My First Fleur

25 Aug

Its been a busy old weekend – among other things, we have visited three car boot sales (for those of you unfamiliar with the concept, this involves packing the contents of your attic into the back of your car and then driving to a field to sell them at some ungodly hour of the morning). I made some absolutely fantastic purchases, but Fleur is probably my favourite. I still can’t quite believe I found her.

IMG_3167.JPG

Now, I have been seeing pictures of Fleur dolls on various social media sites for ages, and for the last couple of years I have very much been on the lookout for one. They do crop up on eBay sometimes, but compared to Barbie (or even Sindy) they are quite rare, and usually quite expensive. I have bid for various Fleurs, but I’ve never succeeded in getting my hands on one. Until now!

IMG_3168.JPG

A bored-looking Irish lady sold her to me for 2 GBP (sorry, I’m on the keyboard without a pound sign again). Her hair was in a plait that stuck straight up in the air, her eyelashes had been pushed in on one eye, she was on the dirty side and smelled of old cigarettes, but other than that I couldn’t complain – she had all her fingers, no major scratches or marks, and I suspect that her outfit dates from the same time as her. I didn’t take a proper “before” photo, but I did take a group shot of her with my other purchases, which I’ve cropped below (that’s why its a bit blurry):

IMG_3173.PNG

When I undressed her to wash her, unfortunately I found that she has no clicks left in either knee, and her right leg has a protruding rod:

IMG_3160.JPG

Oh well. I got the dirt off and gave her hair a wash. I’ve been able to get it to stop sticking up crazily without having to resort to a boil wash, but it does tend to revert slightly if she’s left for a while – I think when I store her I might wrap her head in a piece of cloth to try and prevent this.

I also managed to pull most of her original eyelashes back out with a pair of tweezers – this wasn’t particularly easy as she has a very hard head, but I’m glad that I managed this. Otherwise I would have had to reroot them, and I don’t think it would have looked right, as her eyelashes are much thicker and wirier than the black nylon I would usually use for eyelash repairs on Sindy dolls.

Being a Fleur newbie, I thought I’d better see if I could find out more about her, the sum total of my knowledge being that Fleur is a collectable “Dutch Sindy” doll who was manufactured during the 70s/ 80s. My first Google hit brought up Fleurdolls, a great site where I learned some things. Seems that Fleur was produced by a company called Otto Simon after Pedigree stopped selling Sindy in Holland, and went on to be incredibly popular in her home country (a million dolls were sold during her ten-year run) as well as appearing on the shelves in many other countries. Anyway, having looked at the body ID guide on this site, I now believe that my Fleur is an earlier doll, probably made in the late 70s. However, I couldn’t get an ID on her exact version – maybe after a few more evenings of snooping I’ll get there πŸ™‚ Also, I didn’t see her little raincoat, sweater and tights combination in the clothes section. I thought that this was a long shot, but I was still hopeful that it would be there. Has anybody else seen this outfit before? I’m pretty sure that it will be Fleur’s, or maybe Sindy’s, because of the colour scheme and the style as much as anything.

IMG_3169.JPG

So anyway, now I’m obsessed. Her little round face with the side glance and the high-colour cheeks is so engaging. I love the way that her hair is mousy dark-blonde, rather than platinum. Its doubtful (never say never! but doubtful) that another Fleur will ever fall in my lap this way again, so if I wanted another I think I’d have to put more effort and money in. We will see …

IMG_3170.JPG

18 Responses to “My First Fleur”

  1. Teresa B. August 26, 2014 at 12:45 am #

    She is adorbs! Congrats! I love the little raincoat. So precious. πŸ™‚

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 12:08 am #

      Thanks Teresa – that word again, haha πŸ™‚

  2. Taswegian1957 August 26, 2014 at 4:29 am #

    Great find, she’s very nice. It was interesting to learn a bit more about her as I’d only ever read of her as “the Dutch Sindy” too. Ten years is a pretty good run for a fashion doll really. Not many are as durable as Barbie and Sindy.

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 12:09 am #

      True, Taswegian – she did very well, and I think I can see why. Some apparently reached your neck of the woods, or so I read – so you never know, you might come across her one day.

  3. Night Owl August 26, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

    Congratulations with your Fleur! I love the coat :-). Here in Belgium I come across Fleur dolls and accessories regularly (with the Netherlands next door). I’m glad you wrote about the lashes, I just bought two old Sindy dolls who’s lashes are like that too, now I know, thanks to you, that I maybe can revive them with the tweezer trick!

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 12:30 am #

      Wow, regularly, Night Owl? How fantastic! Then again, I suppose every area has its benefits – its relatively easy to pick up Sindys over here, which I am always grateful for. Yes, pulling the lashes into position with tweezers is a nice, satisfying job on Sindy – pull upwards towards the brow, this makes it less likely that they will stick out at funny angles, and even them up with nail scissors afterwards – personally, I like to make them a little bit longer than they were on the original dolls. Good luck with it πŸ™‚

      • Night Owl August 27, 2014 at 1:46 am #

        Thanks for the tips :-)!

