a comment.

20140706-230343-83023094.jpg

Anyway, Wild Hair Sindy has beautiful, waist-length crimped hair (I STILL have a thing for crimped hair) and the twist is, she has a plug on the top of her head where you can change a hair extension. I got five or six wacky hair extensions with her, which was nice.

20140706-225828-82708705.jpg

20140706-225827-82707720.jpg

20140706-225827-82707482.jpg

20140706-225829-82709001.jpg

20140706-225828-82708061.jpg

But that’s not all you could do with her! In combination with the Studio, you could curl her hair extensions in the winding wheel (to the far right) and you could also colour her hair with pens:

20140706-230709-83229798.jpg

I have no plans to try this, because despite a very thorough washing she still has faint neon-yellow pen marks in her hair and I don’t want to risk staining it any more. But I am very pleased I got the Sindy-labelled pens with the Studio!

Obviously, my Studio was only part complete – when I bought it I presumed that at least there should have been a salon chair. But when I investigated the original box illustration (I copied this from google, from a defunct eBay listing) I saw that she should also have come with a set of stencils, so that her hair could be patterned:

20140706-231057-83457946.jpg

Having got hold of it, I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with the Studio. I think it will have to be boxed up and put into storage, which is a shame because its such a nice display prop, but its just too bulky to leave out lying around (as I’ve mentioned before, I don’t usually display my dolls). It features some great Sindy photographs, as well:

20140706-231635-83795788.jpg

20140706-231635-83795542.jpg

10 Responses to “Sindy Special 24 – Wild Hair Sindy”

  1. Taswegian1957 July 7, 2014 at 2:42 am #

    Well done on your find. I’ve never seen shoes perish like that. After all you can still buy original Sindy, Tammy,Barbie shoes that are much older. Perhaps they had been left somewhere warm or maybe it was a Hasbro thing. I don’t collect the Hasbro Sindy’s as to me they don’t look like Sindy so I don’t really know but it would be interesting to find out if this is a common problem.

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

      Yes, Taswegian, I have a lot of pre-Hasbro shoes too, so if it is a thing, I think it would definitely be a Hasbro thing. Agree – Hasbro Sindy does not look like Sindy as I would think of her – but for me, she has her own kind of crazy neon charm … my first doll purchase as an adult (kind of – I was 15) was a Hasbro Sindy, so I am kind of fond of her πŸ™‚

  2. Shannon (@shannonkay) July 7, 2014 at 2:53 am #

    Wow! I’ve never heard of Sindy and your post lead me down a rather interesting google path.

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:34 pm #

      Hi Shannon πŸ™‚ Yes, Sindy has a very interesting history and its not finished yet, either, with the new Sindy Tonners due out. Watch it, you’ll be hooked before you know it! Haha

  3. Chicovintage July 7, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

    Wow! you are a lucky girl! I can imagine you doing the happy dance straight to the seller face! LOL. This is one of the very few playsets I own, I have so many good memories from those tacky photos, you can be almost hurted on your eyes by those crazy-LSD-induced colours… ItΒ΄s one of my fave Sindy eras. Congrats Lea!!!

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

      Thanks Chico πŸ™‚ You have this playset too?? Haha, yes its all very trippy, isn’t it?

  4. Blackkitty July 8, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

    What a steal! Imagine all the possibilities for play. You could make countless extra extentions too.

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

      Hi Blackkitty! Haha, always looking for the craft angle … yes, it would be fun to make her some new extensions, actually!

  5. Andrea July 11, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

    Awesome find, Lea! 50 p is a total steal, considering she came with her orignal clothes and in such a good condition. Playsets are often tempting me, if only they weren’t so space intensive.

    As for the shoes, I encountered a similar distressed pair some while ago. I think this problem is caused by a mixture of inadequate storage and a chemical reaction between two rubbery plastics of different composition. Mine were almost melted on the dolls feet and had an almost play-doh feel to them.

    I think it’s the safest to store dolls without their shoes and to store the footwear in another container.

    • barbielea July 12, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ yes, it all came as a job lot or I’m not sure I would have got the playset … it is lovely, but like I say, I feel a bit guilty as its been taken out of one attic only to end up in another … still, at least Sindy is free now.

      Interesting photos, thanks for sharing. Funny you should say “play-doh” as that was what the shoes reminded me of most – you know when playdoh has been left out and sets hard and brittle? That was what they were like.

      I’ll make sure my Hasbro Sindys are not stored wearing shoes from now on! Cheers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

