Barbie Style – (Half of) Wave One

18 Aug

So, as wave two is already on sale in the UK and wave three is imminent, I’m a little behind here – partly this is because I wasn’t sure if I wanted anything from this wave, so I waited a long time before making my purchases. Well, this meant that I got these dolls while they were on extreme sale, so I suppose it was for the best.

IMG_3139.JPG

I wasn’t sure about these dolls because I was deeply disappointed by the sculpt choices. Yet again, the lineup features Theresa (the old Raquelle sculpt) – its an interesting face and I love her green-eyed, golden-brown haired colouring, but really, various versions of this doll were everywhere all the way through the Fashionista years, and I already own several. Barbie herself is even worse. She’s another Generation Girl sculpt and I don’t think that its a particularly good interpretation either. I get it, in times of recession and taking into account the recent dip in Barbie sales, maybe its not a good idea to completely change the doll’s identity, but really, if we must have Generation Girl, couldn’t we have had something a bit better? I actually quite liked the long-eyed, sultry-looking playline Generation Girls that were out a few years ago (I used to think of them as “Cat Face” Barbies). However, like some of the GG faced Fashionistas, this Style Barbie looks OK face on but a little odd from other angles:

IMG_3142.JPG

IMG_3141.JPG

Is it me, or does she look a bit lantern-jawed when viewed in three quarter profile?

Anyway, enough moaning. Other than the predictable and sometimes slightly dodgy sculpts, these dolls are interesting characters. I think that they represent a return to some core values that were arguably lacking or absent during the Fashionista years. For starters, these dolls are wearing realistic, detailed, nicely-made fashions, things that you might actually see real women wearing. I particularly love the boots – Theresa’s baggy brown knee boots and Barbie’s workboots-with-a heel. I also like Barbie’s fleecy flying jacket – my boy thinks it makes her look like an explorer.

I know that a lot of people were wowed by Theresa’s pink dress, but I’m not convinced. Its actually really close to what I would have picked if it had been up to me, but the lace overlay is not scaled, which really bugs me. The overall colour scheme is nice, though, and I love the way her brighter blue jewellry makes the whole thing pop.

IMG_3136.JPG

The other way in which this line seems to be representing a return to core values is the quality. We seem to be in the middle of a fad for producing dolls with huge eyelashes, which personally, I’m all for. These dolls also have the “best of all worlds” bodies (also used for the Life In The Dreamhouse dolls) which feature the capped (rather than hinged) knees of the later-wave Fashionistas and the torso joint of the earlier Fashionistas. I was so worried that pivotal bodies would disappear when the Fashionistas started getting produced on stiff budget bodies, so I’m delighted about this.

IMG_3144.JPG

IMG_3140.JPG

Anyway, just so you know – its unlikely that I’ll be featuring the second half of this wave, because I don’t own it. The second Barbie wears a fur gilette, which is nice, but she never went on big sale and I wasn’t going to pay full whack for another doll with a sculpt I don’t much care for. And Raquelle … grrrr. I thought that the wave one Raquelle was the best doll of the wave but she’s been very hard to find (without paying crazy scalper prices) over here, and in a lot of other countries too I gather. I’ve had her on order from Amazon since March (yes , MARCH) and I’ll be amazed if I get her. Well, fingers crossed – I’ll keep you posted!

IMG_3133.JPG

IMG_3131.JPG

IMG_3138.JPG

IMG_3129.JPG

IMG_3137.JPG

10 Responses to “Barbie Style – (Half of) Wave One”

  1. Blackkitty August 19, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    I was lucky enough to find Raquelle for less than 24 euro (that’s 19 pounds or 32$). That may sound like much, but it’s below the average price I pay for a doll of similar quality. I love the green trousers on Barbie as much as I hate the GG sculpt. I certainly wouldn’t mind to find her on “extreme sale” though πŸ™‚ The other Barbie’s tights are tubes sewn to the shorts, as I recently found out. Good thing you didn’t buy her πŸ™‚ Teresa’s dress is nice at first glance, but the lace is huge. I could easily replicate it with smaller lace. She’s a pretty doll still, and yours has nicely styled eyelashes.

    • barbielea August 19, 2014 at 8:48 am #

      Hi Blackkitty πŸ™‚ Ahhh, congratulations on your htf Raquelle! I should just get her from a scalper but I resent doing it 😦 I’m conflicted about GG Barbie now – do I use her for rebodying or keep her? I just can’t decide …

      I should have guessed with the shorts! I wonder if the second-wave Raquelle is the same? I’ll have to look for some reviews.

  2. lowdeadwonderland August 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

    Nice shoot.

  3. Andrea August 19, 2014 at 8:36 pm #

    I have to admit that I wanted the Barbies just for their clothes and for the bodies, 😳 One of the stores in my area had them on a promotional sale for 19,99 €, but it was only the two Barbie dolls and the Teresa available.

    Teresa appeals much more to me. I’m still looking for Raquelle, but I will so not support the scalpers. If she is meant for me, I’ll get her somehow.

    I haven’t spotted the second wave so far, but if the will be on promotionial sale, I’ll grab them as well.

    I wasn’t too happy about 20 years of Superstar faces and I’m not keen on another 20 of GG heads either. I know the dolls are made for little girls, but thinking about the little ones I know, their attention span to same-same is even shorter than ours.

    Lol, same problem here with the Barbie heads. I do like the real lashes, but I’m not overly fond of the face mold.

    • barbielea August 25, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

      Hi Andrea! It seems we are thinking alike on this issue πŸ™‚ Surely the items that end up on sale – always the blonde GG Barbies, it seems to me – should be saying something to the designers?? I agree, children need variety to hold their interest more than collectors do …

      Second wave is out here now, I have one doll from it already and am debating over a second. I think its a big improvement on the first wave, and hope that things will get better with each wave. Have you seen the photos of the “flat feet” wave? They look fantastic πŸ™‚

      • Andrea August 26, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

        I just googled them, they do look very interesting, but it looks like they will be on a stiffie body. Their outfits, shoes and accessories stil look snatchworthy.

        I think the designers would love to have their way with their creations, but it seens that the marketing department wants to play save with a familiar mold.

  4. amystika18n November 18, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

    US here. I found 1, I repeat, ONE Barbie Style Wave 1 Raquelle in my local Target, but she had a wonky eye. Boo. No Wave 1 Raquelle for me. Wave 2 hit my stores around September, and so far I’ve found everyone but Raquelle. I guess everyone loves a diva!

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

      Hi Amy – crazy, isn’t it? Last time I looked, she was on Amazon for about Β£35. That’s a playline doll – it’s ridiculous! Since I wrote this post, I have found her for sale, turned her down (she looked poor quality in the plastic) then received her as a gift. I still need to debox her, I’ll get round to it soon :)?

Leave a Reply

