Wedgwood Barbie

6 Aug

I do love my Monsters, but all the MH posts I’ve been writing are starting to take their toll now. I need to post a Barbie or two by way of a little break from it, so here’s a great one.

20140806-214548-78348169.jpg

Wedgwood Barbie is a collector-level doll from 2001 and its strange that I actually opted to keep her, I suppose. I picked her up, loose in box, in the same charity shop where I bought my Birthday Surprise Barbie and although she wasn’t exactly cheap, I reckon I could get twice what I paid for her if I was to put her up for sale. But I haven’t done this.

The thing is, I come from the Potteries where Wedgwood China is produced, and my extended family is full of people who collect the stuff, together with china by Royal Doulton and Beswick. Of course, we tend to have acquired it at employee rates (or as heirlooms) because plenty of us have worked in the factories where it gets produced. However, as this has been going on for several generations (my generation being the first in which, to the best of my knowledge, there is nobody working for these companies) this makes us value it more, rather than less.

As a rebellious teenager, I loathed china. I hated the way that you weren’t allowed to touch it and I hated its fussy sentimentality (as I saw it). This kind of doll – dressed in period costume, designed to be displayed and never played with – would have been my worst nightmare. But over time, most people (including me) mellow a bit, especially about the traditions of their families, and now I like the idea of a crossover between my family history and my collection.

20140806-215439-78879285.jpg

20140806-215439-78879588.jpg

And of course, she’s a very pretty doll. I love the way that her dark eyes are accentuated and her lips have been made a little bit fuller than usual. I think this gives her a rather modern look; if she wasn’t in period dress, wouldn’t she fit right into a Basics line-up? Her dress is not something that would usually immediately appeal to me, but I like it precisely because its so unusual in my collection, and I have to admit that it photographs quite nicely. The dress is designed to bring to mind Wedgwood’s most famous product, Jasperware. There was a blonde Wedgwood doll who got the most famous colour combination (white and a kind of grey-blue which is sometimes known as Wedgwood blue), so my brunette was left with the next most popular Jasperware colour, this dusky pink.

20140806-220814-79694094.jpg

20140806-220813-79693830.jpg

From what I can gather, though, the big selling point of this doll was the inclusion of a “genuine” Wedgwood Cameo in her choker. These cameos are another trademark Wedgwood product (although from looking at their website tonight, it seems that they are not selling cameos or Jasperware in the UK any more). I was impressed to note that this choker does unhook at the back, so it could be taken off and put back on without breaking it or having to behead the doll. I wasn’t expecting that on a doll designed primarily for display, and its a nice example of the attention to detail which is often such a feature of these early noughties collector dolls.

20140806-220814-79694372.jpg

(PS. the Jasperware I have used in the photos was loaned to me by my patient and very understanding parents – thanks!)

12 Responses to “Wedgwood Barbie”

  1. fleurdolls August 6, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

    Aww 😦 I used to have this Barbie NRFB, but I sold her about 6 years ago or so… I can’t believe you found her in a charity shop! Seeing your pics made me miss her. Beautiful work as usual. I used to love her necklace – cameos are just amazing, and hers is so tiny, it’s a true work of art. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

    • barbielea August 7, 2014 at 10:11 pm #

      Oh no Fleurdolls!! I know that feeling – and I hate it! I think that I am lucky I got her loose in her box. I think that if I had got her NRFB I probably would have sold her on too, and I’m glad I didn’t now.

      I know – in a Charity shop! I think that a collector may have passed away and her dolls ended up there 😦 Well, she has ended up where she is appreciated …

  2. Andrea August 7, 2014 at 7:22 am #

    She is a definite keeper and such am amazing find. Congrats! A beautiful face, her dress looks perfectly tailored and her cameo choker is to die for. Great pictures and I love the first b/w portrait you shot, she looks so dreamy in it.Those early collector dolls had so much quality and such lovely details.

    • barbielea August 7, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks Andrea πŸ™‚ I nearly didn’t do this post because I wasn’t sure I liked the photos, so I appreciate that. She’s a beauty, isn’t she? The more I look at her, the more I like her.

  3. barbtheevilgenius August 7, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

    I love the period feel of this dress, but it’s even more interesting to have an historical connection. Lucky you!

    • barbielea August 7, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks very much BTEG! Haha, I think so too now but like I said I didn’t always see it that way – china used to make me *roll my eyes*

  4. Blackkitty August 7, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    I’m in awe! Everything about this doll is perfect! It’s as if someone picked some of my top likes and combined them in a doll. It’s even more enjoyable with the information you provided about Wedgwood china – I never heard of it before. I should start looking into old collector dolls too.

    • barbielea August 7, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

      I’m glad you like, Blackkitty! I definitely recommend these older collector dolls, many of them are pretty easy to source and they tend to be very nicely done.

  5. Teresa B August 9, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    Oh. My. Goodness! What a find. So awesome, congrats! She is just so so beautiful. I love everything about her and they got the color of her dress too! It matches the Wedgewood piece perfectly. She is a lovely addition to your collection!

    • barbielea August 18, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Yes, they got it pretty well, didn’t they Teresa? Thanks very much, I am very pleased to have found her πŸ™‚

  6. swirlsgirl September 24, 2014 at 7:54 am #

    That is a beautiful doll!!!! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

      Thankyou Swirlsgirl – isn’t she? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