  4. Andrea August 26, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    She is awesome and her outfit looks great too. That coat is so cute. You were lucky to score her with such nice clothing and boots.

    My Fleur came nude, so I will have to dig out my Sindy patterns sometime and try to stitch something up for her, by now she’s clad in a Sindy nightgown.

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 12:13 am #

      Ah, a confession is required now, Andrea! Her boots were actually the worn by another doll (an older Hasbro Sindy) who she was on the table with. I bought her too, and when I took them off I noticed that they were a big big on her. I tried them on Fleur, and they fit much better. I was wondering if they might actually have been hers, and just got put on the wrong doll, but given what Fleurdolls says below, I doubt it.

      How old is your Fleur? I was struck by how slim mine is, will Sindy clothes be OK on her? Well, I’ll have to try them. Thanks πŸ™‚

  5. fleurdolls August 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

    Aaaaahhhhh! So HAPPY! πŸ˜€ what a post – you don’t know how thrilled I am you found her! πŸ™‚ she looks fantastic after her spa treatment, and of course your photos are stunning as usual. I’m full of admiration. The outfit definitely isn’t an original, sorry – and also, unfortunately, it’s nearly impossible to ID the exact doll she was, as they had no distinguishing features whatsoever, and that is true of all Fleurs with very few exceptions. But you’re right, she’s one of the early dolls πŸ™‚ I’m absolutely amazed how you got her lashes to look perfect again, that is by far the most fiddly thing you could possibly do with a Fleur. I’m so glad you got her for such a small sum, isn’t it delightful? πŸ™‚ thank you so much for sharing this!

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 12:21 am #

      Thanks so much Fleurdolls πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you like (I thought you might!) Ah, so the outfit wasn’t hers? It was the colours that made me think it might be, and its so nicely made too. Well, never mind. I don’t mind her not having an ID really either – I was looking at hairstyles on some of the boxed dolls and you’re right, she could have been any one of five or six that I saw. Thanks for letting me know.

      She is still missing a few lashes that I couldn’t reach on the outer corner of the right eye! But I think that they’ve slipped out of the holes now. Still, I was pleased at how nicely they went back into shape – the worst bit about eyelashes is when you get one or two that insist on sitting crooked, that’s irritating. I gave them a little trim with some nail scissors once I’d got them pulled out.

  6. Andrea August 27, 2014 at 11:42 am #

    From the body pictures on the fleurdolls site, she must be a mid 80’s doll and she seems to be a little shorter than yours, at least her legs seem shorter. The Sweet Dreams Sindy nightgown is just smocked at the top, so it fit’s nicely, I can’t tell about other Sindy clothes, though. Sindy patterns just popped to my mind, as she looks a little more sturdy than Barbie.

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

      I’ve heard that Fleur and Sindy can wear each other’s clothes – its just that my doll looks so slim, I’m not even sure she could wear Barbie’s stuff, let alone the slightly more robust Sindy. Well, appearances can be deceptive. I’ll try it out and let you know. I think that in terms of style and use of colour, Sindy is definitely the best match.

      You have Sindy patterns? That’s great – they must be so collectable all by themselves!

  7. Ian August 27, 2014 at 4:09 pm #

    It’s lovely when you find something you’ve long wished for, especially when you do so unexpectedly. I thought I’d direct you to two Fleurs I’ve just come across when checking what a seller had on their list on Ebay! Currently they’re both Β£8, I think, though one is a re-root! The link to the list, if it works, is: http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/Dolls-/238/m.html?item=321503657295&hash=item4adb1c7d4f&_ssn=dolly-dealers

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

      Oh wow! Added to my watch list! Thanks so much Ian, that was incredibly thoughtful πŸ™‚

  8. Debbie Miller August 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm #

    Oh WoW! She is a really good find! I bet your heart dropped when you discovered her distressed leg-I’m sorry. She may have to be confined to a dolly stand or sit straight legged. I found a 70’s Francie at a thrift store once & discovered she had a deep knick in her upper thigh-so I used wood putty & to my surprise it seemed to fill the knick just fine, and her clothing covers it quite well. She looks AWESOME with her new makeover-Congrats!!!!

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

      Hi Debbie πŸ™‚ yes, the leg was a bit of a blow, but it can’t be helped. As you say, its not the complete deal-breaker that a broken hand or a serious facial mark might have been – at least in the right outfit, she could be made display-worthy. That’s a great idea about the putty, thanks πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ghost of Christmas Presents 2014 Part Five – New Year, New Fleur | barbiebeauties - January 3, 2015

    […] seems that she was one of the last Fleurs to be produced in 1987/ 88. This is quite fitting as my other Fleur, who I found at a car boot sale, was an early version. As you can see, she’s a Look-Around […]

Leave a Reply

