Lea 37 – The Look Lea

7 Aug

Please please please, for once in my life, let me feature a doll while she is on current release! Well, you know what? I’m doing it, even though she’s jumping the queue.

I didn’t think I was going to get The Look Lea, as one of my friends had informed me that she was a Dealer Exclusive. Now, sometimes this can spell trouble, especially if you are a collector outside of Europe. And considering that Mattel have pretty much turned their back on the world beyond the US when arranging distribution of the post-Basics Black Label dolls, I wasn’t hopeful.

IMG_3051.JPG

But here she is! I’ve seen her advertised in a few places, so I think she’s comparatively easy to get hold of in Europe at the moment. I’ve just had a look on the (US) Barbie Collector website and I paid more than twice what they are asking on there for her (grr) but I was delighted to have the option of getting her at all, so I shouldn’t moan.

IMG_3034.JPG

The Look Lea’s big draw for me was those huge, cowlike rooted eyelashes that dominate her face. I gather that these are either a love em or hate em kind of feature, but I definitely fall into the former camp. Her face is interesting – she has the colouring and the makeup of the popular Basics Collection One Lea, but the little pursed mouth and the dark eyes with prominent brown highlights remind me more of the latest budget Ballerina – which is not at all a criticism, as I love this doll.

I like her dress, but I’m not wow’d by it. Overall, I’d say the same thing about all of The Look dolls and its one of the reasons I haven’t chased after more of them (the other one being the relatively high European price tags). She also comes with a metallic clutch purse, which is the most annoying style of bag that they could have given to a doll who is completely incapable of holding it.

As for her body – well, as you might know I’m not the biggest fan of the Model Muse body in the world, so I’m not sure that mine will stay Model Muse forever. However, the problem is that her dress is quite tight and the material is rigid so although I’ve not tried it, I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t fit well on a Fashionista. Sigh. Another rebodying dilemma, exacerbated by the fact that her head looks really very small to me, so she wouldn’t be able to carry off a body with wide shoulders (LIV, for instance). We will see.

IMG_3042.JPG

IMG_3037.JPG

IMG_3038.JPG

IMG_3048.JPG

IMG_3051-0.JPG

IMG_3043.JPG

IMG_3040.JPG

IMG_3050.JPG

4 Responses to “Lea 37 – The Look Lea”

  1. Taswegian1957 August 8, 2014 at 12:45 am #

    I’ve seen this doll in photos a couple of times now and I think she is really pretty. I’d certainly get her if I could find her at a good price. A lot of eBay sellers here who used to buy dolls from the USA to resell have almost given it up because of the astronomical shipping costs. I don’t blame them but it’s sure making Barbie shopping more of a challenge.

    • barbielea August 8, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      I know Taswegian :-/ its getting so silly! There are a couple of other Barbie The Look dolls that I really want, but they’re so expensive! Oh well, we will see. At least I have Lea, who is nearly always my priority.

  2. Andrea August 8, 2014 at 8:53 am #

    Cingrats on scoring her! Her face is great, but like you, her dress doesn’t exactly make me jump with excitement. So Im still debating shelling out the high prices she demands in Europe. If I can score her for a decent price though, she will move in for sure.

    As for the eyelashes, I’m a total sucker for them, because in my childhood most Barbie dolls had them. Now I gave away my age, lol. I loved them as a kid and I still fall for them today. πŸ˜€

    • barbielea August 8, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ yes, since I wrote the post I realised that the biggest problem with the dress are those two ugly great vertical darts in the bodice. They really bug me. Still, apart from this I really do recommend her – she’s gorgeous!

      I’m sure that when you talk about the eyelashed dolls of your childhood, you are referring to the makeup chic dolls, eh πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

