Thirteen Wishes Abbey

27 Jul

Oh dear! I had planned to get some more catch-up posts done before now, but it was sunny and real life got in the way again. Oh well, we soldier on …

Tonight’s offering is Thirteen Wishes Abbey. I heroically resisted buying most of the Thirteen Wishes dolls, but Mr Bat bought me Abbey as a present so I’m thinking that probably doesn’t count as a lapse of willpower (thanks love xxx).

20140727-230212-82932729.jpg

Abbey has never been one of my favourite characters, but somehow I seem to have found myself with two more over the last couple of weeks. You know what my problem with Abbey is? Well, its not the lantern jaw – I quite like it, its got character and I don’t see why all Monster Highs should be identically pixie-chinned. Its not even what one of my Instagram acquaintances recently described as her “enormous man hands”:

20140727-230415-83055438.jpg

They are pretty big, compared to standard MH hands (these belonging to Frankie). But I don’t mind them either. Its all the pastels. The pastel blue, the pastel pink, yadda yadda yadda. Sorry, Abbey fans, but I just find it a bit boring and insipid. However, Thirteen Wishes Abbey has this amazing black and blue shiny affair. I love this dress, I love the colours, and I love her whole sparkly, starry look in this wave.

20140727-230933-83373678.jpg

One strange thing about her outfit – she is wrapped in tissue under her bodice. I wonder if this was to hold it in place in the box, or because they were worried about colour transfer?

20140727-231127-83487695.jpg

If I could have had my way, she would have had crisper, less messy curls. The tinsel in her hair makes this problem even worse, kind of sticking up randomly. Despite my issue about the whole blue and pink business, I do quite like the way that they have taken twisted coloured sections of hair to form a headband – only it kind of poofs to one side where its been tied off in a way that is hard to disguise. If only it was more like her beautiful box picture!

20140727-231327-83607622.jpg

20140727-231327-83607888.jpg

Lastly, I have one more issue with this doll, and yet again its about quality control rather than design. Look at where wishing for a truer gold on accessories has got me!

20140727-231624-83784230.jpg

Abbey is wearing some pretty amazing jewellery in this wave – a little gold snowflake choker (which could have done with sitting a little bit tighter, as it kept falling off and is consequently missing for some of these pictures), chunky armlets and gold-drip shoes that match her “dripping” headband (which is meant to suggest ice melting I presume?). Unfortunately, the gold paint from her headband has transferred to her forehead – maybe it was put on her while the paint was still slightly wet. I tried removing the transferred paint with some acetone, but it stayed put and instead, I started losing some of her glitter coating (this doll seems to be more heavily glittered than others I have seen) so I stopped trying. You know, I always thought that the glitter was inside the vinyl on these dolls? Obviously not.

I’m pretty gutted about this, as facial flaws are a big deal. If anybody has any other ideas about removal, please do leave me a comment …

20140727-232251-84171920.jpg

20140727-233427-84867748.jpg

20140727-233428-84868260.jpg

20140727-233428-84868014.jpg

5 Responses to “Thirteen Wishes Abbey”

  1. Andrea July 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    What a great present, Mr. Bat sure knows how to make you happy.

    This is the best Abbey so far for me, but honestly I’ll pass until she goes on clearance because she has two major tick offs of mine: tinsel and glitter. I don’t mind as long as the glitter is embedded into the vinyl, but surface glitter drives me crazy.

    Her Dress is awesome. I think her waist is wrapped to prevent from staining, since it is exactly in the spot where the clamps of her stand would be.

    Gold is a nasty color to remove, may be due to metallic ingredients. I would try acne cream first. If that doesn’t help, maybe some sort of paint thinner might work.

    • barbielea August 5, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks Andrea 🙂 Mr Bat did get her on sale, otherwise I’m not sure I’d have allowed him to buy her. I do like her but as you can see from the above, she’s not exactly flaw-free – the most obvious one being that messy hair. Like you, I sometimes turn a doll down just because she has a lot of glitter in her hair. Yes, it can look really nice but it is also very irritating to style or care for (it always seems to go haywire during storage, no matter how carefully I wrap it up).

      Thanks for the tip about acne cream – I will try it!

  2. Blackkitty July 30, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

    I love this version of Abbey but there’s too much gold for my taste and the price wasn’t appealing. I have the same problem with 13 Wishes Frankie’s earrings. I put away all the gold stuff at once and warned everyone left and right who had this doll boxed, but I didn’t attempt to remove the stains yet. My best bet is on acne cream, too. I’ll let you know of my results if I try it. If not… a few dabs of paint with a q-tip and some pearl dust should cover all the problem areas.

    • barbielea August 5, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

      Hi Blackkitty – I never had that problem with Frankie but (shame on me) I took the earrings out and then promptly lost them, so its unlikely to affect her in the future either! I love the paint and pearl dust idea, great lateral thinking there 🙂 Thanks

  3. lowdeadwonderland August 19, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    She’s so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

