Sindy Special 25 – Vivid Pop Stars

27 Aug

We really are all about the car boot finds this week. Seriously, the last couple I attended, I could have come away laden down with playworn, nude Hasbro/ Vivid Imagination Sindys … maybe I should have done, but I didn’t want to be buying just for the sake of it. I did pick up the following two, though, because they are both a little different from the norm:

IMG_3246.JPG

The girl on the left is Gold Popstar Sindy from 2002, she was originally sold in (you guessed it) a golden outfit with a host of golden accessories, including a golden microphone and headset. Sadly, none of this remains, but I bought her because I love her icy pink hair and the way it contrasts with her very bright, pale blue eyes. The girl on the right, who I bought from a different seller at a different time, is Hot Popstar Sindy from 2000. I did actually get her pink headset because she was still wearing it, but decided not to photograph her in it as I didn’t have Gold’s as well. Hot has a wonderful head of tight blonde curls which has kept its shape nicely. This is one of my favourite doll hairstyles, so she’s a keeper as far as I’m concerned. She also has particularly nice dark violet eyes. In fact, both these Vivid Imaginations dolls have impressed me – the hair is rather cheap-feeling and clone-ish and I’m not particularly sorry to have missed out on their clothes, but the use of colour and the quality of the face paint are bang-on. I love them.

IMG_3249.JPG

IMG_3248.JPG

IMG_3247.JPG

Both dolls have been redressed in Fashionista dresses, but their shoes were more of a challenge. They have much bigger feet than Barbie and I’ve found that Sindy shoes from this era are not particularly easy to source. The answer, as always in these situations, turned out to be LIV shoes (poor old useful LIV, how I miss you).

Finally, I just wanted to mention that my ID came from Club Sindy, a really useful resource for Hasbro-onwards Sindys. If you are at all interested in these dolls and have a bit of time to spare, I highly recommend having a look round.

IMG_3252.JPG

IMG_3251.JPG

IMG_3253.JPG

8 Responses to “Sindy Special 25 – Vivid Pop Stars”

  1. ThomasJ August 27, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

    First, I love your photography! Wonderful creativity1 second, I have been so OBSESSED with anything Barbie that I have failed to see just how attractive Sindy dolls are – so…thank you for posting/sharing!

    • barbielea August 27, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

      Thank you Tom, you are always so kind πŸ™‚ I completely understand the Barbie obsession thing, when I first returned to collecting about four years ago, I didn’t want to know about other dolls. I think with me, part of it was, I just couldn’t cope with the extra temptation! But other dolls started sneaking in and finally, I just decided to let it happen … I have always had a special place in my heart for Sindy though , so I am glad to hear that I have made you think about her. Always proud to fly the Sindy flag πŸ™‚

  2. Andrea August 28, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

    Great pictures, Lea and congrats on your two beauties. I love the ringlet hairstyle of Hot and you are lucky her hair is in such great condition. Both are beautiful, but I think I prefer Hot.

    Thank you for the link to the Sindy Club page. Sindy dolls are pretty rare on fleamarkets here, but over the years I scored a couple of them. They were mostly nude so I appreciate any helb I can get in ID-ing them.

    • barbielea August 30, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

      Hi Andrea πŸ™‚ You know, I never thought about it but I suppose you are right about Hot. I’ve had a few afro’d dolls where the previous owner has wrecked the hair by trying to brush it through :-/ so I suppose I am lucky.

      Yes, check Sindy Club – its a great resource!

  3. Teresa B August 30, 2014 at 1:55 am #

    Pink hair….curls….they are just so adorable. I love them!

  4. Blackkitty September 2, 2014 at 10:24 pm #

    Both of them are so pretty! I love the one with pink hair, something about her eyes gives her a haunting look.

    • barbielea September 3, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      Hi Blackkitty πŸ™‚ yes, I think so too – despite her simple face paint, she’s one of those dolls I can’t stop looking at.

Leave a Reply

