Happy Families Midge

26 Aug

Here is another superb Car Boot Sale find. Happy Families “Midge & Baby” caused a huge fuss in 2002 when she was released. She came with a bump which attached magnetically to her body. This bump had room inside for a small baby doll and could be removed to allow the baby to be “born”. Half the world fell in love with the idea and the other half were horrified, for various reasons. I suppose some people thought that children should believe that babies arrive into the world on a magical cloud of love (my Grandfather was like this, and I remember that he was quite horrified when he found out that I knew, at the age of eight, that my sister’s baby was growing in her body). Some other people felt that Barbie had always represented an escape from the theme of Motherhood, which is so clearly evident in so many girl’s toys. To make matters worse, Midge was originally sold with no wedding ring. Some people found this offensive as this suggested that she might be an unmarried Mother (bad example to children etc etc) despite the fact that her back story clearly explained she had a husband and an older child. So she was redesigned with wedding ring in situ – my version has the ring.

Midge is one of the most sought-after dolls on the second-hand market. Boxed dolls and dolls with all the “bits” she came with in the box go for very good money, the rarer AA version being the most expensive – in the UK, I’ve seen the boxed AA version go for well in excess of 100 GBP. Even nude, bumpless, babyless Midges like my beauty always sell on eBay, so I was delighted to find her. I haven’t bought a new Midge in much too long.

IMG_3244.JPG

Midge herself isn’t the prettiest doll with this sculpt that I own, but there’s always something so serene about the Diva sculpt. Even with her smaller eyes and her oversized freckles, I think she’s eyecatching and she has character.

Anyway, the day after I bought Midge I went to another car boot sale and bought a 1998 Barbie and Kelly playground, which got me thinking.

IMG_3239.JPG

IMG_3241.JPG

IMG_3238.JPG

IMG_3240.JPG

IMG_3242.JPG

IMG_3243.JPG

The little Kelly (or Shelley) was an attic find – I don’t know much about these dolls but I reckon she’s probably from the early 1990s. I loved her colouring and couldn’t get rid of her, so she’s been floating round the doll drawers for ages. Anybody recognise her? (I know its unlikely but if you do, please feel free to leave a comment). She’s actually wearing clothes from a few Chelsie and Friends dolls I own – I was quite excited to find that their outfits and shoes also fit these smaller, toddler-size dolls.

Anyway, I hope you like her. I just read today that one of my fellow doll bloggers is expecting, which is what put this in my mind … I don’t want to embarrass you or anything, but you know who you are – congratulations πŸ™‚ wishing you many happy days at the park with your little one!

IMG_3245.JPG

8 Responses to “Happy Families Midge”

  1. DollNerd August 27, 2014 at 12:18 am #

    I found Happy Families Midge at a thrift store too, with the belly and the baby, and as a non-Barbie person I’m amazed that this doll ever got made. ^^

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

      Every so often, Mattel like to throw a curveball. They like the controversy, I reckon – its happened too many times for it to be a coincidence …

  2. Andrea August 27, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    This is so cute. Your pictures paint a very idyllic scene here.

    I think your little girl is a Marisa, one of Kelly’s friends. As for Midge not being the prettiest of Dolls, in my opinion it’s her high forehead that gives her an appearance we just aren’t used to from a Diva mold.

    I knew that the grandparents sell for ridiculous high prices. It is surprising that this goes for Midge as well. You can quite often find the Midges for small money on fleamarkets and yardsales in my area.

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

      Hi Andrea – you’re quite right, I was just thinking about the high forehead when I was editing another pic for Instagram this morning. It’s much too big!

      Marisa? – thanks! Hey, I remembered that when we found her in the attic, she was wearing a little blue dress with puffed sleeves, like a party dress, but it was too ripped to salvage. So I think she might have been a “birthday party” doll.

      I just went on to check on Midge prices and the first eBay lot I saw was a doll in used condition, with bump and baby but with no original clothes and no other accessories, with had got up to about Β£23 in bids, with postage. Still had nearly two days left, so it might go up from this yet. More complete sets are up as “buy it now”s for Β£40 – Β£70. I know, they are relatively common dolls but it seems that they are wildly popular here too. Maybe it different in other countries?

  3. Teresa B August 30, 2014 at 2:01 am #

    Thank you!! Haha, this set is so precious, I am in love πŸ™‚ I’m glad you got to bring out a little Kelly/Shelley. Congrats on your beautiful Midge. I have yet to find one. Hopefully soon. And yes, many park days are in my future πŸ™‚

  4. swirlsgirl September 24, 2014 at 7:47 am #

    If you have the ”baby bump” that doll is worth ALOT! I have one without the bump:-( i am glad that you have one too! πŸ˜‰

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

      No, I don’t have the bump, Swirlsgirl … Maybe I’ll find one of those one day too πŸ™‚ thankyou!

Leave a Reply

